maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Development (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   [WIP] Porting Whatsapp to Meego/Maemo (N9, N900) (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=82384)

rash.m2k 2012-02-16 19:37

[WIP] Porting Whatsapp to Meego/Maemo (N9, N900)

Thought I'd start a new thread in the dev section for people to post stuff specifically related to porting whatsapp, hopefully I can and other devs can find things much easier if it's in a single dev only thread.

So to start of with Whatsapp uses XMPP according to wikipedia:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WhatsApp

So this google code will probably help with that;

http://code.google.com/p/qxmpp/

Whats different about whats app is that it allows >1 person to be involved in a conversation, not sure whether XMPP supports this (this shows im not an XMPP expert).

The following post in the original thread is very helpful, credit to ColaCheater very very useful post:

Quote:

Originally Posted by ColaCheater (Post 1160118)
Great to see that somebody is working on WhatsApp for the Nokia N900.

A few weeks ago I also tried to look a little bit into WhatsApp but had to give up because of my final exams at school.
I used the Symbian S40 Client and decompiled the .jar you can find via google to look a little bit into it.
I'm not a programmer but had done some "Hello World" stuff on Java before so I tried to understand a little bit what is going on in the Client. (In the following work I always pretended to be an Nokia C3-00 just that you know when it appears i.e. in the User-Agent)

I don't know if it's helpful for you but I will try to share the things I found out by looking into the code even though I can't gurantee they are right:

The first thing is the login-Name and the password needed to login:
Matching with reports from some other threads here and in other forums the login name I found was some sort of:
Code: