maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Development (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Developing on the N900 itself ? (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=32772)

sacha 2009-10-13 16:59

Developing on the N900 itself ?

Hi There,

I'm a linux developer and new to Maemo5. Will receive my N900, hopefully.

I've successful installed the SDK and have some fun.

Maybe a dump question. Do we have an option to install
a development environment on the N900 itself ?

So i am able to compile software on the device itself ?

Best regards

Sacha

Flandry 2009-10-13 17:02

Re: Developing on the N900 itself ?

There's always python...

I'd be interested in developing that way. The dev environment takes an awful lot of space, though.

Matan 2009-10-13 17:22

I develop for Mer, on a smartq5 with Mer installed, so it might be possible for Maemo as well. I think the easiest way to start is to create a large enough ext2/3 filesystem on the device (can even be done in a loop device on the FAT32 partition), copy a completely installed SDK filesystem from there, and chrooting into it. There might be some work needed for getting the arm binaries of the compiler.

rm42 2009-10-15 16:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flandry (Post 345539)
There's always python...

I'd be interested in developing that way. The dev environment takes an awful lot of space, though.

I assume vi is available, right. Lots of things could be done with straight Python code, especially if there is a port of the ncurses package. But, yes, for GUI development you are better off doing that on the desktop. Could be fun though.

jeremiah 2009-10-15 23:34

There are people who develop right on the device itself - apparently they had a long commute. :)

vi is available and if you don't like python you have perl on the device as well.

qole 2009-10-16 00:11

And if you write shell scripts, like me, developing on-device is pretty much a requirement!