maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Community (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   [Announcement] Prefixes For Software (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=93333)

chemist 2014-06-13 13:30

[Announcement] Prefixes For Software
 
I activated Prefixes for the Software Category
If you are no registered Developer on tmo yet you may join the Developer group in your settings.

Prefixes added:
  1. SFOS SailfishOS
  2. SFOS+M6 SailfishOS + Harmattan
  3. M6 Harmattan
  4. M5+6 Fremantle + Harmattan
  5. M5 Fremantle
  6. M4+5 Diablo + Fremantle
  7. M4 Diablo

If you need more tags, please contact me directly on IRC or by email or PM.

shawnjefferson 2014-06-14 00:33

Re: [Announcement] Prefixes For Software
 
How does it work? I went to change a thread I had created in the Games section, but the only prefix available in the list was [SFOS].

chemist 2014-06-14 10:07

Re: [Announcement] Prefixes For Software
 
Oh, sry I messed up the permissions (wonder how as I just copied them from SFOS...) should be good to go now :)

pichlo 2014-06-14 11:17

Re: [Announcement] Prefixes For Software
 
I do not get it either. What am I supposed to do? I tried editing the first post in my Character Map thread but I did not see any prefix option.

chemist 2014-06-14 11:38

Re: [Announcement] Prefixes For Software
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by pichlo (Post 1429563)
I do not get it either. What am I supposed to do? I tried editing the first post in my Character Map thread but I did not see any prefix option.

I added you by hand to the developer group

you can change this by going here http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editusergroups

Copernicus 2014-06-30 02:50

Re: [Announcement] Prefixes For Software
 
I gotta admit, the error message you now get when creating a new thread is a little frustrating:

"You must select a thread prefix."

Of course, I went ahead and typed in a prefix ("[M5]"), but that apparently didn't count. :) I finally found this thread, and added myself to the Developers group.

I think a better error message would be,

"You must be in the Developers group to create a new thread."

That would get you a lot closer to figuring out why you can't post. :)

chemist 2014-07-02 09:23

Re: [Announcement] Prefixes For Software
 
Thanks for the note. I added it, maybe it is a better idea to turn the requirement off again, but otoh how do I get developers to join that group and actually assign prefixes in any other way than forcing them?

If you run in any other msg you think needs change just shoot a PM or ping me in IRC, please.

xes 2014-07-02 09:47

Re: [Announcement] Prefixes For Software
 
@chemist
while we have prefixes for software categories, (and it sounds a really a nice way to organize things...)

Could we also ask to avoid meaningless thread's titles like:
"123 is here" ?
(example: http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=93313)

chemist 2014-07-02 09:50

Re: [Announcement] Prefixes For Software
 
Any suggestions?

I added a software category notice for all non-developers explaining the need to be in devel group and linking to the profile page.

Copernicus 2014-07-02 09:54

Re: [Announcement] Prefixes For Software
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by chemist (Post 1431596)
how do I get developers to join that group and actually assign prefixes in any other way than forcing them?

Well, my concern is more over "why do I have to be a developer before I can use a prefix"? I would think a visitor asking a question could just as easily categorize their question as a developer making an announcement.


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:31.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8