maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Newbie (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Introducing myself (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=60335)

eachna 2010-08-14 07:06

Introducing myself

I don't see a new user intro thread, but I thought I'd introduce myself anyway :). Since I'm a Nokia newbie, this seems like the best forum.

I'm going to be a n900 user in the near future (just waiting on shipping). I'm coming over (at least temporarily) from Android phones. I love the tight Android integration, but I bought a Milestone (GSM version of the original Droid) and the bootloader is locked (something that wasn't know when I bought it). That means I'm 100% dependent on Motorola's updates, and lets just say they're "tardy" in providing them.

I just couldn't find any Android hardware that appeals right now, so, I decided to give Maemo a chance. The n900 seemed like a cost-efficient option.

I'm a big fan of open source software and run Fedora at home. I'm both used to the frustration and fun available from fiddling with an open source option.

pursueky 2010-08-14 07:42

Re: Introducing myself

what else can i say?
Welcome!!!!

gft2k1 2010-08-14 07:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by eachna (Post 786073)
I don't see a new user intro thread, but I thought I'd introduce myself anyway :). Since I'm a Nokia newbie, this seems like the best forum.

I'm going to be a n900 user in the near future (just waiting on shipping). I'm coming over (at least temporarily) from Android phones. I love the tight Android integration, but I bought a Milestone (GSM version of the original Droid) and the bootloader is locked (something that wasn't know when I bought it). That means I'm 100% dependent on Motorola's updates, and lets just say they're "tardy" in providing them.

I just couldn't find any Android hardware that appeals right now, so, I decided to give Maemo a chance. The n900 seemed like a cost-efficient option.