maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Nokia N810 (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Should I change root password (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=12382)

jay24 2007-11-28 02:17

Should I change root password

Hello,

First post and have an N810 coming tomorrow. I have spent the last number of weeks researching the N800/N810 and did not quite come across an answer to a question I have (I did search this site but did not find an exact answer). First, I am a developer and understand the "root" id in UNIX/Linux and that it should be locked down. Now for the question: if I do not install openssh or dropbear, do I really need to change the root password (i.e., will the N810 be secure)? I am thinking that the N810 is really an "appliance" and that out-of-the-box it should be secure. I am not really against changing the root password, I am just going out of town the day I get the N810 and most likely will not have a chance to do it.

Also, does changing the root password cause any issues with installing software? I am guessing that OS2008 uses "root" for various things and am not sure how it gains access to that account (if the password is changed).

Last question - can someone give me a few sentence reason to install openssh? I read a lot about what you can use it for but was looking for a general benefit of having it.

Thanks

Jay

barry99705 2007-11-28 03:09

Re: Should I change root password

Quote:

Originally Posted by jay24 (Post 101150)
Hello,