maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Development (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   PR 1.3 and Qt version confusion... (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=64402)

fpp 2010-10-26 15:55

PR 1.3 and Qt version confusion...
 
I ran an apparently successful OTA update to PR 1.3 yesterday, and product info in settings shows the correct release number.

I did have to "apt-get remove" a couple of things first (like libgles*) however.

Things seem to be running mostly fine (apart from a few apps that don't work any more), but I'm quite confused as to where I now stand with respect to Qt and PyQt...

I was led to believe that PR 1.3 comes with Qt 4.6. I don't see anything to that effect in the list of installed packages in app manager. I don't see anything either about the previous PyQt version I had installed before the update.

However, my little PyQt app (SnXM) still runs fine, and the About dialog still shows it using PyQt 4.7.5 and Qt 4.6.2.

Is this normal, or did something go wrong with the update ?...

uvatbc 2010-10-26 15:57

Re: PR 1.3 and Qt version confusion...
 
Binary compatibility perhaps?
My app compiles against Qt 4.6.2 but runs against 4.7.0

fpp 2010-10-26 17:08

Re: PR 1.3 and Qt version confusion...
 
OK, but what Qt version string does it show when it's running ?...

egoshin 2010-10-26 18:17

Re: PR 1.3 and Qt version confusion...
 
Mda-a... it looks like Qt release problems are much deeper.

See (and vote) for bug https://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=11445

ScarCow 2010-10-26 19:12

Re: PR 1.3 and Qt version confusion...
 
Qt 4.7.0, QtMobility 1.0.2, though i might've installed mobility myself.

-sc

attila77 2010-10-26 19:15

Re: PR 1.3 and Qt version confusion...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fpp (Post 852015)
Things seem to be running mostly fine (apart from a few apps that don't work any more), but I'm quite confused as to where I now stand with respect to Qt and PyQt...

However, my little PyQt app (SnXM) still runs fine, and the About dialog still shows it using PyQt 4.7.5 and Qt 4.6.2.

Is this normal, or did something go wrong with the update ?...

Two notes:

1. You might be seeing ther version compiled against. Qt4.7 is binary backwards compatible, so it will generally work with 4.6 apps, by as I compiled PyQt with Qt4.6.2, that is the API that is exposed to python and if you reference something within *PyQt* you might get the old version.

2. Just a few days ago there was a release of a brand spanking new PyQt 4.8, so it's a happy coincidence - when I rebuild PyQt for the new firmware, I'll also bump the PyQt version so the Qt4.7 featureset in general should be supported (i.e. declarative and other assorted goodies).

Yabba 2010-10-27 08:35

Re: PR 1.3 and Qt version confusion...
 
Ok, I have Segmentation fault with my program (pyKake), arise with Pr 1.3. As I have tracked it down it is in QApplication, so I just put this short question here (before I create new topic or anything), is this caused compatibility problems with Qt4.7 and current PyQt or have I done something terribly wrong (except that with Pr 1.2 the program worked fine)

The (short) code:
Code:

print "a"
app = QApplication(sys.argv) # Allways crashes here, newer prints out that b or later ones.
print "b"
MiscFunctions().loadSettings()
print "c"
MiscFunctions().controlLircd("start")
print "d"

main = MainWindow()
print "e"
if USEFULLSCREEN == True:
    print "f"
    main.showFullScreen()
else:
    print "g"
    main.show()
print "h"
app.exec_()
MiscFunctions().exitFunction()


fpp 2010-10-27 09:27

Re: PR 1.3 and Qt version confusion...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by attila77 (Post 852140)
Two notes:
1. You might be seeing ther version compiled against. Qt4.7 is binary backwards compatible, so it will generally work with 4.6 apps, by as I compiled PyQt with Qt4.6.2, that is the API that is exposed to python and if you reference something within *PyQt* you might get the old version.

Yes, that's what I did, so that might explain it, thanks.
Is there a simple way to know what Qt version is on the device ? I haven't found it :-)

Quote:

2. Just a few days ago there was a release of a brand spanking new PyQt 4.8, so it's a happy coincidence - when I rebuild PyQt for the new firmware, I'll also bump the PyQt version so the Qt4.7 featureset in general should be supported (i.e. declarative and other assorted goodies).
Great news, thanks much ! That will allow me to also upgrade PyQt on my PC, which I wasn't doing because of the N900...

gerdich 2010-10-27 22:35

Re: PR 1.3 and Qt version confusion...
 
Did I understand right?

If I want PyQt for pr1.3 with QT4.7 I have to install the package which is indicated for pr1.2 and PyQT4.6 which sometimes was linked to QT4.6.
But now the package provides also some features of PyQt4.8 which is linked to QT4.7.

Am I right?


And what is the package PyQt4.7 experimental for and how do I install it?

attila77 2010-10-27 23:22

Re: PR 1.3 and Qt version confusion...
 
DO NOT install the experimental 4.7 package. It's for Qt4.7, but as 4.7 is part of the base firmware now, all it will do is mess up your install.

In other words - stay put, the update will come to you :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:55.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8