maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Development (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   [pseudo ANNOUNCE] working blender for maemo (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=93366)

radiochickenwax 2014-06-22 04:14

[pseudo ANNOUNCE] working blender for maemo
 
Just in case anyone's interested, I have a working blender 2.4 build at https://github.com/radiochickenwax/blender-n900-maemo. It runs pretty smooth for modeling and animation, but really slow for rendering.

All you need to run it is the binary from here. It's statically linked against maemo's python-2.5.4.

Unfortunately however, this doesn't work using the default window manager in hildon-desktop. So if you want to run this, you'll have to change that. See post#3 for a cool workaround. I started some poor instructions here.

Hope this helps someone out there.

ndhikaa 2014-06-22 06:11

Re: [pseudo ANNOUNCE] working blender for maemo
 
this is out of this world, bump! :p

elros34 2014-06-22 09:34

Re: [pseudo ANNOUNCE] working blender for maemo
 
For those who don't want to change window manager and want to see how it works:
Code:

wmctrl -l  => find window id of blender
xdotool windowunmap "blenderId"
xprop -f _NET_WM_STATE 32a -set _NET_WM_STATE _NET_WM_STATE_FULLSCREEN -id "blenderId"
xdotool windowmap "blenderId"


Sohil876 2014-06-23 15:31

Re: [pseudo ANNOUNCE] working blender for maemo
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by radiochickenwax (Post 1430536)
Just in case anyone's interested, I have a working blender 2.4 build at https://github.com/radiochickenwax/blender-n900-maemo. It runs pretty smooth for modeling and animation, but really slow for rendering.

All you need to run it is the binary from here. It's statically linked against maemo's python-2.5.4.

Unfortunately however, this doesn't work using the default window manager in hildon-desktop. So if you want to run this, you'll have to change that. See post#3 for a cool workaround. I started some poor instructions here.

Hope this helps someone out there.

Awesome work bro thanks.

Quote:

Originally Posted by elros34 (Post 1430555)
For those who don't want to change window manager and want to see how it works:
Code:

wmctrl -l  => find window id of blender
xdotool windowunmap "blenderId"
xprop -f _NET_WM_STATE 32a -set _NET_WM_STATE _NET_WM_STATE_FULLSCREEN -id "blenderId"
xdotool windowmap "blenderId"


By " ....want to see how it works " you mean blender doesnt works with your instructions but just appears as a screenshot-like? Because by your instructions i am actually able to use blender without changing my window manager... Is this what you meant?

EDIT:-
It does crash on some options giving omitted at compile time error, eg. Rendering animation and hangs on starting game.

taixzo 2014-06-27 13:53

When trying to run the fix, I get "xdotool: not found".

Sohil876 2014-06-27 15:20

Re: [pseudo ANNOUNCE] working blender for maemo
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by taixzo (Post 1431197)
When trying to run the fix, I get "xdotool: not found".

You need to install wmctrl , xdotool and x11-utils first.

taixzo 2014-06-27 16:49

Re: [pseudo ANNOUNCE] working blender for maemo
 
Ok, that worked, and it's running now, but keyboard controls don't seem to work - I can do things through the menus, but can't, say, press space to add an object or navigate the menus with arrow keys. Any suggestions?

elros34 2014-08-20 11:32

Re: [pseudo ANNOUNCE] working blender for maemo
 
taixzo, try set-focus from easy-debian.

I also tried mm3d in chroot and it's better fitted to maemo screen. radiochickenwax, maybe you are interested to port it to maemo:)


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:10.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8