maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Games (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   [Announce] Crosswords (Singleplayer & Multiplayer) (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=86355)

draxcp6 2012-08-28 22:54

[Announce] Crosswords (Singleplayer & Multiplayer)

Hi there :)

This game is participating in Maemo 2012 competition, and this is my first project using QT.

Here you can visit official website.

Brief description: Game is about making words from given letters (scrabble-like game).

Players: Singleplayer and Multiplayer (from 2 to 4 players via LAN)

Languages: English and Serbian (I don't know any more languages :D)

Description: You get letters, and you must use them for given time (configurable) in order to not receive penalty (configurable). You define how big table will be, how many letters you get per round, what dictionary to use (at the moment only English and Serbian are supported) and many more. In other words, game is very customizable so you can adjust it however you like.
Also, it is optimized for touch screens (cellphones - supports landscape and portrait modes) but it works good on desktops.
You can connect different devices to play in multiplayer (for example you can host game on PC and then connect to game with N900 and another PC - just make sure that they are in same network).

Sreenshots:

Videos:
Little explainings
Network gameplay

How to play:
- Single word:
It is fairly simple, just make one word from given letters.
- Crosswords:
Your goal is to make word from given letters (just drag them on table) and try to make best score. Tap on letter (which is on table already to remove it) or drag it on another place.
Valid words are recognized from-left-to-right and from-top-to-bottom directions.

Configure game: You have plenty options, here are some explanations:
Dictionary - <name>: Click to select dictionary which you would like to use. <name> represents currently selected dictionary.