maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Nokia N900 (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Soldering advice needed for re-attaching N900 USB to mainboard. (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=54762)

PipBoyBSOD 2010-06-01 08:48

Soldering advice needed for re-attaching N900 USB to mainboard.

So once again this silly "Limited warranty" from Nokia reared its ugly head. Due to the fact I was stuck in a country that Nokia decided wasn't worthy of the N900 until now, in my impatience I went and bought one online.

So with my phone at the Nokia Care Centre probably not going to be approved for a free repair, and my future plans not involving a trip to the US, I wanted to know a few things about the USB charging port snapping off after the cable was pulled out 3 degrees too far to the left.

From what I can see, the snap is clean, and has not damaged any surrounding areas where its been sealed on.

I have some general soldering experience. My question is- Given the fact my N900 is turning on and working, is it possible for me to DIY solder the USB port back on to the mainboard, or will incorrect repair eventually result in a blown up n900?

I know that a 5 year old Foxconn worker can fix something like this in about 5 minutes, and probably costs about $5 to nokia, but knowing them they'll be charging me $100s for an out of warranty repair, and given my warranty is pretty much void anyway, can i really do any mroe harm other than perhaps shorting the charging circuit and just not having USB capability?

any help would be great, and if any sydney people know anywhere in chinatown or something that may help me, that would be more awesome.

Regards.

abill_uk 2010-06-01 08:52

Re: Soldering advice needed for re-attaching N900 USB to mainboard.