maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   [ANNOUNCE] Wlan Driver Selector Applet - Switch easily between stock and bleeding edge drivers and shut down WLAN complitely [0.2.2 in extras] (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=73682)

laasonen 2011-06-02 01:15

[ANNOUNCE] Wlan Driver Selector Applet - Switch easily between stock and bleeding edge drivers and shut down WLAN complitely [0.2.2 in extras]
 
Just coded a little status area applet which lets you switch between stock and bleeding edge drivers :) It also has a possibility to shut down WLAN complitely.

http://hosted.laasonen.net/attachment-LFGWWV.png

You can find it under name status-area-wlan-driver-selector-applet on extras-testing. Please vote, if you think its stable.

All ideas and feedback are welcome :)

How?
  • Install kernel-power (>=v46-wl1)
  • Download the bleeding edge drivers with the applets wizard, if you don't have them allready
  • First time when you bleeding edge drivers, it will ask for the folder where you saved the drivers, if you didn't use the applet's wizard

Applet is not showing up? You could try to run this as root:
Code:

apt-get install python python-hildondesktop
reboot
apt-get install --reinstall status-area-wlan-driver-selector-applet

My drivers are not located in MyDocs or memory card. How to select?
Code:

gconftool-2 --type string --set /apps/wlan_driver_selector/driver_folder /path/to/drivers/
Customized osso-wlan (optional)
Quote:

This fixes a bug where WLAN gets stuck, when you are connected to an
access point and go out-of-range.

WARNING: Installing this will break seamless upgrades to new PR versions.
Most likely you will have to reinstall normal osso-wlan version
before you can do OTA upgrades.

You can also skip this step, but keep in mind that the above mentioned bug
can occur. If this bug is triggered you have 3 options:
manually unset ssid, unload and reload driver or reboot your phone.
Run this as root:
Code:

apt-get install wget #If you don't have wget already
wget http://files.laasonen.net/osso-wlan_3.0.20+0m5-1_armel.deb
dpkg -i osso-wlan_3.0.20+0m5-1_armel.deb

Or click this on MicroB and then click "Open with App. manager".
Or download this with your PC, move it to your N900 and then open it with the file browser.

zylor 2011-06-02 01:38

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Wlan Driver Selector Applet - Switch easily between stock and bleeding edge drivers
 
But... how does this applet know from where does it need to pickup the drivers? Or they are included in the deb?

Mentalist Traceur 2011-06-02 01:45

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Wlan Driver Selector Applet - Switch easily between stock and bleeding edge drivers
 
I'm guessing it either
A: Assumes that the driver is in the default path, as per the instructions in the original package from lxp that they came in.
or
B: Performs epically awesome shell script voodoo, searching the system for a directory that has all of the files with the respective kernel module names in it, then saves that location to somewhere, then, if at some point it gets an error because those files are no longer there, it repeats the search.

Cuz B would be awesome...slow, but awesome.... but it's probably A.

Mentalist Traceur 2011-06-02 02:03

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Wlan Driver Selector Applet - Switch easily between stock and bleeding edge drivers
 
Just looked at the source code - looks like (I skimmed, and I'm not that experienced with Python code making GUIs, so I might be reading this wrong), it's going to actually give you a menu to download the bleeding edge drivers, and then has a configuration option of pointing it to the directory where the bleeding edge drivers are.

laasonen 2011-06-02 02:11

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Wlan Driver Selector Applet - Switch easily between stock and bleeding edge drivers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mentalist Traceur (Post 1020598)
Just looked at the source code - looks like (I skimmed, and I'm not that experienced with Python code making GUIs, so I might be reading this wrong), it's going to actually give you a menu to download the bleeding edge drivers, and then has a configuration option of pointing it to the directory where the bleeding edge drivers are.

Yes, it will ask for the folder where you have saved the drivers and then saves it to gconf. It has a download button which open the bleeding edge drivers's homepage on microb.

F2thaK 2011-06-02 02:15

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Wlan Driver Selector Applet - Switch easily between stock and bleeding edge drivers
 
is there issues with the bleeding edge?

edit: didnt realise the bleeding edge was free now either. cool. downloading!

do we need to extract the tar ?

laasonen 2011-06-02 02:25

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Wlan Driver Selector Applet - Switch easily between stock and bleeding edge drivers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by F2thaK (Post 1020601)
is there issues with the bleeding edge?

edit: didnt realise the bleeding edge was free now either. cool. downloading!

I haven't had any issues, but I haven't used it much. Some people say it drains the battery faster, so I'm only using it when needed.

price 2011-06-02 02:31

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Wlan Driver Selector Applet - Switch easily between stock and bleeding edge drivers
 
I've installed it trough FAM but i'cant see it in status menu. i'm on CSSU.15

Mentalist Traceur 2011-06-02 02:33

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Wlan Driver Selector Applet - Switch easily between stock and bleeding edge drivers
 
I use the bleeding edge driver all the time. Some people do say there's battery issues, but I use it as my default driver all the time, and I see no noticeable battery life decrease.

laasonen 2011-06-02 02:36

Re: [ANNOUNCE] Wlan Driver Selector Applet - Switch easily between stock and bleeding edge drivers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by F2thaK (Post 1020601)
do we need to extract the tar ?

Yes, the wl1251-maemo/binary/compat-wireless/ folder.

Quote:

Originally Posted by price (Post 1020615)
I've installed it trough FAM but i'cant see it in status menu. i'm on CSSU.15

I managed to successfully install it with FAM, HAM and APT :/ You could try to kill the hildon-status-menu and see, if it starts:
Code:

killall hildon-status-menu


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:56.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8