Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
joerg_rw's Avatar
Posts: 2,210 | Thanked: 12,538 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ SOL 3
#51
well, see edits of last post. Last finding: 4200mV 950mA max charging hard limits
__________________
Maemo Community Council member [2012-10, 2013-05, 2013-11, 2014-06 terms]
Hildon Foundation Council inaugural member.
MCe.V. foundation member

EX Hildon Foundation approved
Maemo Administration Coordinator (stepped down due to bullying 2014-04-05)
aka "techstaff" - the guys who keep your infra running - Devotion to Duty http://xkcd.com/705/

IRC(freenode): DocScrutinizer*
First USB hostmode fanatic, father of H-E-N
 

The Following User Says Thank You to joerg_rw For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,463 | Thanked: 1,916 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Edmonton, AB
#52
I saw this on twitter today: "HUGE difference in performance when disabling the debug and logging daemons on the #N950."
Anyone know how to do that?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Creamy Goodness For This Useful Post:
mece's Avatar
Posts: 1,111 | Thanked: 1,984 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Åbo, Finland
#53
Originally Posted by Creamy Goodness View Post
I saw this on twitter today: "HUGE difference in performance when disabling the debug and logging daemons on the #N950."
Anyone know how to do that?
disable dev mode
__________________
Class .. : Meddler, Thread watcher, Developer, Helper
Humor .. : [********--] Alignment: Pacifist
Patience : [*****-----] Weapon(s): N900, N950, Metal music
Agro ... : [----------] Relic(s) : N95, NGage, Tamyia Wild One

Try Tweed Suit for your hardcore twittering needs
http://twitter.com/mece66
I like my coffee black, like my metal.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to mece For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,257 | Thanked: 2,767 times | Joined on Jun 2011 @ Finland
#54
Is there a way to keep the Terminal & ssh/sshd without the dev mode active?

When I buy the N9 I'd appreciate to keep it running as efficiently as possible, but life without Terminal and ssh would be pointless.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ajalkane For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,463 | Thanked: 1,916 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Edmonton, AB
#55
The retail N9 shouldn't have that problem and neither should the n950 once the firmware comes out of beta. Just ignore his suggestion, I am
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Creamy Goodness For This Useful Post:
mece's Avatar
Posts: 1,111 | Thanked: 1,984 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Åbo, Finland
#56
starting/stopping sshd is done with
Code:
/sbin/stop sshd
/sbin/start sshd
Now I needed to get ssh working over 3g but there is an aegis protected script at /etc/network/if-up.d/drop_gprs_to_sshd that prevents gprs connections to port 22. Modifying the file would work but most likely malf the phone.
Frals suggested chmod -x the file so it wouldn't execute could work, but I don't know if aegis would allow that, and I didn't feel like testing, so I just changed the port instead.

To do that just edit the /etc/ssh/sshd_config file and set the port to whatever you want.
You also need modify the AllowUsers line to allow logins from your ip adresses.
__________________
Class .. : Meddler, Thread watcher, Developer, Helper
Humor .. : [********--] Alignment: Pacifist
Patience : [*****-----] Weapon(s): N900, N950, Metal music
Agro ... : [----------] Relic(s) : N95, NGage, Tamyia Wild One

Try Tweed Suit for your hardcore twittering needs
http://twitter.com/mece66
I like my coffee black, like my metal.
 

The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to mece For This Useful Post:
Posts: 24 | Thanked: 16 times | Joined on Jul 2008 @ Berlin, Germany
#57
Originally Posted by mece View Post
disable dev mode
I'd expect uninstalling devtools-debug and devtools-logging (through the normal 'Manage applications') to be the correct answer as opposed to completely disabling dev mode.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pcfe For This Useful Post:
javispedro's Avatar
Posts: 2,330 | Thanked: 5,200 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Barcelona
#58
I do not think a "debug daemon" exists, and I also doubt the logging daemon severely impacts performance on the device (as I have been running it on my N900 for ages, as well as the N950).

Dunno if some other "developer mode" package does something else, though, but I'd also doubt it.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to javispedro For This Useful Post:
jflatt's Avatar
Posts: 534 | Thanked: 722 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#59
Some video encoding info:

The included samples

Dolby Soundscapes
2:35 71.3MB
864x486 h264 @3486k
E-AC3 @ 384k

Nokia Pure
2:53 76.8M
854x480 h264 @ 3349k
E-AC3 @ 384k

If you want to try to encode something yourself, try this out. 2:03, 58.6M. A full-length movie should fit under 3GB easily
Code:
wget -U iTunes http://trailers.apple.com/movies/marvel/theavengers/avengers-tlr1_h1080p.mov

ffmpeg -i avengers-tlr1_h1080p.mov -s 854x480 -vcodec libx264 -b 4096k -profile baseline -acodec copy -threads 0 Avengers.mp4
I've gone up to 720p and it plays back great. I seem to get some horizontal streaking that's noticeable in solid-color scenes, which is from the encoder, not the phone. If anybody has a fix for that I'd love to hear it

Last edited by jflatt; 2011-10-19 at 03:38. Reason: Bad first attempt
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to jflatt For This Useful Post:
jflatt's Avatar
Posts: 534 | Thanked: 722 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#60
This is probably obvious, but if you modify the theme to support landscape lockscreen orientation, the wallpapers will be shown on the left half, cropped for a portrait screen. Even setting an image as wallpaper will ask you to crop it. Set a custom wallpaper, then overwrite the image in /home/user/.wallpapers/wallpaper.png with an 854x854 image and you can get full wallpaper in either orientation.
 

The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to jflatt For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:50.