ja-pc's Avatar
Posts: 31 | Thanked: 17 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Earth
#1
Hello everyone,

Since I don't own an N9, and I am planning to buy it, I wanted to ask whether there is some sort of lists of apps' privileges/permissions in Harmattan. I mean, what system data, functions or even other apps' data an app can access (like in Android).

I am really sorry if such a topic does already exist in here.

Thanks a lot

Last edited by ja-pc; 02-24-2012 at 12:36 PM.
 
Posts: 245 | Thanked: 890 times | Joined on Feb 2012
#2
If not installed yet:

Code:
apt-get install binutils
ar p package.deb _aegis
If already installed:

Code:
less /var/lib/aegis/restok/restok.conf
/Package: packagename<enter>
There's no user-friendly way to do it, which is one of the primary reasons why Aegis is close to useless.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to itsnotabigtruck For This Useful Post:
Posts: 158 | Thanked: 55 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Timisoara, Romania
#3
There's no such thing. Maybe because QA in Nokia Store is a real QA
__________________
"No one will need more than 637 kb of memory for a personal computer."
 
ja-pc's Avatar
Posts: 31 | Thanked: 17 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Earth
#4
itsnotabigtruck: never mind, at least it works
Well, still better and more open than Android.. thanks for the tip

smcsa: Yeah, but the principle is that I want to have control over my phone - theoretically a calculator can read my personal data in the background this way and yet I'm not talking about getting apps outside the Nokia store..
 
Posts: 245 | Thanked: 890 times | Joined on Feb 2012
#5
Originally Posted by smcsa View Post
There's no such thing. Maybe because QA in Nokia Store is a real QA
I wouldn't be so quick to assume Nokia is doing their job when it comes to such things - there are many cases of iPhone apps that rely on capabilities they shouldn't have to implement behavior the user doesn't want. In general, the entire point of a capabilities system is to allow the admin (you) to audit precisely what an app can do - but Aegis makes this quite difficult to do.

ja-pc: I know the output from that is more than a little bit cryptic, but once you understand a bit about what Aegis actually does it's not too hard to understand what a given app is allowed to do.
 
ja-pc's Avatar
Posts: 31 | Thanked: 17 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Earth
#6
itsnotabigtruck: exactly
as I said, if it works, then it's OK.. i hope i'll manage to understand it at last.. by the way, what about making an app that could decode this output so it would make such lists? would it be possible or an app is just not allowed to execute bash commands?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ja-pc For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:50 AM.