Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 185 | Thanked: 102 times | Joined on Aug 2008
#1
In my area, T-Mobile has launched a PCS (1900MHz) network in addition to their AWS network. I'm curious as to which one I'm actually on. Is there any way to see this information?
 
Posts: 109 | Thanked: 34 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#2
I'm not sure. But what area are you from? I'm looking forward to the migration to 1900 so I have more unlocked phone choices.
 
Posts: 185 | Thanked: 102 times | Joined on Aug 2008
#3
Originally Posted by ceevee View Post
I'm not sure. But what area are you from? I'm looking forward to the migration to 1900 so I have more unlocked phone choices.
Cincinnati. I read an article that said T-Mobile owned the 1900MHz spectrum in my area.
 
tzsm98's Avatar
Posts: 495 | Thanked: 415 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Oklahoma
#4
Originally Posted by legoman666 View Post
In my area, T-Mobile has launched a PCS (1900MHz) network in addition to their AWS network. I'm curious as to which one I'm actually on. Is there any way to see this information?
Page 19 of the user guide for the N9 shows the various network indicators. 2G, 2.5G, 3G and 3.5G are what will show up in the status area, presumably next to the signal strength indicator. I hope this speaks to your question.
__________________
A Thing of Beauty Is a Joy Forever
 
Posts: 185 | Thanked: 102 times | Joined on Aug 2008
#5
Originally Posted by tzsm98 View Post
Page 19 of the user guide for the N9 shows the various network indicators. 2G, 2.5G, 3G and 3.5G are what will show up in the status area, presumably next to the signal strength indicator. I hope this speaks to your question.
No it doesn't, I want to know if I'm on PCS or AWS.
 
tzsm98's Avatar
Posts: 495 | Thanked: 415 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Oklahoma
#6
Originally Posted by legoman666 View Post
No it doesn't, I want to know if I'm on PCS or AWS.
Sorry, was not aware that PCS supported anything over 2.5G.
__________________
A Thing of Beauty Is a Joy Forever
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Philadelphia
#7
Although I am also curious about this since I am also on T-Mobile UASA, 3G on PCS band has been cancelled. T-Mobile is using their PCS band to launch their LTE network. This was spelled out in their quarterly report.
 
Posts: 185 | Thanked: 102 times | Joined on Aug 2008
#8
Originally Posted by tzsm98 View Post
Sorry, was not aware that PCS supported anything over 2.5G.
Eh? I'm fairly certain that ATT uses it for UMTS and HSPA.


Originally Posted by tibere86 View Post
Although I am also curious about this since I am also on T-Mobile UASA, 3G on PCS band has been cancelled. T-Mobile is using their PCS band to launch their LTE network. This was spelled out in their quarterly report.
The theory of the folks over at Howard Forums is that they're putting HSPA on PCS until they're ready to fire up LTE.

Last edited by legoman666; 03-12-2012 at 07:18 AM.
 
Posts: 29 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#9
Originally Posted by tibere86 View Post
Although I am also curious about this since I am also on T-Mobile UASA, 3G on PCS band has been cancelled. T-Mobile is using their PCS band to launch their LTE network. This was spelled out in their quarterly report.
Actually the quarterly report showed they're putting HSPA+ on PCS 1900 (and leaving some HSPA+ on AWS 2100) and putting LTE on AWS 2100. They're going to want to support 3g on PCS for unlocked iPhones.

http://www.tmonews.com/2012/02/t-mob...company-plans/
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Philadelphia
#10
Thanks for the update and clarification guys.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 PM.