Reply
Thread Tools
thp's Avatar
Posts: 1,362 | Thanked: 4,006 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Vienna, Austria
#11
Originally Posted by rainisto View Post
rle is 16 bit run length encoded data, converted my example png to rle and it seems to work.

RM696-07-1_PR_001:~# disclaimer-cal write View-openmove disclaimer-custom.rle
disclaimer-cal: Disclaimer written to CAL (size: 68843)
Thanks for that. So, the CAL area is locked in Open Mode. What makes it locked? Is there a possibility to "unlock" it and make it writable? Things like device lock would still be helpful to have in open mode. Similarly, does the locked-ness of the CAL area have something to do with the aegis secure store / the password requests for saved account passwords after going to open mode?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to thp For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,004 | Thanked: 2,117 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Finland
#12
Originally Posted by thp View Post
Thanks for that. So, the CAL area is locked in Open Mode. What makes it locked? Is there a possibility to "unlock" it and make it writable? Things like device lock would still be helpful to have in open mode. Similarly, does the locked-ness of the CAL area have something to do with the aegis secure store / the password requests for saved account passwords after going to open mode?
Bootloader locks the nand, so there is no way to make it writable without reflash.

In openmode aegis uses different encryption key than in open mode, thats the reason why things start to fail if you first have configured account details first in secure-mode. If you go directly to openmode after full reflash without booting to secure mode at all, then all your aegis secure stores are created with open mode key, but if you have booted to secure mode before going to open, then there will be encryption key conflicts, ie you need to delete securemode stores and create them again (so it will use openmode keys).

Last edited by rainisto; 03-24-2012 at 09:54 AM.
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to rainisto For This Useful Post:
thp's Avatar
Posts: 1,362 | Thanked: 4,006 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Vienna, Austria
#13
Originally Posted by rainisto View Post
but if you have booted to secure mode before going to open, then there will be encryption key conflicts, ie you need to delete securemode stores and create them again (so it will use openmode keys).
Can I do that manually? I haven't found any instructions on the Wiki (.meego.com), but I guess that info might be useful for more people. I'd rather just remove all accounts, then create a new securemode store and then re-add all accounts instead of re-flashing closed mode and then flashing open mode again.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to thp For This Useful Post:
nieldk's Avatar
Posts: 1,279 | Thanked: 1,738 times | Joined on Nov 2010
#14
Originally Posted by rainisto View Post
rle is 16 bit run length encoded data, converted my example png to rle and it seems to work.

RM696-07-1_PR_001:~# disclaimer-cal write View-openmove disclaimer-custom.rle
disclaimer-cal: Disclaimer written to CAL (size: 68843)
nice assume you used imagemagick? eg.
convert disclaimer.png -compress=RLE disclaimer.rle ?
 
Posts: 1,004 | Thanked: 2,117 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Finland
#15
Originally Posted by thp View Post
Can I do that manually? I haven't found any instructions on the Wiki (.meego.com), but I guess that info might be useful for more people. I'd rather just remove all accounts, then create a new securemode store and then re-add all accounts instead of re-flashing closed mode and then flashing open mode again.
yes, you can delete stores with apscli
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rainisto For This Useful Post:
thp's Avatar
Posts: 1,362 | Thanked: 4,006 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Vienna, Austria
#16
Originally Posted by rainisto View Post
yes, you can delete stores with apscli
Doesn't seem to work for me:

Code:
~ # apscli -s signon-private:Se -D
apscli.cpp(721): ERROR: Storage 'signon-private' could not be removed (Permission denied)
Do I need a special kernel or something to be able to use it?
Will the store be re-created automatically or do I have to use apscli to re-create it (if so, with which option)?
 
Posts: 1,004 | Thanked: 2,117 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Finland
#17
Originally Posted by thp View Post
Doesn't seem to work for me:

Code:
~ # apscli -s signon-private:Se -D
apscli.cpp(721): ERROR: Storage 'signon-private' could not be removed (Permission denied)
Do I need a special kernel or something to be able to use it?
Will the store be re-created automatically or do I have to use apscli to re-create it (if so, with which option)?
you need to run the command from some all capa shell, like com.nokia.maemo origin opensh. Usually aegis stores are re-created on next reboot by the applications that use them.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rainisto For This Useful Post:
Posts: 233 | Thanked: 473 times | Joined on Oct 2011 @ Sydney
#18
Originally Posted by coderus View Post
of course no.
Not even using Inception/Open Mode with opensh?
__________________
Blogs I post to
MyNokiaBlog
UnleashThePhones

Hit thanks if I have helped in some way, or you agree with me

Twitter
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Battery Widget
#OperationUnicorn
Harmoji - Emoji for Harmattan

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
N9 [Black] - Sailfish OS (1.x.x.xx)
N9 [White] - PR 1.3 [Stock]
N950 - Sailfish OS
Z10 LE - 10.2.1.1055
Dev Alpha C - 10.2.1.1055
 
nieldk's Avatar
Posts: 1,279 | Thanked: 1,738 times | Joined on Nov 2010
#19
Originally Posted by rainisto View Post
rle is 16 bit run length encoded data, converted my example png to rle and it seems to work.

RM696-07-1_PR_001:~# disclaimer-cal write View-openmove disclaimer-custom.rle
disclaimer-cal: Disclaimer written to CAL (size: 68843)
do you mind sharing steps to create the .rle?
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,097 | Thanked: 8,667 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#20
Ok, so this still only works for those who can boot to normal mode (whoever that is)? Those of us running in Open Mode can't get rid of this awful screen?
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.