Reply
Thread Tools
dumpystig's Avatar
Posts: 464 | Thanked: 336 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ UK, Northwest
#51
That's the intentional thinking behind battery/power saving mode - to stop using any apps that require more current draw and therefore prolong battery life. So it's working correctly, just not how you would like it - you can't have your cake....
 

The Following User Says Thank You to dumpystig For This Useful Post:
Posts: 123 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ Setubal, Portugal
#52
Originally Posted by dumpystig View Post
That's the intentional thinking behind battery/power saving mode - to stop using any apps that require more current draw and therefore prolong battery life. So it's working correctly, just not how you would like it - you can't have your cake....
sorry, not what i meant.
The thing is when battery save mode gets on, the accu weather sync stops. ok to that. but when save mode is off again, the sync dont gets on.. has to be forced..
 
dumpystig's Avatar
Posts: 464 | Thanked: 336 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ UK, Northwest
#53
Ah, OK. I'm not sure about that, in fact I will have to see how mine is functioning although up to now I don't think there are any probs...
 
Posts: 648 | Thanked: 648 times | Joined on Oct 2011
#54
Originally Posted by Fuzzillogic View Post
I'd try to do it the nice way first, by graciously restarting the service instead of recklessly killing it:

Code:
~ # /sbin/initctl restart xsession/msyncd
Run as root. No need to look up the PID.

However, it didn't help in my case (killing msynd didn't either).
This command works to reset Accuweather to update again after coming out of airplane mode if run in terminal. But when I create a *.desktop file to execute it it doesn't work. Anybody knows why? Is it because it requires root access?

Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Version=1.0
Type=Application
Terminal=true
Name=ResetAccu
Exec=sh -c '/sbin/initctl restart xsession/msyncd'
Icon=/usr/share/applications/iconaccu.png
X-Osso-Type=application/x-executable
 
Posts: 280 | Thanked: 135 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ Banyuwangi, Indonesia
#55
To everybody who found Accuweather stops updating again after run all those command above, try to installing Restore Accuweather for N9 on Nokia Store.
Running all day long and keep updating til now...
__________________
twitter: @fitronarwani @N9Indonesia
 
Posts: 77 | Thanked: 27 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#56
2nd that, Restore Accuweather worked for me too
 
Posts: 648 | Thanked: 648 times | Joined on Oct 2011
#57
Originally Posted by efion View Post
To everybody who found Accuweather stops updating again after run all those command above, try to installing Restore Accuweather for N9 on Nokia Store.
Running all day long and keep updating til now...
It doesn't update after coming out of airplane mode.

Last edited by SamGan; 2012-04-15 at 09:17.
 
Posts: 1,100 | Thanked: 2,096 times | Joined on Jun 2011 @ Finland
#58
Originally Posted by SamGan View Post
This command works to reset Accuweather to update again after coming out of airplane mode if run in terminal. But when I create a *.desktop file to execute it it doesn't work. Anybody knows why? Is it because it requires root access?
Yes, initctl requires running as root.
__________________
My N9/N950 projects:
 
Posts: 648 | Thanked: 648 times | Joined on Oct 2011
#59
Originally Posted by ajalkane View Post
Yes, initctl requires running as root.
So is there any way to write root access into the script?
 
Posts: 123 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ Setubal, Portugal
#60
Originally Posted by dolphins View Post
2nd that, Restore Accuweather worked for me too
So i did this one and uninstalled the 'organizer' app that uses a running background daemon to sync feeds with calendar automaticaly.
AccuWeather now works normal again.. One of those fixed it
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:00.