Poll: Have you successfully installed Nitdroid by now?
Poll Options
Have you successfully installed Nitdroid by now?

Reply
Thread Tools
damnshock's Avatar
Posts: 179 | Thanked: 85 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Barcelona
#4381
Originally Posted by ammyt View Post
I don't want to spoil things up, but something is coming soon
Oh boy, I've been checking here almost every hour since you wrote this!

Can't wait to see what's coming soon!!!
__________________
--
My blog
 
Posts: 76 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Jun 2011
#4382
Originally Posted by skykooler View Post
I think you may be misunderstanding how RAM works. RAM is a chip which is usually in the same package as the CPU, and which communicates with it at a very high speed (about ten times as fast as Ethernet). The N900 has 256 MB of RAM. The Raspberry Pi also has 256 MB of RAM. So theoretically, you could network the two together and have a device with 512 MB of RAM. But by doing so over a network, you lose the key advantage of RAM, which is the access speed. You would get better results by using some of the flash memory as RAM. This is called "swap space", and both Maemo and Android do this already (you can find some posts further back on how to optimize Nitdroid by changing the swap parameters.)

So, to answer your question: It is theoretically possible. But it is also useless.
Man those cpu gonna kill me. There are many of arm cortex a8 cpu that been used on some device so what kills me. Why in some devices I find arm cortex a8 has been released on 1000 mhz cpu and 1 Gb ram, and some has 700 cpu and 512ram. Also I readed that there is a POP file on the top of the arm cpu so this kb packages is used to have that speed of ram and there is know way to remove this package only with a mini compulap like Raspberry or something elles that have more than 256 ram
 
Posts: 468 | Thanked: 520 times | Joined on Oct 2010
#4383
Originally Posted by zozeta2 View Post
Man those cpu gonna kill me. There are many of arm cortex a8 cpu that been used on some device so what kills me. Why in some devices I find arm cortex a8 has been released on 1000 mhz cpu and 1 Gb ram, and some has 700 cpu and 512ram. Also I readed that there is a POP file on the top of the arm cpu so this kb packages is used to have that speed of ram and there is know way to remove this package only with a mini compulap like Raspberry or something elles that have more than 256 ram
First off, the RAM is not the CPU. The N900 has a quite capable CPU, which runs at 600 MHz by default but can be overclocked to 900-1150 MHz, depending on your particular device. Secondly, it won't kill you, because Nitdroid runs quite smoothly on the N900 (because it is generally CPU-bound and not memory-bound). I have no idea what you mean by a "POP file on the top of the arm cpu" - I can find nothing about this, and I'm not quite sure what you mean by a file on top of the CPU anyway. Also, when you refer to the Raspberry Pi as a "mini compulap", I think you are misunderstanding the device: it is not a laptop, it is just a motherboard. Here is a Raspberry Pi:
 

The Following User Says Thank You to skykooler For This Useful Post:
Posts: 184 | Thanked: 149 times | Joined on Jul 2011
#4384
Originally Posted by skykooler View Post
First off, the RAM is not the CPU. The N900 has a quite capable CPU, which runs at 600 MHz by default but can be overclocked to 900-1150 MHz, depending on your particular device. Secondly, it won't kill you, because Nitdroid runs quite smoothly on the N900 (because it is generally CPU-bound and not memory-bound). I have no idea what you mean by a "POP file on the top of the arm cpu" - I can find nothing about this, and I'm not quite sure what you mean by a file on top of the CPU anyway. Also, when you refer to the Raspberry Pi as a "mini compulap", I think you are misunderstanding the device: it is not a laptop, it is just a motherboard. Here is a Raspberry Pi:
I believe what he means is the Package On Package (I think it stands for that :P ) which means the RAM is soldered and shipped with the CPU or I could be completely wrong and

Originally Posted by zozeta2 View Post
Man those cpu gonna kill me. There are many of arm cortex a8 cpu that been used on some device so what kills me. Why in some devices I find arm cortex a8 has been released on 1000 mhz cpu and 1 Gb ram, and some has 700 cpu and 512ram. Also I readed that there is a POP file on the top of the arm cpu so this kb packages is used to have that speed of ram and there is know way to remove this package only with a mini compulap like Raspberry or something elles that have more than 256 ram
yes, I think we should stop talking about adding RAM to a phone, IT CANNOT BE DONE (with that I mean using any normal means us mortals have). You should focus more on software optimization the previous definition of the RasPi is accurate, a little motherboard with all needed components soldered to it

EDIT: Just to not create another debate and answer the POP issue, removing the RAM from the CPU on such system is not feasible as the whole point of it is shipping both together, you would have to desolder the CPU and get a new CPU that is the same model but with a larger RAM on it and re-solder it, something that the hardware would probably not support anyway... and I do not know people who can solder all the connections from a mobile CPU, too small.
So move on from the RAM upgrade thing

Last edited by pablocrossa; 04-16-2012 at 02:11 PM.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pablocrossa For This Useful Post:
Posts: 76 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Jun 2011
#4385
Originally Posted by pablocrossa View Post
I believe what he means is the Package On Package (I think it stands for that :P ) which means the RAM is soldered and shipped with the CPU or I could be completely wrong and



yes, I think we should stop talking about adding RAM to a phone, IT CANNOT BE DONE (with that I mean using any normal means us mortals have). You should focus more on software optimization the previous definition of the RasPi is accurate, a little motherboard with all needed components soldered to it

EDIT: Just to not create another debate and answer the POP issue, removing the RAM from the CPU on such system is not feasible as the whole point of it is shipping both together, you would have to desolder the CPU and get a new CPU that is the same model but with a larger RAM on it and re-solder it, something that the hardware would probably not support anyway... and I do not know people who can solder all the connections from a mobile CPU, too small.
So move on from the RAM upgrade thing


No ur not wrong ya I saw the picture its package over package the ram is up on the cpu from inside the cpu. Thanks man for your clear solution but I also still have that feeling I don't know why.


Arm cortex a8 is the same of any arm cortex a8 yes? So why I can find arm cortex a8 the Same of n900 but with different ram....
Do that mean they change the pop of any arm cortex a8 package ?? Seeem its not true and they build arm cortex a8 with the same pop ram but without adding size for the ram.

Last edited by zozeta2; 04-16-2012 at 10:10 PM.
 
Posts: 69 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Jan 2012
#4386
Originally Posted by ammyt View Post
I don't want to spoil things up, but something is coming soon
i hope for that something to be a call receiving and outgoing so our phone become perfect...GO GO GO ammyt!!!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ronald122789 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 468 | Thanked: 520 times | Joined on Oct 2010
#4387
Originally Posted by zozeta2 View Post
Arm cortex a8 is the same of any arm cortex a8 yes? So why I can find arm cortex a8 the Same of n900 but with different ram....
Do that mean they change the pop of any arm cortex a8 package ?? Seeem its not true and they build arm cortex a8 with the same pop ram but without adding size for the ram.
There are many different ARM processors, and just sticking another A8 in there wouldn't necessarily mean it would be 100% compatible. Also I wouldn't be surprised if the 256 MB size was hardcoded into Maemo, but it might not be. Finally, desoldering/soldering components to a phone board is going to be a very difficult process without the proper equipment (you'd have to unsolder the camera first, for example, because the heat when you bake the solder will ruin the CMOS sensor). It's virtually impossible to DIY. That said, if you do try this and succeed, please tell us about it!
 
Posts: 184 | Thanked: 149 times | Joined on Jul 2011
#4388
Originally Posted by zozeta2 View Post
No ur not wrong ya I saw the picture its package over package the ram is up on the cpu from inside the cpu. Thanks man for your clear solution but I also still have that feeling I don't know why.


Arm cortex a8 is the same of any arm cortex a8 yes? So why I can find arm cortex a8 the Same of n900 but with different ram....
Do that mean they change the pop of any arm cortex a8 package ?? Seeem its not true and they build arm cortex a8 with the same pop ram but without adding size for the ram.
Ok I have absolutely NO IDEA how other A8 manufacturers do it but I can assure you it is either soldered to the CPU or the motherboard on a phone

I cannot understand too well what you are saying on the last paragraph, I believe you are asking why we cannot simply buy the same A8 as on the N900 but with more RAM and replace it. I will explain why this is not possible.
First lets think of replacing a computer processor. I do not know if you have ever done it but the part that connects to the motherboard looks like this:

That is easy to replace as one simply removes the old one and places the new ones over the pins and we are good to go.
Now let us go to the phone world. We do not have a PC case in which to fit components, plus users do not upgrade phones. Adding a solution like on a PC would make the phone very fat for a niche market that really does not exist. So in order to save space the CPU is soldered into the motherboard. Soldered means it cannot be unclicked. In theory one can de-solder that CPU (which is pretty much impossible without damaging the motherboard or other components) and solder anotherone on but, with such small pins soldering to the phone is again almost impossible to do and you will not find anyone that can do this with the solderer we all have at home.

If you mean desoldering the RAM from the CPU and soldering in a new, bigger module this is also impossible due to the amount of connections on such a small area that would inherently damage the CPU too. They are a single module and cannot be detatched/reattatched.

Even if you managed any of these solutions it is probable (again I do not have a very big knowledge on the N900's inner working) that the motherboard is not compatible with a different CPU or with more RAM, rendering your device useless.

The bandwidth on the RAM is very big so we cannot produce another interface ON A PHONE that is fast enough to make a swap space (using memory as RAM) of any use as the one integrated in the phone will probably be faster.

On a phone one cannot add more RAM, otherwise you would have seen it done by someone on this community, cmon every hardware hack exists for this phone

Cheers and I hope this helps you

P.S. Please clear up what you meant on the last paragragh, specially the last sentence, as I really do not understand it.

EDIT: It seems skykooler won me to it :P
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to pablocrossa For This Useful Post:
ammyt's Avatar
Posts: 1,896 | Thanked: 3,031 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Digizonia
#4389
Only Chuck Norris can unsolder his RAM chip from his mobo, AFAIK he's got 64Gigs of ram on his N900.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ammyt For This Useful Post:
ammyt's Avatar
Posts: 1,896 | Thanked: 3,031 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Digizonia
#4390
Originally Posted by skykooler View Post
I think what ammyt means is that there is no "easy way" to install Nitdroid, other than following the instructions which are clearly listed in the first post in this thread.
Sorry to have you involved skykooler, really sorry.

The thing is, everything is in ULTRA HUGE FONT on the first post, the link for an AUTO-installer is on the first post, a link for the WIKI is on the first post, a link in the WIKI for the FAQ comes from the first post...
It amazes me how people still ask such provocative questions while there's an AUTO-installer available.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ammyt For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
community win, mor*nicindians, nitdroid

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 AM.