Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 462 | Thanked: 147 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Melb
#361
Does anybody have any advice on how to prevent phone from crashing/rebooting after dismounting a usb device?
 
Posts: 36 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Phoenix, Arizona
#362
First things first. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! to everyone who has made this possible (and you know who you are)! I guess I'm one of the lucky ones as it has always worked well for me. I did, however, read everything I could. I even created some QB widgets for mounting, but now, sometimes, my devices mount by themselves! My favorite thing is my external SSD as the N900 is able to power it without an external source. If ever something doesn't mount it is because I'm running through the steps too quickly. For me these steps always work:

H-E-N
Choose speed correctly.
Plug in device. (It doesn't seem to really matter when I plug in the device. I usually have it plugged in before I start H-E-N.)
Boost on. WAIT!
Enumerate WAIT again!
If it doesn't automatically mount then I use my QBW (I have 6 for multiple devices.)
 
Estel's Avatar
Posts: 4,941 | Thanked: 8,235 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#363
Originally Posted by optimaxxx View Post
Does anybody have any advice on how to prevent phone from crashing/rebooting after dismounting a usb device?
Don't use bq27x00_battery module - if it's enabled, restarting BME reboots device. During HEN worktime, BME is disabled. When You close HEN, it enables BME again, which triggers safety reboot, due to bq27x00_battery already occupying i2c.

/Estel
__________________
N900's aluminum backcover / body replacement
-
N900's HDMI-Out
-
Camera cover MOD
-
Measure battery's real capacity on-device
-
TrueCrypt 7.1 | ereswap | bnf
-
Hardware's mods research is costly. To support my work, please consider donating. Thank You!
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Estel For This Useful Post:
Posts: 462 | Thanked: 147 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Melb
#364
So i rmmod bq27x00_battery, and now it only crashes *sometimes*

Would you be able to tell me what setup you're using, and i could go try and emulate it?

thanks
 
Estel's Avatar
Posts: 4,941 | Thanked: 8,235 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#365
I would rather see if You haven't bq27x00_battery listed in /etc/modules, and if You *do* (You should) have it listed in /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist

/Estel
__________________
N900's aluminum backcover / body replacement
-
N900's HDMI-Out
-
Camera cover MOD
-
Measure battery's real capacity on-device
-
TrueCrypt 7.1 | ereswap | bnf
-
Hardware's mods research is costly. To support my work, please consider donating. Thank You!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Estel For This Useful Post:
Posts: 462 | Thanked: 147 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Melb
#366
it isn't listed under etc/modules (vi only shows the intro 4 lines explaining what file does, doesn't appear that any modules are activated)
and under the blacklist , it's a single-line file containing only "bq27x00_battery"
 
Estel's Avatar
Posts: 4,941 | Thanked: 8,235 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#367
So how the f*** it was loaded (You said that You was able to rmod it)?
__________________
N900's aluminum backcover / body replacement
-
N900's HDMI-Out
-
Camera cover MOD
-
Measure battery's real capacity on-device
-
TrueCrypt 7.1 | ereswap | bnf
-
Hardware's mods research is costly. To support my work, please consider donating. Thank You!
 
Posts: 462 | Thanked: 147 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Melb
#368
yeah, deleted all of those files, and it seems to be working (went from rebooting 100% of time to only if i'm unlucky, 5-10%)

so i'm fine with that for now, but i have a seperate question, and i apoligise if it's really rather daft of me.

I'm plugging in an Arduino Uno via usb.

it uses the ftdi drivers, which i've got installed, and i have managed to get everything working 100% every now and again, but the problem i'm having is consistency. sometimes i'll plug in my arduino, and it show that a usb something is connected, it just doesn't seem to configure it for use.

What is / is there a code that i can enter instead of using the hen gui, to get it all going, and load only the correct drivers, so that it will mount properly everytime?

this guide helped me. The only difference is that the new arduino boards mount under "ttyACM.." not ttyUSB..
 
Posts: 462 | Thanked: 147 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Melb
#369
Still unsure how to load up only the correct driver as specified by me.

But also, I realised my phone was more likely to reboot if I was using the STARVING power profile. Switching back to default power gave me much better stability.
 
Posts: 50 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Nov 2010
#370
Dear Guys,

need your assistance, already managed to detect the sub serial adapter. Anyway how check whether its already been mount.

Really need your assistance,. Thanks in advanced.



[61370.412750] hub 1-0:1.0: port 1, status 0101, change 0001, 12 Mb/s
[61370.412780] usb 1-1: USB disconnect, address 48
[61370.412811] usb 1-1: unregistering device
[61370.412811] usb 1-1: usb_disable_device nuking all URBs
[61370.412841] usb 1-1: unregistering interface 1-1:1.0
[61370.413635] usb 1-1:1.0: uevent
[61370.414154] usb 1-1: uevent
[61370.564392] hub 1-0:1.0: debounce: port 1: total 100ms stable 100ms status 0x101
[61370.689392] usb 1-1: new full speed USB device using musb_hdrc and address 49
[61370.838256] usb 1-1: default language 0x0409
[61370.838958] usb 1-1: uevent
[61370.839080] usb 1-1: usb_probe_device
[61370.839080] usb 1-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
[61370.840393] usb 1-1: adding 1-1:1.0 (config #1, interface 0)
[61370.840576] usb 1-1:1.0: uevent
[61370.841400] /home/builder2/maemo-fremantle-armel-extras-devel/work/kernel-power-2.6.28/drivers/usb/core/inode.c: creating file '049'
[61370.841705] usb 1-1: New USB device found, idVendor=067b, idProduct=2303
[61370.841735] usb 1-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
[61370.841766] usb 1-1: Product: USB-Serial Controller
[61370.841766] usb 1-1: Manufacturer: Prolific Technology Inc.
[61370.841796] hub 1-0:1.0: state 7 ports 1 chg 0000 evt 0002
[61370.841827] hub 1-0:1.0: port 1 enable change, status 00000103
 
Reply

Tags
awesome!, bada rox, h-e-n hostmode, more noise

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:11.