Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 32 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Zürich
#131
What if after 35 times restarting map loader still the Waiting for phone message appears?
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Lagos, Nigeria.
#132
@bunanson.
Thanks for all your updates man. really helpful.
though am having issues with mine.
I have windows 7 ultimate running and i have an updated Maemo running on my N900 as well as an updated "OVI SUITE".
I went to the maps tab, clicked on Africa, then NIGERIA and download (20MB) after it completes successfully, i go to my N900 > menu > location and navigation > maps. but it still asks me for internet connection. Am i doing something wrong? Am about following the instructions here and was wondering if am missing something...

Last edited by bravomike67; 2011-03-17 at 15:10. Reason: Addition
 
Posts: 4,027 | Thanked: 1,615 times | Joined on Jul 2007 @ nd usa
#133
I remember it used to be a big issue and it became manageble after PR1.3. Today, it still asked to be connected, but only once, it then proceed without any problem. Sorry, not much of a help as it does NOT really bother me. Anybody?

bun
 
Posts: 28 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#134
You can try disabling the network positioning in the Settings>Location menu.

I'm not sure if OVI Maps will try and use data in other ways, but the GPS initial connection will always use data to download position data unless you disable that feature.

Beware though, your GPS lock times will increase drastically by disabling the assisted GPS functionality.

So that's one place you can try.
 
Posts: 135 | Thanked: 92 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#135
pretty sure the internet connection is just required for agps and search. you can veiw maps and get a gps lock fine without an internet connection, you just can't search or route.
 
Posts: 1 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jun 2011
#136
hi i'm new here. been using n900 since a year ago unfortunately i couldn't open ovi maps even once. i've successfully load the map using the nokia map loader but the application keeps loading and loading in the splash screen when i tried to open it. help pls
 
Posts: 182 | Thanked: 67 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#137
BTW: http://www.hpsblog.com/2009/07/direc...0-without.html is dead, use this one instead: http://nokiamaps.site666.info

(Use the older maps for 3.0 that the site says work with 3.04 - it is the smaller link, so read the page carefully.)
 
Posts: 440 | Thanked: 160 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Las Vegas, NV
#138
Originally Posted by sup View Post
BTW: http://www.hpsblog.com/2009/07/direc...0-without.html is dead, use this one instead: http://nokiamaps.site666.info

(Use the older maps for 3.0 that the site says work with 3.04 - it is the smaller link, so read the page carefully.)
Download links are dead. Any new links?

No need for new link. Already downloaded using nokia map loader.

Doesn't seems like map loader includes the satellite view.

Last edited by Joseph9560; 2012-03-09 at 04:47.
 
Posts: 23 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#139
Originally Posted by Joseph9560 View Post
Download links are dead. Any new links?

No need for new link. Already downloaded using nokia map loader.

Doesn't seems like map loader includes the satellite view.
It's worth noting that if you mix versions of map data, then it may cause the maps program to crash when trying to start. I used the links from http://nokiamaps.site666.info with my very old previously-downloaded maps and it caused this problem.

When I got maploader working, it updated the version of my maps data to 1.28.107, and used map data from http://static.maploader.maps.svc.ovi.com instead of static.s2g.gate5.de.

If you have a cities/MapLoader directory, check the content.xml file for the entry <directory map-version="0.1.xx.xxx"> for the version of your current maps.

In case it helps anyone else, you can use the attached script to download maps for a couple of different map data versions (originally from http://www.blog.d-11.de/2011/03/22/n...ng-map-loader/). It includes all maps (7G worth) at the moment, but you can use the links inside to get single maps if you need.

Hope it helps someone!
Attached Files
File Type: gz download_ovi-maps.sh.tar.gz (3.6 KB, 352 views)
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to karatestarfish For This Useful Post:
Posts: 20 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Jan 2012
#140
Some concerns:
a) I am unable to find the version of Ovi Maps application running on the N900 (in the about section)

b) The geographical map files as per http://symbian.clanteam.com/indexmaps.htm, on July 2012, is of version "00.02.42.122", while the script, fetches version "00.01.28.107" (believe it is older)

By going for 00.01.28.107, would I lose any recent updates to the maps ?
In other words, are the incrementing numbers just updates or additions of new streets & POIs in the maps , or, has it got to do with compatibility with newer map rendering software in non Maemo platforms ?
 
Reply

Tags
gps, landmark, maploader, ovi maps, poi

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:43.