Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 34 | Thanked: 22 times | Joined on Oct 2011 @ Riga, Latvia
#1
The Harmattan dev docs have a section on setting up internet connection over USB. Despite an error in the docs I kind-of got it working. "Kind-of" because although it works from terminal, web browser and the like still think I'm offline.

I found N900 usbnet wiki page which says that I have to install libicd-network-dummy. Is there anything similar for N9? It would be cool to have an app/plugin which would show USB in network connections, and perform the necessary setup when connected. Also I miss an option to use DHCP for usb0 (I mean with N9 as the client instead of server).

PS. The error in dev docs - instead of
Code:
devel-sh -c 'route add defalt gw 192.168.2.14'
one should use
Code:
develsh -c '/sbin/route add default gw 192.168.2.14'
It seems that /sbin is not in the $PATH (at least not for me, neither for user nor root) and develsh is necessary to do some Aegis massage.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sunc For This Useful Post:
Posts: 4 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Oct 2008
#2
Originally Posted by sunc View Post
Also I miss an option to use DHCP for usb0 (I mean with N9 as the client instead of server).
You can do this by
Code:
develsh
/sbin/udhcpc -i usb0
 

The Following User Says Thank You to harbind For This Useful Post:
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on May 2012
#3
Configured internet via usb, it works, ok.
Now I am wondering how to cheat N9 not to check for internet connection. I mean 3rd party software (Firefox, meecast) or system software (apt-get, ping, etc) work perfect but Nokia's browser, skype, ovistore do not.

Found this:
http://maemo.gitorious.org/icd2-netw.../master/README
Installed the module, can see it in the network list BUT when I try to connect manually, it says that it failed.

So does anyone have any ideas how to make N9 think that it is online when internet-via-usb is activated?

Last edited by aik; 05-03-2012 at 03:24 AM.
 
Posts: 77 | Thanked: 42 times | Joined on Oct 2011 @ Sofia, Bulgaria
#4
About the module on gitorious: Are you sure Aegis isn't blocking it?
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on May 2012
#5
Originally Posted by YavkatA View Post
About the module on gitorious: Are you sure Aegis isn't blocking it?
Hm. It blocked installation so I used dpkg.real to install it and checked that the lib appears in /usb/lib/icd (or whatever it is). Can it block the module in icd2 service?
 
Posts: 1,004 | Thanked: 2,117 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Finland
#6
if you use libicd-network-dummy you can make a working fake IAP for your usbnet. That lib-network-usb fails by some reason.

I just tested and created dummy iap and seems to work nicely.
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on May 2012
#7
Originally Posted by rainisto View Post
if you use libicd-network-dummy you can make a working fake IAP for your usbnet. That lib-network-usb fails by some reason.
I just tested and created dummy iap and seems to work nicely.
My colleague found another solution - simply make an empty adhoc network, once enabled, it does what dummy/usb are supposed to do - shuts the icd up :-)
 
Posts: 14 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on May 2012
#8
Originally Posted by aik View Post
My colleague found another solution - simply make an empty adhoc network, once enabled, it does what dummy/usb are supposed to do - shuts the icd up :-)
is there any step by step tutorial? is the gitorius still needed to installed?

thanks.


(sorry for my bad english)
 
kollin's Avatar
Posts: 191 | Thanked: 197 times | Joined on Jun 2012 @ Sofia, Bulgaria
#9
Originally Posted by loky View Post
is there any step by step tutorial? is the gitorius still needed to installed?

thanks.


(sorry for my bad english)
You don't need nothing from gitorius.
Follow up this guide: http://harmattan-dev.nokia.com/docs/...onnection.html

But instead:

Code:
devel-sh -c 'route add defalt gw 192.168.2.14'
type:

Code:
develsh -c '/sbin/route add default gw 192.168.2.14'
How to make an empty adhoc network on n9:

Tap "Settings"
Tap "Internet connection"
Tap "Crate new connection"
name that connection "USB"
Tap "Network mode" and select "Ad hoc"
Tap "Save"
You are done!
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to kollin For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.