Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 608 | Thanked: 194 times | Joined on May 2011
#11
my understanding is that n900 runs mplayer (command prompt) + sib(gui)

as for n9, where is the sib(gui)?
 
ZogG's Avatar
Posts: 1,172 | Thanked: 1,011 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Israel
#12
There should be ~/.mplayer/mplayer.conf where you can turn off screensaver and add default video output (vo)
As well it can be added by default
 
Posts: 92 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Jun 2011 @ Sacramento, CA USA
#13
Originally Posted by youmeego View Post
my understanding is that n900 runs mplayer (command prompt) + sib(gui)

as for n9, where is the sib(gui)?
kmplayer is your GIU
 
ArnimS's Avatar
Posts: 1,107 | Thanked: 717 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Germany
#14
as per my incessant nagging, mplayer now supports synchronized playback between devices - you can sync playback of music and video between n900 and pc for example.

note this is just syncrhonizing the playback of files accessible to both devices; it is not streaming audio.

if we could get a new mplayer build uploaded we could do this!
---------------------------

Multiple instances of MPlayer can synchronize playback over a network. This is useful for creating "video walls" with multiple screens controlled by different computers. Each MPlayer instance can play a different video, but they all will try to stay at the same time offset in the file. It is recommended but not necessary to encode the video files using the same codec and parameters.

The relevant options are -udp-master, -udp-slave, -udp-ip, -udp-port, and -udp-seek-threshold.

If -udp-master is given, MPlayer sends a datagram to -udp-ip (default: 127.0.0.1) on -udp-port (default: 23867) just before playing each frame. The datagram indicates the master's position in the file. If -udp-slave is given, MPlayer listens on -udp-ip/-udp-port and matches the master's position. Setting -udp-ip to the master's broadcast address allows multiple slaves having the same broadcast address to sync to the master. Note that this feature assumes an ethernet-like low-latency network connection. Your mileage may vary on high latency networks.

For example, assume 8 computers are on a network, with IP addresses 192.168.0.1 through 192.168.0.8. Assume the first computer is to be the master. Running ifconfig on all the machines lists "Bcast:192.168.0.255". On the master, run:

Code:
mplayer -udp-master -udp-ip 192.168.0.255 video1.mpg
On each slave, run:

Code:
mplayer -udp-slave videoN.mpg
Seeking, pausing and even playback speed adjustment (see the -input option) can be done on the master, and all the slaves will follow. When the master exits, it sends out a "bye" message which causes the slaves to exit as well.
__________________
find . -name \*.mp3 -exec mplayer -quiet -shuffle "{}" +
das ist your media player, and yuu vill like it
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ArnimS For This Useful Post:
Posts: 142 | Thanked: 201 times | Joined on Apr 2008
#15
For those still using mplayer from the kmplayer garage site, you may want to update to mplayer_1.0svn20120427-1 to get the latest mplayer/ffmpeg improvements.
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to koos For This Useful Post:
ibrakalifa's Avatar
Posts: 1,411 | Thanked: 786 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ Harmattan
#16
wow thx, how to play video from cmd line?
__________________
~$
~#
 
Posts: 219 | Thanked: 283 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Helsinki, Suomi (Finland)
#17
Originally Posted by koos View Post
For those still using mplayer from the kmplayer garage site, you may want to update to mplayer_1.0svn20120427-1 to get the latest mplayer/ffmpeg improvements.
Thanks for info, grabbed it right away.

MPlayer is one of my all time favorite software, but the screen blanking prevents me from utilizing it fully. (and the KMPlayer doesn't offer wide range of playback options). Is there any known way to get rid of the screen blanking?

Originally Posted by ibrakalifa
wow thx, how to play video from cmd line?
The most simple is:
$ mplayer <path to file>

But there's lots and lots optional flags to adjust playback from drawing the video with ASCII charachters to flipping around the image, selecting subtitles and whatever.

Few basic ones you see by typing mplayer --help The rest you can read from the manpages: http://www.mplayerhq.hu/DOCS/man/en/mplayer.1.html
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ladoga For This Useful Post:
Posts: 142 | Thanked: 201 times | Joined on Apr 2008
#18
Originally Posted by ladoga View Post
MPlayer is one of my all time favorite software, but the screen blanking prevents me from utilizing it fully. (and the KMPlayer doesn't offer wide range of playback options). Is there any known way to get rid of the screen blanking?
Maybe a python guru may help you. In C the function to call is MeeGo::QmDisplayState::setBlankingPause(). A simple script that you start in the background might do the job.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to koos For This Useful Post:
ibrakalifa's Avatar
Posts: 1,411 | Thanked: 786 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ Harmattan
#19
latest kmplayer and mplayer dont have sound, weird, uninstall it already
__________________
~$
~#
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ibrakalifa For This Useful Post:
Posts: 219 | Thanked: 283 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Helsinki, Suomi (Finland)
#20
Originally Posted by koos View Post
Maybe a python guru may help you. In C the function to call is MeeGo::QmDisplayState::setBlankingPause(). A simple script that you start in the background might do the job.
Thanks, though I already figured another way.
In case anyone else needs to disable or adjust screen blanking here it goes.

First to list available gconf options for the screen:
Code:
$ gconftool-2 -a /system/osso/dsm/display

 possible_display_dim_timeouts = [15,30,60,120,300]
 color_profile = Neutral
 use_low_power_mode = true
 display_blank_timeout = 5
 possible_display_blank_timeouts = [3,10,15]
 display_brightness = 3
 adaptive_display_dim_threshold = 3000
 display_brightness_level_step = 1
 display_dim_timeout = 30
 max_display_brightness_levels = 5
 inhibit_blank_mode = 0
 als_enabled = true
 use_adaptive_display_dimming = true
As you see there's quite many display related options you can tune from gconf.

For example we can add a new possible dim timeout of 10800sec (3 hours) to N9's display settings menu:
Code:
$ gconftool-2 --type list --list-type int --set /system/osso/dsm/display/possible_display_dim_timeouts [15,30,60,120,300,10800]
Done. That's it. Now you can go to N9's settings menu (Settings->Device->Display) and select the 180 minute timeout whenever you need it.

If you want to disable blank mode completely, try changing the respective value in gconf to 1:
Code:
$ gconftool-2 --type int --set /system/osso/dsm/display/inhibit_blank_mode 1
To enable screen blanking again, just return the value to 0:
Code:
$ gconftool-2 --type int --set /system/osso/dsm/display/inhibit_blank_mode 0
As usual at *nix CLI, you can get additinal info about the command by the --help flag:
Code:
gconftool-2 --help
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ladoga For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:51 AM.