Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 30 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Sweden
#21
I just want to play my old N8 videos. Mplayer plays it, but in slowmotion. Wtf. Before 1.2 update the n9 actually played my n8 videos with some small stuttering here and there...but now it alerts me that file cannot play.

Must be som way to make n8 videos play again.....
 
Posts: 981 | Thanked: 2,049 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Finland
#22
Originally Posted by rastamanne View Post
Must be som way to make n8 videos play again.....
There is a way and it is: by re-encoding them.
 
Posts: 30 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Sweden
#23
reencode belongs to the ninetees......no way I will reencode all my 600+ n8 vids....the n9 played them before pr 1.2!!
 
Posts: 981 | Thanked: 2,049 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Finland
#24
Originally Posted by rastamanne View Post
reencode belongs to the ninetees......no way I will reencode all my 600+ n8 vids....the n9 played them before pr 1.2!!
Life is tough sometimes, pr1.1 just ignored the dropped frames, pr1.2 will stop playing as it notices that it cannot play without frame drops. Its a improvement feature of the media player, which cannot be downgraded (well yes with inception exploit you can install pr1.1 media player, but that cannot be done without exploits). If you don't want to re-encode, then you will not be able to play it on N9, live with it.

Last edited by rainisto; 05-07-2012 at 03:05 PM.
 
Posts: 30 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Sweden
#25
Originally Posted by rainisto View Post
Life is tough sometimes, pr1.1 just ignored the dropped frames, pr1.2 will stop playing as it notices that it cannot play without frame drops. Its a improvement feature of the media player, which cannot be downgraded (well yes with inception exploit you can install pr1.1 media player, but that cannot be done without exploits). If you don't want to re-encode, then you will not be able to play it on N9, live with it.
life sucks sometimes.....but how can it be an "improvement" to stop playing because of some dropped frames?
 
Posts: 981 | Thanked: 2,049 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Finland
#26
Originally Posted by rastamanne View Post
life sucks sometimes.....but how can it be an "improvement" to stop playing because of some dropped frames?
You get smooth video experience with properly encoded videos, vs crappy one with skipped frames.

But please don't hijack this thread, this topic is extra video codecs. There is another thread dedicated to N8 whiners: http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=79146 (Video playback epic fail: My N8 plays 1080p My N9 couldn't even play 720p), please continue in there.
 
b-rockSA's Avatar
Posts: 50 | Thanked: 16 times | Joined on Mar 2012
#27
My phone does not seem to be able to play .flv files. which is weird because initially it did.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to b-rockSA For This Useful Post:
Posts: 45 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Apr 2012
#28
Originally Posted by rainisto View Post
with inception exploit you can install pr1.1 media player, but that cannot be done without exploits
Wait, really? How do you do that? I have Inception and would love this.
 
Posts: 4,944 | Thanked: 3,840 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#29
Originally Posted by rainisto View Post
Can you mention what codecs are missing from stock player?

I only see this thread to be yet another thread among the dozens more complaining that the hardware is not able to play N8 high profile videos (as N9 chose different hardware which is not able to use DSP for anything else that base profile videos.).

So answer is that most likely there will never be any extra codecs to stock player, since nobody has ever said that codecs are missing from the player.

Afaik all 480p base profile and lower resolution videos are playing quite fine on the device. And if your dreaming of playing 1080p & 720p & 480p mid/ high profile videos downloaded from your favourite torrent site, then you are eating some mushrooms that you shouldn't. As that is as likely as that you would be able to run Symbian applications in Android.
There's a co. that has a specialised CODEC for the SoC the N9 uses.
I can't recall their name & the URL OTTOMH....
They claim it will enable 720p, think it was only base profile.
I mentioned them in the appropriate report in the bug-tracker ages ago.
But so far none of the Nokia devs have responded.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 AM.