Reply
Thread Tools
YoDude's Avatar
Posts: 2,869 | Thanked: 1,780 times | Joined on Jan 2007 @ Po' Bo'. PA
#11
While using the iPhone "user agent" on my tablet I noticed that some (non XHML) sites were viewed through Google proxies. That is, Google servers crunched web sites down to fit the iPhone.
This helps iPhone web usability a lot. iPhone users can now view most web pages with Googles help...

The same can't be said for Symbian or WinMo browsers.
 
Posts: 1,950 | Thanked: 1,164 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Seattle, USA
#12
OK, this could be an embarrassing question if there's something simple I haven't discovered (though I *have* looked).

IS THERE A WAY TO MAKE *THIS* FORUM (ITT) EASIER TO VIEW ON A TABLET???
 
GeneralAntilles's Avatar
Posts: 5,478 | Thanked: 5,209 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ St. Petersburg, FL
#13
Originally Posted by GeraldKo View Post
IS THERE A WAY TO MAKE *THIS* FORUM (ITT) EASIER TO VIEW ON A TABLET???
Scroll all the way down. Now, see the little dropdown on the left half of the page? Click it. There yah go. Now move your mouse over the one that says "Classic" and click again. Veeeeeery good.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GeneralAntilles For This Useful Post:
dubiousmike's Avatar
Posts: 120 | Thanked: 16 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ NYC
#14
Originally Posted by GeneralAntilles View Post
Scroll all the way down. Now, see the little dropdown on the left half of the page? Click it. There yah go. Now move your mouse over the one that says "Classic" and click again. Veeeeeery good.
So the "n810 v2" option isn't really meant for the n810? I do notice that with it set to that, the search popup layer is nearly useless....
 
GeneralAntilles's Avatar
Posts: 5,478 | Thanked: 5,209 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ St. Petersburg, FL
#15
Originally Posted by dubiousmike View Post
So the "n810 v2" option isn't really meant for the n810? I do notice that with it set to that, the search popup layer is nearly useless....
It's referring to the inspiration for the style, not the intended target platform.
 
Posts: 250 | Thanked: 300 times | Joined on Sep 2007
#16
Originally Posted by Benson View Post

Bookmark
Code:
about:config?prefname=general.useragent.override&prefvalue=Mozilla%2F5.0+%28N8x0+like+iPhone%3B+U%3B+Linux+like+Mac+OS+X%3B+ARM%3B+en%29+AppleWebKit%2F420%2B+%28Gecko%2C+like+KHTML%29
to set your UA string to it, and
Code:
about:cofig?prefname=general.useragent.override&prefvalue=
to set it back to default.
There is a typo. The above post should read...

Bookmark
Code:
about:config?prefname=general.useragent.override&prefvalue=Mozilla%2F5.0+%28N8x0+like+iPhone%3B+U%3B+Linux+like+Mac+OS+X%3B+ARM%3B+en%29+AppleWebKit%2F420%2B+%28Gecko%2C+like+KHTML%29
to set your UA string to it, and
Code:
about:config?prefname=general.useragent.override&prefvalue=
to set it back to default.
__________________
 

The Following User Says Thank You to dkwatts For This Useful Post:
wazd's Avatar
Posts: 514 | Thanked: 789 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Moscow, Russia
#17
iPhone shows a good 4 years ol' slow EDGE internet without hotspots =)
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:05 AM.