Active Topics

 



Notices


Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Scorpius's Avatar
Posts: 1,396 | Thanked: 2,796 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ Caracas, Venezuela
#5141
Originally Posted by Tech-Kid View Post
Hey Scorpius we really appreciate all the work you've put into this. I know trying to fix things must be really tedious work.

Just out of curiosity is there any reason why the app can't be named "Whatsapp" as per the usual name? Legal reasons?
It is not WhatsApp. It uses the WhatsApp network, but it is not WhatsApp is totally different.

And yes I would get sued if I name it like that anyway.
__________________
Support Yappari (a Whatsapp client for the N900 only) - Donate
 
Posts: 57 | Thanked: 96 times | Joined on Jul 2012
#5142
Hi scorpius. I'm also really appreciate all the work on Yappari.
One of the reason for me to keep N900 as my main phone.

I made some modification in yappari's GUI.
1. add timeout in settings option, because 3G and 3.5G connection from my operator is not stable. I prefer use 2.5G for yappari, but in latest version from yappari, the connection always time out with default value. So I add time out setting.

2. I also change select contact when create chat button was clicked as window, so it did not automatically closed when viewing a contact info.

Last edited by Zero Six; 2014-08-13 at 16:34.
 
Scorpius's Avatar
Posts: 1,396 | Thanked: 2,796 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ Caracas, Venezuela
#5143
Originally Posted by Zero Six View Post
Hi scorpius. I'm also really appreciate all the work on Yappari.
One of the reason for me to keep N900 as my main phone.

I made some modification in yappari's GUI.
1. add timeout in settings option, because 3G and 3.5G connection from my operator is not stable. I prefer use 2.5G for yappari, but in latest version from yappari, the connection always time out with default value. So I add time out setting.
2. I also change select contact when create chat button was clicked as window, so it did not automatically closed when viewing a contact info.
http://s7.postimg.org/tmk58374r/screenshot01.png
Interesting. The "View" button looks really helpful (for stalkers! :P ).

The read timeout value changes what value exactly in the code?
__________________
Support Yappari (a Whatsapp client for the N900 only) - Donate
 
Posts: 57 | Thanked: 96 times | Joined on Jul 2012
#5144
Originally Posted by Scorpius View Post
Interesting. The "View" button looks really helpful (for stalkers! :P ).

The read timeout value changes what value exactly in the code?
In Whatsapp/bintreenodereader.cpp, there is a defined READ_TIMEOUT 1000.
When I change that value to higher number, timeout didn't happen.
So I add read timeout setting.
 
Scorpius's Avatar
Posts: 1,396 | Thanked: 2,796 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ Caracas, Venezuela
#5145
Originally Posted by Zero Six View Post
In Whatsapp/bintreenodereader.cpp, there is a defined READ_TIMEOUT 1000.
When I change that value to higher number, timeout didn't happen.
So I add read timeout setting.
That's the time in milliseconds when Yappari will try another read from the network socket.

If you change it to a higher value, the GUI should freeze more often in bad connections. If you change it to a lower value, the GUI should response better, but your battery will last a lot less.

It doesn't really has anything to do with the socket timeout, which is 300 seconds (5 minutes).

If you read the code you'll see that no matter what value you set there, it's inside a while loop so it will still try to read until it reads what it needs to read, or until the socket times out and throws an exception.
__________________
Support Yappari (a Whatsapp client for the N900 only) - Donate
 
coderus's Avatar
Posts: 6,436 | Thanked: 12,700 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Ängelholm, Sweden
#5146
this is my implementation of reading btw: https://github.com/CODeRUS/mitakuulu...eader.cpp#L214
__________________
Telegram | Openrepos | GitHub | Revolut donations
 
panjgoori's Avatar
Posts: 1,237 | Thanked: 1,278 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ Balochistan
#5147
voted for your app. and thanks for your all hard work.
 
Scorpius's Avatar
Posts: 1,396 | Thanked: 2,796 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ Caracas, Venezuela
#5148
Originally Posted by coderus View Post
this is my implementation of reading btw: https://github.com/CODeRUS/mitakuulu...eader.cpp#L214
That would only work if the GUI thread and the socket read thread are different. Not the case in Yappari.

At first I thought implementing Yappari as single-threaded (like it is right now) will save a lot of battery. So it's event-based.

Now I'm not sure. Maybe the user experience would be better with just two threads and a dbus communication between the two. Now it's too late to fix it
__________________
Support Yappari (a Whatsapp client for the N900 only) - Donate
 
coderus's Avatar
Posts: 6,436 | Thanked: 12,700 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Ängelholm, Sweden
#5149
not too late, just reimplement all public functions to slots and connect all the magic: https://github.com/CODeRUS/mitakuulu...lient.cpp#L911
__________________
Telegram | Openrepos | GitHub | Revolut donations
 
Posts: 57 | Thanked: 96 times | Joined on Jul 2012
#5150
Originally Posted by Scorpius View Post
That's the time in milliseconds when Yappari will try another read from the network socket.

If you change it to a higher value, the GUI should freeze more often in bad connections. If you change it to a lower value, the GUI should response better, but your battery will last a lot less.

It doesn't really has anything to do with the socket timeout, which is 300 seconds (5 minutes).

If you read the code you'll see that no matter what value you set there, it's inside a while loop so it will still try to read until it reads what it needs to read, or until the socket times out and throws an exception.
Yes it is. I feel the freeze sometime just like in version 1.1.46.
But I think I can live with that.
Because if it is set to 1000, I can't connect at all when on 2.5G.
It says connecting, then connected, and then timeout.
It's keep on looping like that without really connected.

So far, 3000 will make yappari connected normally without time out.
I'm still unsure because I haven't really read all the code and how it worked, but really thank you for your explanation.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Zero Six For This Useful Post:
Closed Thread

Tags
alpha, awesomeness, best_client, let_it_die, mumbai_dumbai, read_first_post, whatsapp


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:31.