Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 87 | Thanked: 26 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#11
I have openvpn just working fine over 3g.
Here is terminal output after and before I connected to openvpn via openvpn applet.

~ $ sudo gainroot
Root shell enabled


BusyBox v1.10.2 (Debian 3:1.10.2.legal-1osso26+0m5) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

/home/user # route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
default * 0.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 gprs0
/home/user # route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
10.200.0.1 10.200.0.213 255.255.255.255 UGH 0 0 0 tun0
10.200.0.213 * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 tun0
10.4.5.0 10.200.0.213 255.255.255.0 UG 0 0 0 tun0
10.5.4.0 10.200.0.213 255.255.255.0 UG 0 0 0 tun0
10.1.0.0 10.200.0.213 255.255.0.0 UG 0 0 0 tun0
default * 0.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 gprs0
/home/user # ping 10.1.1.30
PING 10.1.1.30 (10.1.1.30): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 10.1.1.30: seq=0 ttl=127 time=247.529 ms
64 bytes from 10.1.1.30: seq=1 ttl=127 time=247.833 ms
^C
--- 10.1.1.30 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 247.529/247.681/247.833 ms
/home/user #

Last edited by nux; 2009-12-26 at 12:07. Reason: Removed public IP-s
 
Posts: 1,208 | Thanked: 1,028 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#12
Originally Posted by nux View Post
I have openvpn just working fine over 3g.
Here is terminal output after and before I connected to openvpn via openvpn applet.
What kind of configuration are you using? It's not plain "redirect-gateway def1", or is it?
 
Posts: 87 | Thanked: 26 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#13
Originally Posted by mikkov View Post
What kind of configuration are you using? It's not plain "redirect-gateway def1", or is it?
As I only use openvpn to access computers at work, then I don't use push "redirect-gateway" option.
Otherwise it is just a standard conf.
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#14
I'm trying to do the same here. It works pretty well, the only missing part is the name resolution.

I have the following config on server and clients.
Code:
cipher AES-256-CBC
client
dev tun
proto udp
remote xx.yy.zz 1194
ping 10
resolv-retry infinite
nobind
persist-key
persist-tun
ca /etc/openvpn/ca.crt
cert /etc/openvpn/n900.crt
key /etc/openvpn/n900.key
ns-cert-type server
comp-lzo
pull
verb 3
# route all traffic through vpn
push "redirect-gateway def1"
push "dhcp-option DNS 192.168.0.254"
192.168.0.254 is the internal address of my router.
When I connect to the VPN I cannot resolve "ping getip.dyndns.org" but when I use its direct IP address (93.232.228.219) on MicroB it works and shows the public internet address on the server side (which is I what I want) so apparently all the traffic is routed through the tunnel (will have to wireshark to verify).

On my ArchLinux desktop I just have to add the following to my /etc/resolv.conf to make it work:
Code:
nameserver 192.168.0.254
However on Maemo/N900 I'm lost on whether I should modify this empty file or another one.

Any recommendations for adding this nameserver?

Thanks
Alphazo

[EDIT] I added the nameserver line to /etc/resolv.conf but that doesn't help to make names to resolve.

[EDIT2] I got it working by adding the new nameserver line to /var/run/resolv.cong.wlan0. It is not the most elegant way to do it as I would probably have to do it again when switching over to GPRS and my assumption is that is not going to be permanent (need a script to automate it).

Last edited by alphazo; 2010-02-04 at 13:06.
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#15
Now 100% working on both wifi and gprs with full internet through tunnel and name resolution. See more here:

http://forums.internettablettalk.com...753#post519753
 
Posts: 55 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Berkeley, CA
#16
I have very little understanding of this stuff. Security is not my concern but just wanted to use OpevVPN to hide my IP when connected with t-mobile 3G by tunneling through my own network at home. ToR is way too slow (to Germany and back) and does not let me use DialCentral for Google voice. (httpS://www.google.com/voice/m not accessible)

So, I bought a newly released Cisco RV 120W to set up VPN on my home network and use OpenVPN or OpenSSH. Cisco documentation says it can work with OpenVPN but I have no clue on how to set up the whole thing, generating a self-signed certificate, get config. files, etc. I spent hours with Cisco tech support to no avail.

Am I in over my head? Should I just forget about the whole thing? Can anybody help?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:34.