Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on May 2010
#1
hi
every time i want to download and install app from repos some of them need some packages.
i don't know how i can install the missing packages.
is there any way to install all of the missing packages?
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#2
Which app, what repositories do you have enabled, and what packages are reported as missing?

If you have extras-devel enabled, then some of the packages/libraries require PR1.2, so will give errors about missing packages.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on May 2010
#3
advancedcachin : name of app
extra devel.
missing :
python-notify
python-numeric (>=24.2-3)
python-cairo (>=1.0.2-1.1)
python2.5-numeric
python2.5-cairo

it was a app that i have problem with.

and i have enabled maemo extras and maemo extra-devel and other defult repos

so you say that i can not install this app?

Last edited by sada; 2010-05-11 at 13:15.
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#4
Originally Posted by sada View Post
advancedcachin : name of app
extra devel.
missing :
python-notify
python-numeric (>=24.2-3)
python-cairo (>=1.0.2-1.1)
python2.5-numeric
python2.5-cairo

it was a app that i have problem with.

and i have enabled maemo extras and maemo extra-devel and other defult repos

so you say that i can not install this app?
There shouldn't be any problem with that app - all those python packages are available in extras (and there's no newer versions in extras-devel), so all should install okay. You can try installing them manually - make sure you have rootsh installed, then launch X Terminal and run:
Code:
root
apt-get install python-notify python-numeric python-cairo
apt-get clean
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on May 2010
#5
i did it but it didn't solve the problem,and in terminal i think it doesn't install those pack because some other missing pack like : python-gtk2 and python-hildon and some other
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#6
Originally Posted by sada View Post
i did it but it didn't solve the problem,and in terminal i think it doesn't install those pack because some other missing pack like : python-gtk2 and python-hildon and some other
Ah - one of those must have a PR1.2 dependent version in extras-devel. Try disabling extras-devel temporarily, closing App Manager and rerunning the apt-get command in X Terminal. That should then succeed in installing the packages, after which you can re-enable extras-devel and install advancedcaching through App Manager.
 
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on May 2010
#7
i did.but the same problem in the terminal with some other dependency .is there any way to remove old packages and install packages that i need now?

this is the response of terminal:
Code:
apt-get install python-notify python-numeric python-cairo
enter
reading package lists ...done
building dependency tree
reading state information....done
you might want to run 'apt-get -f install' to correct these"
the following packages have unmet dependencies:
qstardic : depend: libc6 (>=2.7-1) but 2.5.1-leglibc20+0m5 is to be installed
                depends: libgcc1 (>=1:4.3) but 1:4.2.1-4maemo9+0m5 is to be installed
                 depends: libqtqore4 (>=4.4.0) but it is not instable
                depends : libstdc++6 (>= 4.3) but 4.2.1-4maemo9+0m5 is to be installed

Last edited by sada; 2010-05-11 at 17:12.
 
HellFlyer's Avatar
Posts: 1,148 | Thanked: 613 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Toronto
#8
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
There shouldn't be any problem with that app - all those python packages are available in extras (and there's no newer versions in extras-devel), so all should install okay. You can try installing them manually - make sure you have rootsh installed, then launch X Terminal and run:
Code:
root
apt-get install python-notify python-numeric python-cairo
apt-get clean
will these packages take space on root?
__________________
The quieter you become the more you are able to hear


"I'm a N900 user, can I haz Flash 10 plz?!11!?" © Jaffa


Elopocalypse started on 11.02.2011
 
Posts: 5,795 | Thanked: 3,151 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Agoura Hills Calif
#9
If you wonder whether some package takes up space on root, rather than asking, try the following:

Find out how much rootfs you have.
Install the package.
Find out how much rootfs you have.

Subtract the second number from the first.
That will tell you exactly how much rootfs installing the package cost.
 
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on May 2010
#10
any other help?
why there is always some missing packages?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:38.