Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 422 | Thanked: 244 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#11
Originally Posted by itsANDREW View Post
as far as this script goes... you might have to explain more to me please. i have no experience whatsoever with linux, etc.
It may not be all that useful for you then. The majority of the script just deals with the file names and looping. The main thrust of the script is in the ffmpeg line:

Code:
ffmpeg -i "$infile" -r pal -s 800x448 -vcodec mpeg4 -qmin 3 -qmax 5 -crf 22 -acodec libfaac -ab 128k -ac 2 -f mp4 "$mp4file"
-i is the input file
-r is the frame rate (using PAL default framerate)
-s is the size. For 16:9 content, this seems to be the best option from the wiki, as it keeps all the horizontal information and puts small borders at the top and bottom (16/9 = 800/448 approx)
-vcodec is the video codec to use - I use mpeg4
-qmin = minimum quantiser
-qmax = max quantiser
-crf = constant rate factor

These three settings influence the quality and bitrate in ways I do not fully get. crf may not even be applicable to mpeg4

-acodec is the audio codec, I am using the libfaac codec for aac audio

-ab audio bitrate
-ac audio channels (2=stereo)

-f container format - here I use mp4

"$mp4file" - the last parameter to ffmpeg is the output file.

Video transcoding is a complex topic and I don't even approximate an expert.

Last edited by paulkoan; 2010-07-23 at 02:33.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to paulkoan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 75 | Thanked: 35 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ United States
#12
Originally Posted by paulkoan View Post
It may not be all that useful for you then. The majority of the script just deals with the file names and looping. The main thrust of the script is in the ffmpeg line:

Code:
ffmpeg -i "$infile" -r pal -s 800x448 -vcodec mpeg4 -qmin 3 -qmax 5 -crf 22 -acodec libfaac -ab 128k -ac 2 -f mp4 "$mp4file"
-i is the input file
-r is the frame rate (using PAL default framerate)
-s is the size. For 16:9 content, this seems to be the best option from the wiki, as it keeps all the horizontal information and puts small borders at the top and bottom (16/9 = 800/448 approx)
-vcodec is the video codec to use - I use mpeg4
-qmin = minimum quantiser
-qmax = max quantiser
-crf = constant rate factor

These three settings influence the quality and bitrate in ways I do not fully get. crf may not even be applicable to mpeg4

-acodec is the audio codec, I am using the libfaac codec for ac3 audio

-ab audio bitrate
-ac audio channels (2=stereo)

-f container format - here I use mp4

"$mp4file" - the last parameter to ffmpeg is the output file.

Video transcoding is a complex topic and I don't even approximate an expert.
thanks for taking the time out to explain everything. but for the first explanation that you gave me, regarding the avidemux...

i left it on copy and tried copying it over in avi format, but it still says its not available. i'm trying mp3 now for audio and seeing if that works better. any recommendations on which formats i should use?
 
Posts: 75 | Thanked: 35 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ United States
#13
it keeps saying audio codec not supported, and no matter what, i can't see a thumbnail for it..
 
Posts: 422 | Thanked: 244 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#14
Originally Posted by itsANDREW View Post
it keeps saying audio codec not supported, and no matter what, i can't see a thumbnail for it..
It seems like the codec for audio in the source file is the one it has problems with.

If you look in File / Information, what are the codec details? You could post the whole thing here.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to paulkoan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 75 | Thanked: 35 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ United States
#15
Video
Codec 4CC: AVC1
Image Size: 1280 x720
Aspect Ratio: 1:1 (1:1)
Frame Rate: 25.000 fps
Frame Count: 94598 frames
Total Duration: 01:03:03.920

Audio
Codec: AC3
Channels: Stereo
Bitrate: 24000 Bps / 192 kbps
Variable Bitrate: No
Frequency: 48000 Hz
Total Duration: 01:03:03:936


edit: for video codec, i've left it on copy but for audio i've tried copy AND mp3 with no use
 
Posts: 422 | Thanked: 244 times | Joined on Feb 2008
#16
If you go to Help / Plugins is LibAC3 present in the Audio tab?

It is odd as I would expect with "Copy" it would just copy it whatever format it was.

What do you mean by "no thumbnail for it"? I can't see a place in avidemux where there are thumbnails for the codecs.
 
Posts: 75 | Thanked: 35 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ United States
#17
I see 00.00.01 LibAC3 decoder plugin for avidemux (c) Mean

And for the thumbnail, I meant within the N900.
 
Posts: 5 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#18
If you have Windows, I use Super C... converts anything I have thrown at it at least.

http://www.erightsoft.com/SUPER.html
 
Posts: 75 | Thanked: 35 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ United States
#19
I'm currently on Mac OS X
 
Posts: 5 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#20
I don't use Macs often, but perhaps you can give Handbrake a go, I think that will do what you want.

http://handbrake.fr/
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:41.