Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 388 | Thanked: 842 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Finland
#511
Originally Posted by shazosbourne View Post
Log gave these results. Any ideas on fixing this?
You might try disabling "autoremove unneeded (automatically installed) packages" in options. It does not fix the actual problem with your packages but might help getting around it. Maybe.

Originally Posted by shallimus View Post
I have no bugs to report yet, and the recent interface update means I now have no interface suggestions either. Please keep developing this (probably Meego will need something similar in the future...?) I have sent you a [very small] token of my appreciation.
Thanks!
It's likely that FAM will be available for the future MeeGo-Harmattan which still uses debian package management. Actual MeeGo uses rpm so it would require a lot more work... I hope that the default package manager UIs of the future OSs are better than Maemo 5's, though.

Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
Code:
#!/bin/sh
apt-get -o=Dir::Etc::sourcelist=/opt/fapman-cache/sources.list -o=Dir::State::lists=/opt/fapman-cache/lists $*
You might want to add -o Dir::Etc::sourceparts=\"\" to ensure that sourceparts from the default location won't get used.

Originally Posted by DrWilken View Post
Maybe they should be included in next version of fapman...
That's a very good idea.

Last edited by hqh; 2010-11-10 at 19:46.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to hqh For This Useful Post:
ndi's Avatar
Posts: 2,050 | Thanked: 1,425 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Bucharest
#512
Could we please get "kept back" support for apt? I spent time digging conflicts again only to realize latest recaller has been kept back.
__________________
N900 dead and Nokia no longer replaces them. Thanks for all the fish.

Keep the forums clean: use "Thanks" button instead of the thank you post.
 
fadimck's Avatar
Posts: 28 | Thanked: 11 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#513
seriously, thank you for this faster App Manager, i 'm using it now as a the key program instead of the stock one..
__________________
Fadi Mckean
-------
Sunny Cairo, Egypt


"live today like you were going to die tomorrow, plan for tomorrow like you we going to live for ever.."
 
Posts: 515 | Thanked: 266 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Oelsted, Denmark
#514
Originally Posted by hqh View Post
You might want to add -o Dir::Etc::sourceparts=\"\" to ensure that sourceparts from the default location won't get used.
That explains why I got these errors when running fapt-get update:
Code:
...
W: Duplicate sources.list entry https://downloads.maemo.nokia.com ./ Packages (/opt/fapman-cache/lists/downloads.maemo.nokia.com_fremantle_ssu_apps_._Packages)
W: Duplicate sources.list entry https://downloads.maemo.nokia.com ./ Packages (/opt/fapman-cache/lists/downloads.maemo.nokia.com_fremantle_ssu_mr0_._Packages)
W: Duplicate sources.list entry https://downloads.maemo.nokia.com ./ Packages (/opt/fapman-cache/lists/downloads.maemo.nokia.com_fremantle1.2_ovi_._Packages)
W: Duplicate sources.list entry http://repository.maemo.org fremantle-1.3/free Packages (/opt/fapman-cache/lists/repository.maemo.org_extras_dists_fremantle-1.3_free_binary-armel_Packages)
W: Duplicate sources.list entry http://repository.maemo.org fremantle-1.3/non-free Packages (/opt/fapman-cache/lists/repository.maemo.org_extras_dists_fremantle-1.3_non-free_binary-armel_Packages)
W: Duplicate sources.list entry http://repository.maemo.org fremantle/free Packages (/opt/fapman-cache/lists/repository.maemo.org_extras-devel_dists_fremantle_free_binary-armel_Packages)
W: Duplicate sources.list entry http://repository.maemo.org fremantle/non-free Packages (/opt/fapman-cache/lists/repository.maemo.org_extras-devel_dists_fremantle_non-free_binary-armel_Packages)
W: Duplicate sources.list entry http://repository.maemo.org fremantle/free Packages (/opt/fapman-cache/lists/repository.maemo.org_extras-testing_dists_fremantle_free_binary-armel_Packages)
W: Duplicate sources.list entry http://repository.maemo.org fremantle/non-free Packages (/opt/fapman-cache/lists/repository.maemo.org_extras-testing_dists_fremantle_non-free_binary-armel_Packages)
W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems
Thanks
__________________
Christian Wilken - tux-POWER.dk!
... May the Source be with You ...
 
James_Littler's Avatar
Posts: 820 | Thanked: 436 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Portsmouth, UK.
#515
Hi, cheers for fapman.

I noticed you updated fapman recently so that it opens a connection (if not open already) but I've found a bug.

If I have autodisconnect installed (as I imaging alot of people do) It closes the wifi/data connection after x amounts of minutes.

So say I do the following

1. Open fapman, it connects for me and I find what I want to install
2. Someone asks me to do something, I put the phone down and leave it for 10 mins, in which time auto-disconnect disconnects my inactive connection.
3. I come back to the phone, click X, then > to continue.
4. I am given an error about the lack of connection.

I hope this helps
 

The Following User Says Thank You to James_Littler For This Useful Post:
Posts: 29 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Nov 2010
#516
great improvement from the default appman!

i just wanted to mention small details that i didnt see in fapman that was in the original appman and that is the information of how much memory the selected application for download uses when installed and its install size(not just its download size). I have only used this app today so maybe i overlooked those, but at the details page for any application selected for download this information wasnt present.

Another suggestion that i would love to see in this app manager is to incorporate the rating/feedback information of all applications available for download. So then evaluating and downloading apps can be done in one place rather than opening the webpage for the app in question too look at rating and feedback.

thanks again for this program!
 
Posts: 838 | Thanked: 292 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#517
question...what exactly does update catelogues do? when I open the app am I to always hit that first if I want to get the latest apps? or just hit upgrade applications?

thanks.
 
debernardis's Avatar
Posts: 2,142 | Thanked: 2,054 times | Joined on Dec 2006 @ Sicily
#518
Since today, fapman stalls at "Operation in progress - reading package list - creating package view" and never shows the packages. I have purged and reinstalled fapman some times, also erasing the /opt/fapman-cache directory, but it always hangs there.

HAM and apt-get work.

How can I debug the problem? Thanks
__________________
Ernesto de Bernardis

 
Posts: 539 | Thanked: 165 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Berlin, Germany
#519
Originally Posted by extendedping View Post
question...what exactly does update catelogues do? when I open the app am I to always hit that first if I want to get the latest apps? or just hit upgrade applications?
apt (and all programs on top of apt like HAM and fapman) works like this: referenced by a sources.list it grabs some informational catalogues form specified repositories and builds some kind of lokal database out of them. This lokal database you can use as long as you want to but it is only as actual as your last update. Therefore it is usable for offline searching in the database but you will not see newer updates until you re-download the catalogues again (e.g. run the update).
Upgrading instead means bringing an installed application to a newer version. This requires in first place to have an updated database of available applications (e.g. having run the update). Of course, for updating as well as upgrading you need a connection to the internet.
 
Posts: 539 | Thanked: 165 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Berlin, Germany
#520
Originally Posted by debernardis View Post
Since today, fapman stalls at "Operation in progress - reading package list - creating package view" and never shows the packages. I have purged and reinstalled fapman some times, also erasing the /opt/fapman-cache directory, but it always hangs there.
After erasing the cache directory you updated the catalogues and after reinstalling you verified there are repos activated?
Did you have a look at fapamns log (in the menu)?
Did you try the commandline tools like in http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...&postcount=508 ? If so, what do these commands tell you?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:45.