Notices


Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Posts: 20 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Sweden
#1
My brother got a Palm Pre and got the nice idea to buy AB-Seasons on it and then try it through Preenv on my beloved N900, and it works! Unfortunately though, it's pretty bad scaled. Looks like **** tbh.

Therefore I was wondering if anyone else done this, and maby even fixed it somehow? Can you run preenv "windowed" or something? Or is it possible to take the "right" scaled textures and stuff from the Android version? Feels like it should be an easy fix, so please come with ideas.
 
Posts: 20 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Sweden
#2
I've tried taking the textures and fonts from an android version which did make it better looking in the menu, but not in-game. The executable is probably locked to 480*320, which makes the android idea kind of useless, unless that can be changed through a hex editor or something?

Isn't there anyone who knows how to make preenv force another resolution?
 
javispedro's Avatar
Posts: 2,355 | Thanked: 5,249 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Barcelona
#3
Originally Posted by kruppin View Post
I've tried taking the textures and fonts from an android version which did make it better looking in the menu, but not in-game. The executable is probably locked to 480*320, which makes the android idea kind of useless, unless that can be changed through a hex editor or something?
Feel free to experiment

Originally Posted by kruppin View Post
Isn't there anyone who knows how to make preenv force another resolution?
It's currently hardcoded in source.

Last edited by javispedro; 2010-12-22 at 22:34.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to javispedro For This Useful Post:
Posts: 135 | Thanked: 151 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Slovakia/Bratislava
#4
the resolution is afaik in lua sources. that might help you getting there.
 
jflatt's Avatar
Posts: 534 | Thanked: 723 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#5
Don't have environment in front of me, but what about:

preenv pdl.c
Code:
PDL_Err PDL_GetScreenMetrics(PDL_ScreenMetrics* metrics) 
{ 
        TRACE("Application asks for screen metrics; giving true ones"); 
        metrics->horizontalPixels = 480; 
        metrics->verticalPixels = 800; 
        metrics->horizontalDPI = 213; 
        metrics->verticalDPI = 183; 
        metrics->aspectRatio = 1.164; 
        return PDL_NOERROR; 
}
From Palm documentation:
Code:
outMetrics->horizontalPixels = 320; // Number of pixels horizontally
outMetrics->verticalPixels = 480;   // Number of pixels vertically          
outMetrics->horizontalDPI = 213;    // Number of pixels per inch horizontally
outMetrics->verticalDPI = 183;      // Number of pixels per inch vertically
outMetrics->aspectRatio = 1.164;    // horizontalDPI/verticalDPI
I see the pixel count was changed, but the DPI and ratio wasn't changed, surely these values are different between devices. Do they even matter at all? I can try it out in a couple days
 

The Following User Says Thank You to jflatt For This Useful Post:
Posts: 20 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Sweden
#6
Originally Posted by forcer View Post
the resolution is afaik in lua sources. that might help you getting there.
Yeah, I tried replacing the lua-files from the android version, no change. It must have the 480*320 folder to start, so it's very likely hardcoded in executable to only use that res. It sucks, I know!

Originally Posted by javispedro View Post
It's currently hardcoded in source.
Is it easy to implement an option to keep aspect ratio, or does it require alot of code? Cuz Angry birds is almost unplayable like this.
And thx for a great program btw.
 
jflatt's Avatar
Posts: 534 | Thanked: 723 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#7
Can you do a screenshot? CTRL-SHIFT-P? Or does it look like this:
http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...&postcount=854
 

The Following User Says Thank You to jflatt For This Useful Post:
Posts: 123 | Thanked: 56 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Portugal
#8
Originally Posted by jflatt View Post
Can you do a screenshot? CTRL-SHIFT-P? Or does it look like this:
http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...&postcount=854
It looks like that
 
Posts: 20 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Sweden
#9
Originally Posted by jflatt View Post
Don't have environment in front of me, but what about:

preenv pdl.c
Code:
PDL_Err PDL_GetScreenMetrics(PDL_ScreenMetrics* metrics) 
{ 
        TRACE("Application asks for screen metrics; giving true ones"); 
        metrics->horizontalPixels = 480; 
        metrics->verticalPixels = 800; 
        metrics->horizontalDPI = 213; 
        metrics->verticalDPI = 183; 
        metrics->aspectRatio = 1.164; 
        return PDL_NOERROR; 
}
From Palm documentation:
Code:
outMetrics->horizontalPixels = 320; // Number of pixels horizontally
outMetrics->verticalPixels = 480;   // Number of pixels vertically          
outMetrics->horizontalDPI = 213;    // Number of pixels per inch horizontally
outMetrics->verticalDPI = 183;      // Number of pixels per inch vertically
outMetrics->aspectRatio = 1.164;    // horizontalDPI/verticalDPI
I see the pixel count was changed, but the DPI and ratio wasn't changed, surely these values are different between devices. Do they even matter at all? I can try it out in a couple days
I'm a bad programer, but I think even I could manage to change those values and re-compile, but I dont have anything to compile it with, or rather it would be faster for someone with an working dev-env to do it..

But then the question becomes "How many DPI is the N900 screen?" and "What is a good value for the AR?" It would be better to be able to have a settings-file, so you can try without all hassle. Ofc I understand that not the easiest thing to do maybw, just saying.
Oh, well, I guess it's best to leave it to the experts.
 
javispedro's Avatar
Posts: 2,355 | Thanked: 5,249 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Barcelona
#10
Originally Posted by kruppin View Post
Oh, well, I guess it's best to leave it to the experts.
"The experts" (or rather, "the expert") doesn't have the game and is not interested in it (having the native original one), so...
Also, no work until next year.

Now, I would be impressed if a game actually cared about the DPI values.

To build preenv without scaling at all is just a matter of removing
Code:
#define ENABLE_SCALING 1
#define ENABLE_FS_SCALING 1
lines from src/libsdlpre/config.h

(I added the options recently to make running preenv easier on other devices).

Note also that despite I call this "scaling" there's no scaling at all. The game runs at the native N900 resolution, which is the reason they look unusually good and also the reason for the "scaling problems".

Last edited by javispedro; 2010-12-23 at 00:36.
 
Closed Thread


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:02.