Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 39 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on May 2010
#451
Thanks kureyon! Ill try that today and let you know how it went.

edit:

ok I tried that, and what I got was:

Code:
knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ mkdir /tmp/n900
knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ mount ro, loop /media/sdb1/SystemBackups/20101109-backup-rootfs.img
mount: only root can do that
knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ sudo gainroot
sudo: gainroot: command not found
knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ su mount ro, loop /media/sdb1/SystemBackups/20101109-backup-rootfs.img
Unknown id: mount
knoppix@Microknoppix:~$
again, I am using knoppix live cd. Obviously I don't knwo much about linux. Do I need to intstall linux to my hd or can it be dome in the current live cd environment?

Last edited by lordnibbla; 2010-12-22 at 23:17.
 
Posts: 152 | Thanked: 58 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ void
#452
I wonder if Backupmenu has a function to turn off the display to conserve power, instead of staying sharp bright all the time. It seems the device is not charging in Backupmenu mode. This caused me a problem when fsck the whole emmc space via another linux box, the battery ran flat, the device switched off itself, and so the optfs got messed up. It's didn't make any big loss as I have a backup.
__________________
My N900: rootfs = 27GB entirely on eMMC, MyDocs = 2GB, 8GB class 6 uSD, running kernel-power v42, evopedia with 10GB English dump, native non-SDK compiler.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to 009N For This Useful Post:
Posts: 992 | Thanked: 738 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Low Earth Orbit
#453
Originally Posted by lordnibbla View Post
ok I tried that,
No you didn't. You tried some variation of what I wrote

knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ sudo gainroot
sudo: gainroot: command not found
You need to install the rootsh (or something like that - google) package.

knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ su mount ro, loop /media/sdb1/SystemBackups/20101109-backup-rootfs.img
  • You're using su incorrectly. Stop messing with su. Install the rootsh (or something like that - google) package, then type "root" to become root.
  • You're using the mount command incorrectly (note the missing "-o" and there is no space in ro,loop, and you have missed out /tmp/n900)
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kureyon For This Useful Post:
Posts: 20 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Sep 2007
#454
As above with additional info.

Remove first word: "su" from the mount command.

You are already root (with gainroot command) - so no need for su.

The error is a result of the su command.

Fix that and try again.


netC
 

The Following User Says Thank You to netC For This Useful Post:
Posts: 20 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Sep 2007
#455
FYI: the above suggestions were for n900.

For knoppix live cd use:

No gainroot is needed as gainroot is a n900 utility.
No rootsh is needed as rootsh is a n900 utility.

You must be root before mount command is issued.

Do it as:
su root
- provide the right password.

Then run mount command.

netC
 

The Following User Says Thank You to netC For This Useful Post:
Posts: 39 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on May 2010
#456
Code:
knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ su root
root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix# mkdir /tmp/n900
root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix# mount -o ro,loop /media/sdc1/SystemBackups/20101109-backup-rootfs.img /tmp/n900
mount: you must specify the filesystem type
root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix#
also when I tried the optfs:
Code:
root@Microknoppix:/home/knoppix# mount -o ro,loop /media/sdc1/SystemBackups/20101109-backup-optfs.img /tmp/n900
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop/0,
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so
Thanks kureyon, netC for your help.

here is where I'm at.
 
Posts: 842 | Thanked: 1,197 times | Joined on May 2010
#457
Rootfs is a UbiFS image, so mounting that's a challenge. It requires using nandsim to make a virtual flash device - google will tell you more.
Optfs is ext2, and can be mounted with mount.

Um... I thought there was a copy of BM v1 around, but I forget where. I'm not supporting v1 for a number of reasons, and it's not a good idea to try to restore v1 images to a new n900(Major bricking potential).
V2 images are OK however.
__________________
My projects: BackupMenu - OS Backup & restore | Video: Flashing your n900(LiveCD)
My devices: N770 + 8GB SD card soldered internally, N900 with 8GB SD card + Custom OC(125-950 typically).
OC freqs: 0:22,90 125:22,90 250:28,180 500:30,360 550:32,400 600:34,430 700:39,430 750:41,430 805:45,430 850:47,500 900:50,500 950:54,500 1000:58,500 1100:67,520 1150:71,520
 

The Following User Says Thank You to RobbieThe1st For This Useful Post:
debernardis's Avatar
Posts: 2,142 | Thanked: 2,054 times | Joined on Dec 2006 @ Sicily
#458
Originally Posted by RobbieThe1st View Post
Um... I thought there was a copy of BM v1 around, but I forget where. I'm not supporting v1 for a number of reasons, and it's not a good idea to try to restore v1 images to a new n900(Major bricking potential).
V2 images are OK however.
You can get a copy of v1 here: http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...&postcount=391
with a debugged dd cycle
__________________
Ernesto de Bernardis

 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to debernardis For This Useful Post:
Posts: 842 | Thanked: 1,197 times | Joined on May 2010
#459
Thanks. If I don't forget, I might actually setup a package. I'm slightly busy IRL, though, and keep forgetting when I've got my PC and files handy.
__________________
My projects: BackupMenu - OS Backup & restore | Video: Flashing your n900(LiveCD)
My devices: N770 + 8GB SD card soldered internally, N900 with 8GB SD card + Custom OC(125-950 typically).
OC freqs: 0:22,90 125:22,90 250:28,180 500:30,360 550:32,400 600:34,430 700:39,430 750:41,430 805:45,430 850:47,500 900:50,500 950:54,500 1000:58,500 1100:67,520 1150:71,520
 
Posts: 39 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on May 2010
#460
Originally Posted by debernardis View Post
You can get a copy of v1 here: http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...&postcount=391
with a debugged dd cycle
RobbieThe1st, I understand that you do not support V1, but is it possble to safely restore the images I have with this version?

Otherwise, If anyone has an idea of how to properly mount my Optfs in knoppix. Please refer to my above post for the current roadblock.

Thanks for all your help everyone!
 
Reply

Tags
backup, backupmenu, cssusupplement, max(useful), rescue-console, restore, system


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:16.