Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Oct 2012
#211
I've spent the whole evening tinkering with scripts to run with the Billboard and found one thing that I'd love to see: unicode support with the script output!

As it is, it seems that the output from a {script:} tag is always considered iso-8859-1 instead of UTF-8, which means I can't use all sorts of fancy characters in the script itself.

Also the script output always includes a newline, which can be troublesome too...

edit: actually, the newline can be skipped by putting a zero byte at the end of the output of the python script

Last edited by ataristic; 2012-10-06 at 22:35. Reason: found a trick
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ataristic For This Useful Post:
ruplee76's Avatar
Posts: 118 | Thanked: 20 times | Joined on May 2012 @ INDIA
#212
hello dear developer of billboard,
thank you very much for your wonderfull app.
this is just a request that can you please add an option of adding coloured logo of MEEGO? So that we can use it on the lockscreen?
thanks in advance
 
Posts: 771 | Thanked: 393 times | Joined on Feb 2012
#213
Originally Posted by ataristic View Post
I've spent the whole evening tinkering with scripts to run with the Billboard and found one thing that I'd love to see: unicode support with the script output!

As it is, it seems that the output from a {script:} tag is always considered iso-8859-1 instead of UTF-8, which means I can't use all sorts of fancy characters in the script itself.

Also the script output always includes a newline, which can be troublesome too...

edit: actually, the newline can be skipped by putting a zero byte
at the end of the output of the python script
any tips on how to put the zero bytes ?
__________________
5800XMN8808N9
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Oct 2012
#214
Originally Posted by soryuuha View Post
any tips on how to put the zero bytes ?
Just put a \x00 escape code where you want the output to end (anything beyond it will be ignored, including the forced newline), like so:

print "this string ends here\x00(and this is ignored)"
 
Posts: 277 | Thanked: 319 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#215
Is this why I can't get δεφ out of my script? Latin-1 seems to support them but how to output them to Billboard?

Edit:

Using string.encode('latin1') solves this.

Edit 2:

Change back to UTF-8 once Billboard 1.0.7 is out (just erase the .encode('latin1') from the end)

Last edited by slarti; 2012-12-12 at 15:43.
 
Win7Mac's Avatar
Community Council | Posts: 664 | Thanked: 1,648 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Hamburg
#216
Think I found a bug:
After watching a video with the default player, the title was still displayed after player was closed. Reboot emptied the line.

Still struggling with the python-script for uptime here.
My desktop is a Win7 and I used notepad++ for creating this script
Code:
#!/usr/bin/python
import datetime
seconds = int(float(open('/proc/uptime').read().split()[0]))
print str(datetime.timedelta(0, seconds))[:-3]
Coding was set to ANSI and I simply saved as python. Then copied it to /home/user, became root and tried
Code:
chmod +x /home/user/uptime.py
But got "operation not permitted". Where did I fail?
__________________
Nokia 5110 > 3310 > 6230 > N70 > N9 BLACK 64GB
Hildon Foundation Board member
Maemo Community e.V. co-creator, founder and director since Q4/2016
Current Maemo Community Council member

Last edited by Win7Mac; 2012-10-07 at 15:13.
 
Posts: 397 | Thanked: 185 times | Joined on Oct 2011
#217
Yeah, i have the video play back bug too.
 
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#218
The video play back thing has been discussed on this thread several times...You can simply open an audio file, close it and it will also empty instead of doing a reboot...

It isn't a bug but more of the way the dbus (IIRC) works for video titles...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to thedead1440 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 397 | Thanked: 185 times | Joined on Oct 2011
#219
Originally Posted by thedead1440 View Post
The video play back thing has been discussed on this thread several times...You can simply open an audio file, close it and it will also empty instead of doing a reboot...

It isn't a bug but more of the way the dbus (IIRC) works for video titles...
ah okay, just bought the app, did not encounter this until someone talked about it just now. Anyway, I just remove the tag then since there's no solution to this. It's too bad that video and audio were not ' read' separately by the system and treated as the same thing otherwise, the solution can then just be ignoring video playback on the lps since nobody does that anyway, playing video while on standby.
 
Win7Mac's Avatar
Community Council | Posts: 664 | Thanked: 1,648 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Hamburg
#220
Originally Posted by thedead1440 View Post
The video play back thing has been discussed on this thread several times...You can simply open an audio file, close it and it will also empty instead of doing a reboot...

It isn't a bug but more of the way the dbus (IIRC) works for video titles...
Thanks for the info.
Could you comment on the upime-script too, please?
__________________
Nokia 5110 > 3310 > 6230 > N70 > N9 BLACK 64GB
Hildon Foundation Board member
Maemo Community e.V. co-creator, founder and director since Q4/2016
Current Maemo Community Council member
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:42.