Active Topics

 


Poll: Delet the values from the speedpatch?
Poll Options
Delet the values from the speedpatch?

Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,680 | Thanked: 3,685 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#2801
Originally Posted by carbonjha View Post
@karam
I found some linux governor tweaking tips in this website. http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/li...req-3/?ca=drs-

Its a very long and detail guide with lots of comparing graphs. I couldn't read the full guide. But it concludes with tweaking the conservative governor's up & down threshold which seems to have a significant effect on battery saving.

"overclock" profile of batterypatch uses conservative governor. I wasn't using it for a while because I changed it to ondemand. But today I thought about giving it a try. Then I find that first time the conservative governor loads with its default parameters ignoring the "overclock" profile & always remains that way.
Code:
up_threshold = 80
down_threshold = 20
freq_step = 5
ignore_nice_load = 0
sampling_down_factor = 1 
sampling_rate = 3000000
sampling_rate_max = 1500000000
sampling_min = 1500000
now Im testing these tweaks
Code:
echo 98 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/conservative/up_threshold

echo 95 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/conservative/down_threshold


echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/conservative/ignore_nice_load
underclock profile uses ondemand governor and it loads ok. so no need to change that. Lets hope it works well.
Christ on friday. These are the worst settings I have ever seen for a cpufreq govenor, let alone conservative.

With these idiotic settings your CPU will be switching frequency EVERY TIME IT SAMPLES unless your CPU is sitting inbetween 95 to 98% useage. If you want an erratic, power hungry lag machine then by all means use these settings.

The best governor is ondemand. Rationale? When the device does nothing you want it to be using no power i.e. cpu asleep. When the machine is doing constant light work i.e. playing mp3s you want it to be in a low frequency. When the machine is doing hard work you want it to be running fast,

You need ondemand, low=250, high=805, up threshold 93.

Low 250 so on normal wake ups and mp3 playing it will spend 85% of the time in 250, 15% at 500. This gives long battery life under light useage/idle.

Max 805, power increases with the square of the voltage used. Voltage use rises significantly from about 750 and up. 805 seems a good compromise.

I cannot be bothered ripping into conservative, take my word. It is rubbish.


If you want to save battery power you need to disable all the badly coded, cpu hungry crap you may have installed. Call notify for example is a total CPU rape potato.
__________________
N900: One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to vi_ For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,074 | Thanked: 12,960 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Sofia,Bulgaria
#2802
@vi_ : there is no use man, those guys here discover sliced bread everyday. Excluding Fridays which are reserved for discovering of hot water.

EDIT: BTW up threshold of 93 seems a little high to me, might introduce UI lag

Last edited by freemangordon; 2011-12-09 at 14:54.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to freemangordon For This Useful Post:
uros's Avatar
Posts: 151 | Thanked: 108 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Belgrade, Serbia
#2803
After today`s update i was unable to change CPU clock, locked to 500 Mhz. Please help
 
Posts: 50 | Thanked: 16 times | Joined on May 2011
#2804
my n900 has the same behavior since last update runs fine on startup after some minutes only 250-500 :-(
 
uros's Avatar
Posts: 151 | Thanked: 108 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Belgrade, Serbia
#2805
Originally Posted by awett View Post
my n900 has the same behavior since last update runs fine on startup after some minutes only 250-500 :-(
Lucky you, at least you have alternative - 250. Here only 500 :-)
 
peter2p's Avatar
Posts: 254 | Thanked: 146 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Antwerp Belgium
#2806
Originally Posted by uros View Post
After today`s update i was unable to change CPU clock, locked to 500 Mhz. Please help
Hi Uros, just updated batterypatch and speedpatch, rebooted not twice but 3 times.
My N900 was overclocked to 900MHz and after the update my
overclock file at /usr/share/kernel-power-settings shows
MINFREQ=250
MAXFREQ=900
even
SMARTREFLEX VDD1=1 & VDD2=1
is working now.
Checked it in cpufreqUI
Frequency 900000
Smartreflex is enabled now...
__________________
.................................................. ...........
..........................
................................N900 is a way of life....................
surfing the web, navigate, chat, ttweet, email, scan, hack, share, tweak...
.....................and you can also use him to make a call
 
Posts: 31 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#2807
hi karam after updating speedpatch and battery patch my N900 went into reboot loop ..pls help
 
uros's Avatar
Posts: 151 | Thanked: 108 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Belgrade, Serbia
#2808
Originally Posted by peter2p View Post
Hi Uros, just updated batterypatch and speedpatch, rebooted not twice but 3 times.
My N900 was overclocked to 900MHz and after the update my
overclock file at /usr/share/kernel-power-settings shows
MINFREQ=250
MAXFREQ=900
even
SMARTREFLEX VDD1=1 & VDD2=1
is working now.
Checked it in cpufreqUI
Frequency 900000
Smartreflex is enabled now...
Hi Peter, what is procedure for updating overclock file /usr/share/kernel-power-settings
 
peter2p's Avatar
Posts: 254 | Thanked: 146 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Antwerp Belgium
#2809
Originally Posted by uros View Post
Hi Peter, what is procedure for updating overclock file /usr/share/kernel-power-settings
I have Filebox installed, in settings; root acces enabled
just went to /usr/share/kernel-power-settings
longpress on overclock and edit, when you're done just hit topbar and save or
with leafpad installed you can also change the overclock profile with
leafpad /usr/share/kernel-power-settings/overclock
in X-terminal if you want.
Good luck Uros
__________________
.................................................. ...........
..........................
................................N900 is a way of life....................
surfing the web, navigate, chat, ttweet, email, scan, hack, share, tweak...
.....................and you can also use him to make a call

Last edited by peter2p; 2011-12-09 at 20:30.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to peter2p For This Useful Post:
uros's Avatar
Posts: 151 | Thanked: 108 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Belgrade, Serbia
#2810
Tnx Peter, leafpad worked out. Still one problem, MaxCPU widget still locked on 500, maybe problem is only widget.

/usr/share/kernel-power-settings/overclock is exactly same as your`s
 
Reply

Tags
autobrick, awesome-script, do no install, f***epitaph, install it now, perfect_ n900, script-a-brick, very safe


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:19.