Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,802 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#11
Originally Posted by 白い熊 View Post
I've been reading through the easy debian threads of yours, but it's very confusing, tons of pages etc.
...
Can you briefly specify just a rough guide of installing it, as flipping through tens of pages is overwhelming:

Which packages and files necessary and is there a special chrooting technique for them?

Where is your debian rootfs?

If I just wanna expand it then experiment with chrooting it, what are the two packages easy-chroot and easy-deb-chroot for?
I'm truly sorry. This is still an early beta test; I'm looking for people who either already know what this project is about or are willing to do the research to figure it out.

But, because you asked:

A good primer of the technical details of the easy-chroot project can be found here.

Easy Debian adds a more user-friendly layer on easy-chroot by adding an image downloader / installer and two scripts (/sbin/debian and /usr/bin/debbie) for using that particular chroot. It also adds a /home/user/.chroot file which has settings that can be modified.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
Posts: 250 | Thanked: 69 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#12
I found installer to be extremely easy to use - just a fiew clicks; download easydebian-chroot from extras-devel with application manager, then run it, select target flash drive and that's all.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to arkanoid For This Useful Post:
Posts: 451 | Thanked: 334 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#13
Originally Posted by qole View Post
A good primer of the technical details of the easy-chroot project can be found here.
Thanks for this reference, I didn't see it before...
 
Posts: 132 | Thanked: 40 times | Joined on Jun 2008
#14
I will preface this with I don't have a N900 yet. From what I have read you should be careful messing around with extras-devel with a N900 since you could download programs that have not been optified and cause your phone not to boot.
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,802 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#15
the Easy Debian packages should not brick your phone. But you leave Extras Devel enabled at your own risk, of course. You might brick your phone or even download mplayer.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
Posts: 258 | Thanked: 138 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ St. Louis, MO, USA
#16
It looks like the image may have some bad filesystem errors. e2fsck fails after a LOT of warnings. Maybe mine didn't download/extract properly? Does anyone else see the same thing?
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,802 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#17
Originally Posted by twoboxen View Post
It looks like the image may have some bad filesystem errors. e2fsck fails after a LOT of warnings. Maybe mine didn't download/extract properly? Does anyone else see the same thing?
I think you're right; despite the checksums and failsafes, it sounds like your install went badly.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
OptX's Avatar
Posts: 293 | Thanked: 206 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Germnay
#18
Install went well on my N900. Just start to experiment right now
What is the root pw ?
I started synaptic from inside Debian and it asks me for the pw.
Or can i just use the synaptic-app that is now on my N900 ?
Nice work !!
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,802 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#19
Originally Posted by OptX View Post
I started synaptic from inside Debian and it asks me for the pw.
When you say, "inside Debian", what do you mean?

Synaptic should start without password if you run it from the Debian chroot; either choose the menu icon or open the terminal and type "debian synaptic".

Originally Posted by OptX View Post
Or can i just use the synaptic-app that is now on my N900 ?
It should work; I can't promise anything about how usable it is. The Fremantle UI might make it very difficult to use.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
Posts: 31 | Thanked: 11 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#20
I've been playing with this for a day or so and it works pretty darn well. Next I'm going to install it directly to an SD card instead of using the provided disk image.

qole, you rock.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to awwaiid For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
beta, debian, easy debian, extras-devel, fremantle, i <3 qole, squeeze

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:30.