Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 5 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#1
hi, is there any way to have the gps device powered on and running (ready to take a fix) via dbus?

Last edited by sylar; 2010-01-22 at 04:44. Reason: fixed a typo
 
Posts: 217 | Thanked: 20 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#2
hi
did yo get it to work?
 
krk969's Avatar
Posts: 754 | Thanked: 630 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ London
#3
http://maintenance.maemo.org/news/pl...ss_over_d-bus/

not sure if the gps can be switched on with geoclue. I havent tried it myself.
__________________
Developer of :
Buddy - budget/expense manager ( website )
Showtime - a telly channel listing viewer/reminder ( website )
Travelapp - london underground status/planner ( website )
Batlevel - desktop widget for battery level ( website )

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.

Last edited by krk969; 2010-04-02 at 09:19.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to krk969 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 217 | Thanked: 20 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#4
Do you know where can I find the source code of the location api??

http://wiki.maemo.org/Documentation/...cation_methods

I want to use the part of the code for getting the speed and tweak it to allow me to get speed more than time per second

thanks
 
krk969's Avatar
Posts: 754 | Thanked: 630 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ London
#5
dont think that liblocation is an open component.

api reference is here
__________________
Developer of :
Buddy - budget/expense manager ( website )
Showtime - a telly channel listing viewer/reminder ( website )
Travelapp - london underground status/planner ( website )
Batlevel - desktop widget for battery level ( website )

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to krk969 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,341 | Thanked: 707 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#6
Someone could post the simpliest way to get a GPS location in a Python script, or a link to a code. Then after that it would be easy. Learning Python in one day is possible if there is some programming experience before.
 
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 445 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#7
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to foobar For This Useful Post:
andrei1089's Avatar
Posts: 81 | Thanked: 109 times | Joined on Apr 2009 @ Brasov/Cluj, Romania
#8
Originally Posted by sylar View Post
hi, is there any way to have the gps device powered on and running (ready to take a fix) via dbus?
I needed something and I wrote a small script in python. Take a look here: http://github.com/andrei1089/canola-...gps-service.py
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to andrei1089 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,341 | Thanked: 707 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#9
Originally Posted by andrei1089 View Post
I needed something and I wrote a small script in python. Take a look here: http://github.com/andrei1089/canola-...gps-service.py
How to add altitude to that?
 
andrei1089's Avatar
Posts: 81 | Thanked: 109 times | Joined on Apr 2009 @ Brasov/Cluj, Romania
#10
Originally Posted by zimon View Post
How to add altitude to that?
Check out the location api documentation: http://wiki.maemo.org/PyMaemo/Using_Location_API

I'm taking lat and long here:
Code:
self.lat, self.long = device.fix[4:6]
According to the documentation the altitude should be device.fix[7] ( return value is in meters)
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to andrei1089 For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:59.