Posts: 290 | Thanked: 132 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ New York City
Originally Posted by Gucko on the Ubuntu Forums in a Discussion of Maemo vs Android View Post
Today I heard about the new release of Nokia N900 which runs on Maemo OS. Actually this is the first time I hear about that OS.

What do you think guys, which one is better Android or Maemo? I want to buy a smart phone but I'm confused between these OSs cuz they are both cool and powerful.

For people that don't know anything about Maemo check here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maemo_(operating_system)

Also the nokia n900 looks really SUPER powerful....really powerful device....it runs on Debian guys!!!! This is COOOOOOOOL and POWERFUL.

What makes me like Android more is because I'm a Java programmer
Also I'm a good C programmer but I'm more better in Java than C. The last thing I learned about C is structures and trees and how to deal with it is that advanced topic btw?
Originally Posted by NCLI on the Ubuntu Forums in a Discussion of Maemo vs Android View Post
Well, Android is totally open, so I'd go with that.

Originally Posted by Gucko on the Ubuntu Forums in a Discussion of Maemo vs Android View Post

I think any Android device should be the openest phone, right?
aaaaaant . . . WRONG!!!!!

FACT - Although the Android OS is based on Linux any and all Android devices that you can purchase on the mainstream market (aka HTC G1,MY TOUCH, DROID, NEXUS ONE ect) are locked by default and you the owner and user of the device are not given root access.

WHAT DOES THIS MEAN? - You know all the cool SUDO commands (you know those things you type into the terminal to fix problems and install cool hacks and apps that didn't make it into the Ubuntu App store yet?)

Yea those will not work on any Android/Linux OS device without major alterations (aka rooting or jail breaking the device)