Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 397 | Thanked: 716 times | Joined on Aug 2014
#41
Originally Posted by jabgoe View Post
properly update? ... i'm quite sure i did this

just this oem partition doesn't want to be flashed
Did you flash "F5121_34.3.A.0.228_CE5.ftf" or had not unlocked boot loader previously and had managed to obtain OTA update to enable OEM partition prior to flashing Sailfish OS?

Last edited by aspergerguy; 2017-10-12 at 19:24. Reason: Correction
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to aspergerguy For This Useful Post:
Posts: 85 | Thanked: 615 times | Joined on Jul 2015 @ Berlin, Germany
#42
Originally Posted by jabgoe View Post
properly update? ... i'm quite sure i did this

flashing starts correctly, the phone is found and all previous steps end with OK. like this here:

Searching device to flash..
Found device with vendor id '0fce': Bus 001 Device 034: ID 0fce:0dde Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications AB Xperia Mini Pro Bootloader
Fastboot command: fastboot -i 0x0fce
Flashing boot partition..
target reported max download size of 536870912 bytes
sending 'boot' (10842 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.356s]
...

just this oem partition doesn't want to be flashed
That's really weird. I just noticed that if you didn't update, the script would stop you from flashing at all (it checks for the version).

Try doing the flashtool-step again, maybe something went wrong there. (it seems like the flash may not have applied everything correctly)

If that doesn't help you should probably try to get a hold of a windows-computer and update using emma because your phone seems to be in a weird state that could be causing more trouble in the long run.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to jakibaki For This Useful Post:
Posts: 83 | Thanked: 135 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ Switzerland
#43
Originally Posted by jabgoe View Post
Found device with vendor id '0fce': Bus 001 Device 034: ID 0fce:0dde Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications AB Xperia Mini Pro Bootloader
Xperia Mini? Does it always show this device name even for the F5121?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to maximilian1st For This Useful Post:
Posts: 269 | Thanked: 179 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Cambridge, England
#44
Originally Posted by jakibaki View Post
No that actually wasn't it D:

Did it work anyways for you? In that case there are multiple non-fatal errors that can happen.
Oh okay, thanks. For me, I didn't dare continue, googling it, it wasn't clear if the flashing would be successful, so I switched to Emma on Windows and bat file.

I was then curious reading your guide afterwards (great guide btw) about the error you saw, as useful to know if I want to flash a Nougat image in the future, whether flashtool actually works with the error I saw, "reset-non-secure-adb". It will be interesting to see if anyone else sees it and tries to continue and flash.

Rich
 

The Following User Says Thank You to richie For This Useful Post:
Posts: 4 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Oct 2017
#45
Originally Posted by aspergerguy View Post
Did you flash "F5121_34.3.A.0.228_CE5.ftf" or had not unlocked boot loader previously and had managed to obtain OTA update to enable OEM partition prior to flashing Sailfish OS?
ok, i see ...
fastboot getvar version-baseband
gives me
version-baseband: 1300-4911_34.3.A.0.206
looks like i just had wanted to upgrade it but just didn't

too bad ...

Last edited by jabgoe; 2017-10-12 at 21:33. Reason: correction formatting
 

The Following User Says Thank You to jabgoe For This Useful Post:
Posts: 4 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Oct 2017
#46
just as an information:

i could remedy my mistake (not updating to the correct version before flashing with linux) by getting some inspiration from the previous build and install instructions (https://sailfishos.org/wiki/Sailfish...y_period.21.29)

- i edited the flash script, commenting the part with oem flash:
sed -i 's/echo "Flashing oem partition.."/echo "oem partition is populated manually through recovery"/' flash.sh
sed -i 's/$FLASHCMD oem $BLOBS/#$FLASHCMD oem $BLOBS/' flash.sh
- then copied the *loire.img files by hand to the appropriate partition:
- flashed the phone with the sony blobs:
fastboot flash system *_loire.img
- did a boot into recovery image:
sudo fastboot boot hybris-recovery.img
- telneted into the phone in the rescue boot.
- and copied files according to instructions here
- afterwards rebooted the phone into fastboot mode again
- and flashed again with the modified flash.sh
- and that worked.

my phone now boots into sailfish x. too late to check functions now.

that'll teach me (again) to better respect instructions before doing stuff.

thanks for the hints!

Last edited by jabgoe; 2017-10-12 at 21:59. Reason: correcting errors
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jabgoe For This Useful Post:
BluesLee's Avatar
Posts: 350 | Thanked: 897 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Europe
#47
Anyone knows why some of us encountered warnings in Spanish language after flashing the Android image? I just rebooted twice to Android to check that everything is fine. It did not have impact buy i would like to know where those warnings are coming from and why in Spanish language?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to BluesLee For This Useful Post:
Posts: 882 | Thanked: 2,067 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ UK
#48
Originally Posted by jakibaki View Post
The workaround would have been booting into recovery and moving the blobs to the special partition from there (the partition is only read-only in fastboot mode) but since you're already on a new firmware you very likely won't need that.



Download and extract the .img file from here, enter fastboot mode and then cd to the folder where you downloaded that image and run
Code:
sudo fastboot flash oem SW_binaries_for_Xperia_AOSP_M_MR1_3.10_v13_loire.img
If it runs without an error that means that the partition is properly writable.

Went trough all good not sure if I should wait for official F5122 dual sim support
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mariusmssj For This Useful Post:
mrsellout's Avatar
Posts: 825 | Thanked: 1,863 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ Manchester
#49
The Android image provided in this guide is customized for Latin America. The first screen I saw had a drop down menu button to select other languages.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to mrsellout For This Useful Post:
Posts: 64 | Thanked: 158 times | Joined on Sep 2017
#50
Originally Posted by mariusmssj View Post
Went trough all good not sure if I should wait for official F5122 dual sim support
Why would you wait for someone at Jolla to do what you can do yourself? I can't think of a single possible reason
 

The Following User Says Thank You to suicidal_orange For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:16.