Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2,802 | Thanked: 4,486 times | Joined on Nov 2007
#11
FWIW it resolves as 64.14.59.165 (via 4(!) CNAME indirections and as many parent domains) here:

Code:
$ host  supl.nokia.com
supl.nokia.com is an alias for nokia.supl.svc.ovi.com.
nokia.supl.svc.ovi.com is an alias for nokia.supl.geo.geodns.fi.
nokia.supl.geo.geodns.fi is an alias for uk.nokia.supl.geodns.fi.
uk.nokia.supl.geodns.fi is an alias for nokia.glpals.com.
nokia.glpals.com has address 64.14.59.165
WTF, that's probably needs more DNS traffic just to resolve than the actual SUPL data :-(

I'd say yeah, just stick a known-working IP in /etc/hosts.
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Nov 2010 @ central US
#12
Originally Posted by lma View Post
I'd say yeah, just stick a known-working IP in /etc/hosts.
That should work. Does anybody have an IP known to work via wifi connection?
 
Posts: 99 | Thanked: 65 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Finland
#13
Originally Posted by yoh View Post
That should work. Does anybody have an IP known to work via wifi connection?
66.35.236.25 works for me in all networks I've tried. This covers home, work, mobile internet and random APs abroad. If you have trouble with retrieving GPS assisntance data using public networks, this could be because the port 7275 SUPL uses. Many open wireless APs only allow traffic to well known ports such as 80 and 443 for HTTP and HTTPS, respectively.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to wnd For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,258 | Thanked: 668 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#14
Has anyone filed a bug?

Checked and agps-ui says latest cache refresh was December 20th.
 
Posts: 99 | Thanked: 65 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Finland
#15
Originally Posted by shadowjk View Post
Has anyone filed a bug?
I'd say SUPL port thing is a feature, not a bug. Still, I don't know how finished end-user products deal with this. Because A-GPS support for Maemo 4 is marked beta, Nokia is extremely unlikely to do anything about this.
 
Posts: 1,258 | Thanked: 668 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#16
I don't mean the port thing, I mean supld/supllistenerd's inability to communicate with certain Nokia supld servers.

I tried to summarize the thread into a proper bugreport at https://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=11798 anyway.

Issues about port 80 vs port 7275 are off topic for that bugreport.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to shadowjk For This Useful Post:
Posts: 99 | Thanked: 65 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Finland
#17
Originally Posted by shadowjk View Post
I don't mean the port thing, I mean supld/supllistenerd's inability to communicate with certain Nokia supld servers.

I tried to summarize the thread into a proper bugreport at https://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=11798 anyway.
Ah, oops. Sorry about that.
 
Posts: 5 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Oct 2008
#18
A-GPS has stopped working again. Until recently putting 66.35.236.25 into etc/hosts as the IP for supl.nokia.com was a solution but that no longer works. (Pinging 66.35.236.25 results in no data -- timeout). Using the IP for supl.google.com (IP 74.125.127.192) also does not work.

I'm using an N810.

Does anyone know of an IP that would work?
 
Posts: 2,802 | Thanked: 4,486 times | Joined on Nov 2007
#19
The server on 64.14.59.165, mentioned several times in this thread, still works.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lma For This Useful Post:
Posts: 5 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Oct 2008
#20
Thanks. I changed it to 64.14.59.165 and it now works. I had that IP in my hosts file but commented out. I must have tried it and for some reason my test failed, but now its OK
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:30.