Posts: 41 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#1
Sometimes my phone starts to use the processor alot and when I check Conky the process " hildon thumbnail " is eating it all up. Can I kill it somehow and why is it there? Loading thumbnails even though I haven't opened the picture app?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Xemaniac For This Useful Post:
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#2
You should find who is asking hildon-thumbnail to work.

You can run dbus-monitor in a console and check who is asking new thumbnails. Check if you find a D-Bus message like this:

method call sender=:1.106 -> dest=org.freedesktop.thumbnailer serial=14 path=/org/freedesktop/thumbnailer/Generic; interface=org.freedesktop.thumbnailer.Generic; member=Queue

If so, you know that ":1.106" is asking the thumbnail. You can find the pid of ":1.106" with the following command:

dbus-send --print-reply --dest=org.freedesktop.DBus /org/freedesktop/DBus org.freedesktop.DBus.GetConnectionUnixProcessID string::1.106

Maybe there is not a lot of thumbnail requests but only one thumbnail request which is stuck using 100% of CPU? You can check with the command "ls -l /proc/1442/fd" where 1442 is the pid of hildon-thumbnailerd. If the same photo is open for a long time, it may be a problem.

In any case, killing it should not be a problem (except that the thumbnails currently created will fail of course): it is restarted automatically (by D-Bus activation, see /usr/share/dbus-1/services/org.freedesktop.thumbnailer.service) when a process request a new thumbnail.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to albanc For This Useful Post:
Posts: 41 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#3
Thanks for the help, I'll try that!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Xemaniac For This Useful Post:
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 152 times | Joined on May 2009 @ Austria
#4
The problem is, hildon-thumbnailerd eats 100% cpu when anythint is mounted... if i have mounted my ext2-sdcard to /mmc or my pc mounted via sshfs to /home/user/mydocs/mnt, after a few minutes the hildon-thumbnailerd goes crazy.
Should i create a bugreport?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to AndiThebest For This Useful Post:
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#5
I've got the same problem. This happens sometimes after booting. I have a lot of pictures on my phone and when this happens all the thumbnails are suddenly gone and therefore recreated. If I turn off the device and turn it on again, everything is fine and all the thumbnails are back to normal. Anyone found a solution to this bug yet (a bug report has been filed already)?
 
misterc's Avatar
Posts: 1,625 | Thanked: 998 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#6
Originally Posted by Xemaniac View Post
Sometimes my phone starts to use the processor alot and when I check Conky the process " hildon thumbnail " is eating it all up. Can I kill it somehow and why is it there? Loading thumbnails even though I haven't opened the picture app?
install htop
(one time only) adjust the columns display to the N900's screen
  • open XTerminal &
    Code:
    root
    htop
  • tape F5 to view process tree
  • tap on F2 / Setup
  • tap on Columns and in the 2nd / central column remove all but
    • PID
    • STATE
    • PERCENT_CPU
    • PERCENT_MEM
    • Command
    • in the 2nd column select STATE
    • from the 3rd column add PPID
  • tap F10 to quit SETUP & F10 again to quit htop

whenever CPU seems overly busy...
  • open XTerminal &
    Code:
    root
    htop
  • N.B.: do NOT kill process with PID 1 (!)
  • select hildon-thumbnail process
  • hit F9 / KILL
  • confirm with enter
  • F10 to quit htop

if the PID with high CPU use
(CPU%) is not hildon-thumbnail exercise judgment before killing it
(!)
removing the battery will still stop your N900 but nonetheless...
as usual, use at your own risk

EDIT: the term-app-laucher which gets used by HTOP has (very) limited colours & does not support adjust font size with volume rocker => use XTerminal
__________________
information is a necessary though no sufficient condition to rationality...

Last edited by misterc; 2013-10-25 at 21:51. Reason: use XTerminal instead of HTOP icon
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to misterc For This Useful Post:
Posts: 95 | Thanked: 66 times | Joined on Mar 2012
#7
Try checking trackerd perhaps?
It indexes pictures, music, & videos in N900.
By default, it does that to many locations under MyDocs & the whole SDcard.

The config file is: /home/user/.config/tracker/tracker.cfg

There's an app that lets you tweak trackerd as well.

kh
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bozoid For This Useful Post:
misterc's Avatar
Posts: 1,625 | Thanked: 998 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#8
Originally Posted by bozoid View Post
Try checking trackerd perhaps?
It indexes pictures, music, & videos in N900.
By default, it does that to many locations under MyDocs & the whole SDcard.

The config file is: /home/user/.config/tracker/tracker.cfg

There's an app that lets you tweak trackerd as well.

kh
tried to tweak /home/user/.config/tracker/tracker.cfg like
Code:
# Initial sleep time in seconds (0->1000)
InitialSleep=300
# Minimizes memory use at the expense of indexing speed
LowMemoryMode=true

[Indexing]
# Sets the indexing speed (0->20, where 20=slowest speed)
Throttle=20
to no avail - starting after 5 min (300") the whole phone became so sluggish that it bordered unusable...

put pretty much everything to false
works just fine ¦-)))))
__________________
information is a necessary though no sufficient condition to rationality...
 
Posts: 1,680 | Thanked: 3,685 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#9
1. Don't use low memory mode FFS. Let trackerd finish what it is doing ASAP.

2. Rebuild tracker database, thumbnailerd is getting stuck on something.

If you want to get fancy use IONICE or something.
__________________
N900: One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to vi_ For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
fremantle, trackerd

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:53.