Reply
Thread Tools
F2thaK's Avatar
Posts: 4,365 | Thanked: 2,467 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia Mate
#1
Hi all, I need help making XML file for Control Panel applet...

I would like to make a properly integrated universal Theme section in the Settings Menu of the N9. I have made little progress with this, but have made a start.

http://www.multiupload.com/2CPGBLXT5H
Contains 2 files and 2 folders.

Explanation here.

This will create a foundation for making and changing themes universally on the device. It will make it much easier for both users and developers.

I just cant find the info of how to make the current widget work. I think one button per row is better, so longer names can fit. I was also thinking of another button to apply the theme and reboot.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks!







Settings > Device


> Theme

Last edited by F2thaK; 2011-12-26 at 07:20.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to F2thaK For This Useful Post:
marxian's Avatar
Posts: 2,448 | Thanked: 9,523 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Wigan, UK
#2
Post the contents of the XML file. It's probably just a syntax error.
__________________
'Men of high position are allowed, by a special act of grace, to accomodate their reasoning to the answer they need. Logic is only required in those of lesser rank.' - J K Galbraith

My website

GitHub
 

The Following User Says Thank You to marxian For This Useful Post:
F2thaK's Avatar
Posts: 4,365 | Thanked: 2,467 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia Mate
#3
http://www.multiupload.com/L0IQFNOWNK

Its probably got windows formatting, which I dont know how to avoid...

I want to make it run 2 scripts. Ive made one from your help to set theme with gconf. I just need to figure out how to make the XML run the scripts.
 
marxian's Avatar
Posts: 2,448 | Thanked: 9,523 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Wigan, UK
#4
The declarative applet can only be used to change a GConf value. You can't use it to execute a custom command. You don't actually need such a command, anyway.

This should work:

Code:
<xml version='1.0' encoding='UTF-8'>
<settings>
  <group title="Theme">
      <selection key="/meegotouch/theme/name" title="Select a theme:">
        <option title="Default" >blanco</option>
        <option title="Faster Darker" >fasterdarker</option>
    </selection>
  </group>
</settings>
__________________
'Men of high position are allowed, by a special act of grace, to accomodate their reasoning to the answer they need. Logic is only required in those of lesser rank.' - J K Galbraith

My website

GitHub
 

The Following User Says Thank You to marxian For This Useful Post:
F2thaK's Avatar
Posts: 4,365 | Thanked: 2,467 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia Mate
#5
hmm. same error. set permissions to 0755, same.

?
 
marxian's Avatar
Posts: 2,448 | Thanked: 9,523 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Wigan, UK
#6
I think perhaps the options can only have integer values, and must be in order, i.e.

Code:
<xml version='1.0' encoding='UTF-8'>
<settings>
  <group title="Theme">
      <selection key="/meegotouch/theme/name" title="Select a theme:">
        <option title="Default" >1</option>
        <option title="Faster Darker" >2</option>
    </selection>
  </group>
</settings>
The documentation is not exactly exhaustive on what options are available when using a declarative applet. What you need is to be able to set a string value using either a button row or selection list.
__________________
'Men of high position are allowed, by a special act of grace, to accomodate their reasoning to the answer they need. Logic is only required in those of lesser rank.' - J K Galbraith

My website

GitHub
 

The Following User Says Thank You to marxian For This Useful Post:
F2thaK's Avatar
Posts: 4,365 | Thanked: 2,467 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia Mate
#7
Code:
<settings>
      <selection key="/meegotouch/theme/name" title="Select a theme:">
        <option title="Default" >1</option>
        <option title="Faster Darker Better" >2</option>
    </selection>
</settings>
this works.. now, how to actually make it do something.

edit: cant change the numbers 1 & 2, it goes back to the original error.

found some reading material
http://harmattan-dev.nokia.com/docs/...cm9scGFuZWw%3D
http://harmattan-dev.nokia.com/docs/...veplugins.html

Last edited by F2thaK; 2011-12-25 at 09:28.
 
F2thaK's Avatar
Posts: 4,365 | Thanked: 2,467 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia Mate
#8
On this page:
harmattan-dev.nokia.com/docs/platform-api-reference/showdoc.php?pkn=libduicontrolpanel&wb=daily-docs&url=Li94bWwvZGFpbHktZG9jcy9saWJkdWljb250cm9sc GFuZWw%3D

It says:
You can find an example about how to do this under examples/declarativeapplets/localized in controlpanel source.

Okay, so where is this controlpanel source?
 
nicolai's Avatar
Posts: 1,637 | Thanked: 4,424 times | Joined on Apr 2009 @ Germany
#9
 

The Following User Says Thank You to nicolai For This Useful Post:
F2thaK's Avatar
Posts: 4,365 | Thanked: 2,467 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia Mate
#10
Awesome! Why dont they link to that page?! Thanks!!
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:26.