Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 309 | Thanked: 519 times | Joined on Oct 2010
#41
Originally Posted by justmemory View Post
Hi,

first of all I would like to thank the development of this app!

Motion detection is working fine with stock camera app, but the timelapse doesn't take any picture at all (tested with stock camera and FCam). Do you have any idea what I am doing wrong...?

Thanks,

jm

hey cheers -- haven't done much to this in yonks

Yeah in my experience the timelapse bugs are more to do with the somewhat buggy native alarmd library than anything else -- I was trying to avoid using cron unneccesarily, but maybe I should switch for stability.....

Anyhoo, let me see if I can actually help or not:
* What params did you set for the timelapse?
* Were the relevant alarm cookies showing in the timelapse window?
__________________
PhoneStreamer - VLC/Webcam/Audio streaming to your PC. Also it's a SPYCAM app
WatchDog - Motion Detector and Time Lapser. Securicam!
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tetris11_ For This Useful Post:
Posts: 391 | Thanked: 908 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ suncity
#42
Originally Posted by tetris11_ View Post
hey cheers -- haven't done much to this in yonks

Yeah in my experience the timelapse bugs are more to do with the somewhat buggy native alarmd library than anything else -- I was trying to avoid using cron unneccesarily, but maybe I should switch for stability.....

Anyhoo, let me see if I can actually help or not:
* What params did you set for the timelapse?
* Were the relevant alarm cookies showing in the timelapse window?
Hi,

thanks for your answer and help

I attached 2 images about the configuration.
*I just wanted to take pictures, so I set 1 minute time interval, not to convert to video.
*What are the relevant alarm cookies...? Those that let me set time interval...? That is why I attached the images, maybe this could help...

Thanks,

jm
Attached Images
  
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to justmemory For This Useful Post:
Posts: 309 | Thanked: 519 times | Joined on Oct 2010
#43
The alarmd cookies are the listed items on the second image you provided -- these tell the alarmd daemon: when to run, what to run, and who set the alarm.

So right now you've just confirmed that the cookies are being set properly and read from alarmed properly, but unfortunately alamred is not processing them for some buggy reason I've seen before that comes with executing custom scripts....

This leaves me with two options:
* 1 . write my own background daemon, which would be overkill
* 2. Use cron, which is nice and easy but I have no idea how reliable or resource hungry it is.

I'll try and find some time to play with this over the coming months, but no promises as usual. Thanks for the feedback anyhow
 

The Following User Says Thank You to tetris11_ For This Useful Post:
Posts: 391 | Thanked: 908 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ suncity
#44
Originally Posted by tetris11_ View Post
The alarmd cookies are the listed items on the second image you provided -- these tell the alarmd daemon: when to run, what to run, and who set the alarm.

So right now you've just confirmed that the cookies are being set properly and read from alarmed properly, but unfortunately alamred is not processing them for some buggy reason I've seen before that comes with executing custom scripts....

This leaves me with two options:
* 1 . write my own background daemon, which would be overkill
* 2. Use cron, which is nice and easy but I have no idea how reliable or resource hungry it is.

I'll try and find some time to play with this over the coming months, but no promises as usual. Thanks for the feedback anyhow
that is OK, tetris11_, thanks for your reply and effort!
I shall make things manually until then

cheers,

jm
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to justmemory For This Useful Post:
Posts: 309 | Thanked: 519 times | Joined on Oct 2010
#45
A quick fix until then would be to install cron, phone-control, and imagemagik and run:

TimeLapse.sh:
=============
Code:
#!/bin/bash

# Edit these
cap_script=/home/user/MyDocs/cap_script.sh
cap_dir=/var/tmp

an_script=/home/user/MyDocs/animate_script.sh
output_anim= $cap_dir/output_animation.gif

every_N_min=20
between_hour="11-12"

####################


# Make capture script
echo "
#!/bin/bash
phone-control --capture $cap_dir/`date +%Y_%m_%d-%H_%M_%S`.jpg
" >  $cap_script

# copy+backup current crontab
crontab -l  > old_cron.txt
cp old_cron.txt current_cron.txt

# Make the animate script that also restores the previous cron (and deletes the timelapse job)
echo "
#!/bin/bash
convert   -delay 20   -loop 0   $cap_dir/*.jpg  $output_anim
crontab old_cron.txt
rm old_cron.txt
" >  $an_script


# The following will execute the capture script "every N minutes" between the hours of "between_hour" just for today

echo "#min  hour   dom  mon dow year" >> current_cron.txt
echo " */$every_N_min   $between_hour   `date +%d\ %m\ %w\ %Y` $cap_script >> current_cron.txt

# Add animation script an hour after it runs to cron
echo " 0   $(( `echo $between_hour | egrep "[0-9]+$"` + 1 ))   `date +%d\ %m\ %w\ %Y`  $an_script >> current_cron.txt


# Write new crontab
crontab current_cron.txt
rm current_cron.txt
__________________
PhoneStreamer - VLC/Webcam/Audio streaming to your PC. Also it's a SPYCAM app
WatchDog - Motion Detector and Time Lapser. Securicam!
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to tetris11_ For This Useful Post:
Posts: 26 | Thanked: 16 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#46
great app,keep n900 go on...
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to PUNK For This Useful Post:
Posts: 391 | Thanked: 908 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ suncity
#47
Originally Posted by tetris11_ View Post
A quick fix until then would be to install cron, phone-control, and imagemagik and run:

TimeLapse.sh:
=============
Code:
#!/bin/bash

# Edit these
cap_script=/home/user/MyDocs/cap_script.sh
cap_dir=/var/tmp

an_script=/home/user/MyDocs/animate_script.sh
output_anim= $cap_dir/output_animation.gif

every_N_min=20
between_hour="11-12"

####################


# Make capture script
echo "
#!/bin/bash
phone-control --capture $cap_dir/`date +%Y_%m_%d-%H_%M_%S`.jpg
" >  $cap_script

# copy+backup current crontab
crontab -l  > old_cron.txt
cp old_cron.txt current_cron.txt

# Make the animate script that also restores the previous cron (and deletes the timelapse job)
echo "
#!/bin/bash
convert   -delay 20   -loop 0   $cap_dir/*.jpg  $output_anim
crontab old_cron.txt
rm old_cron.txt
" >  $an_script


# The following will execute the capture script "every N minutes" between the hours of "between_hour" just for today

echo "#min  hour   dom  mon dow year" >> current_cron.txt
echo " */$every_N_min   $between_hour   `date +%d\ %m\ %w\ %Y` $cap_script >> current_cron.txt

# Add animation script an hour after it runs to cron
echo " 0   $(( `echo $between_hour | egrep "[0-9]+$"` + 1 ))   `date +%d\ %m\ %w\ %Y`  $an_script >> current_cron.txt


# Write new crontab
crontab current_cron.txt
rm current_cron.txt
Hi tetris11_,

thanks for the reply and fix!

I was wondering about using gst-launch with "sleep x seconds".

EDIT: OK, forget about gst-launch; I'm unable to take apropriate pictures: the results are greenish and dark even with the back camera...

EDIT: My bad, it is possible to take fine pictures, just need to use the appropropriate commands: http://wiki.maemo.org/Phone_control#...h_front_camera

Cheers,

jm

Last edited by justmemory; 2014-10-07 at 07:23.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to justmemory For This Useful Post:
Posts: 18 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Nov 2013 @ Hungary
#48
Hello!

Is it only for me or the app wont start?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to viktor80 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 309 | Thanked: 519 times | Joined on Oct 2010
#49
no no, this is normal...

It's unable to allocate enough memory and so it just... doesn't.

You can ask the kernel to overcommit memory, or kill a few resource-hogging background processes and see if that works...

Neat app, huh?
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to tetris11_ For This Useful Post:
Posts: 290 | Thanked: 385 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Madrid, Spain
#50
Hi.
I'm testing this app, but I can't set the white threshold above 4999: it complains with:
Code:
White needs to be a valid integer
The command line looks like:
Code:
 /opt/watchdog/bin/watchdog -c -d -s 1280 960 -w 5999 -t 30:00
Is there a workaround for this?

Regards.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pasko For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
nokia n900, watchdog

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:13.