Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
shanttu's Avatar
Posts: 234 | Thanked: 281 times | Joined on Nov 2010 @ Helsinki
#101
Originally Posted by mr id View Post
also could you browse to the server on your phne's browser. http://yourip:8080/

can you see it okay?
403 Forbidden (/)
VideoLAN

Using remote everything seems to be ok. I can see what file is playing and in which position but then crash.
I have to study those debugging methods before I can give more info.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to shanttu For This Useful Post:
Posts: 237 | Thanked: 193 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Brighton, UK
#102
Okay, doesn't sound like that then. Have you changed the frequency of requests in the settings / options to something too small for your network?

Does increasing the polling frequency to say 30 seconds give you stability?

Could you also attach the output of http://127.0.0.1:8080/requests/status.xml
&
http://127.0.0.1:8080/requests/playlist.xml
from the machine with VLC running on it?

may as well rule out some other issues as well before assuming it's CSSU related (which I haven't tested yet btw as I don't use it).

cheers
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mr id For This Useful Post:
shanttu's Avatar
Posts: 234 | Thanked: 281 times | Joined on Nov 2010 @ Helsinki
#103
Originally Posted by mr id View Post
Okay, doesn't sound like that then. Have you changed the frequency of requests in the settings / options to something too small for your network?

Does increasing the polling frequency to say 30 seconds give you stability?

Could you also attach the output of http://127.0.0.1:8080/requests/status.xml
&
http://127.0.0.1:8080/requests/playlist.xml
from the machine with VLC running on it?

may as well rule out some other issues as well before assuming it's CSSU related (which I haven't tested yet btw as I don't use it).

cheers
I haven't touched any settings so they have been default. I changed Update frequency from 5000 to 25000 and it is a bit more stable, but still crashes.
How to set polling frequency? (sorry.. still learning)

http://i.imgur.com/YqPep.png
http://i.imgur.com/gMG1I.png
(on pastebin it did not look that clear)

Last edited by shanttu; 2011-09-12 at 19:25. Reason: changed might be more stable to it is
 

The Following User Says Thank You to shanttu For This Useful Post:
Posts: 237 | Thanked: 193 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Brighton, UK
#104
Originally Posted by shanttu View Post
I haven't touched any settings so they have been default. I changed Update frequency from 5000 to 25000 and it is a bit more stable, but still crashes.
How to set polling frequency? (sorry.. still learning)
That's the setting I meant - sorry it's been a long time since I wrote it

Originally Posted by shanttu View Post
http://i.imgur.com/YqPep.png
http://i.imgur.com/gMG1I.png
(on pastebin it did not look that clear)
Thanks for that. They look fine (in fact very simple) so unlikely to be the cause.

I'm charging my n900 atm and will install the CSSU and do some testing this evening.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to mr id For This Useful Post:
Posts: 237 | Thanked: 193 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Brighton, UK
#105
Yep. It segfaults for me as well with the CSSU installed.
Might try and find out why tomorrow.
Most likely Qt related (a Gtk version doesn't suffer from the same issues) not sure what exactly the CSSU updates.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mr id For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,024 | Thanked: 12,563 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Sofia,Bulgaria
#106
Originally Posted by mr id View Post
Yep. It segfaults for me as well with the CSSU installed.
Might try and find out why tomorrow.
Most likely Qt related (a Gtk version doesn't suffer from the same issues) not sure what exactly the CSSU updates.
CSSU for sure updates Qt. Could you give me some instructions on how to reproduce this? Have in mind that I am not using vlc-remote, neither have vlc server set up.

Thanks.
 
Posts: 237 | Thanked: 193 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Brighton, UK
#107
Originally Posted by freemangordon View Post
CSSU for sure updates Qt. Could you give me some instructions on how to reproduce this? Have in mind that I am not using vlc-remote, neither have vlc server set up.

Thanks.
Are you Linux or Windows on your desktop/laptop?

Either way

Install VLC on your desktop.
Enable the Web Http Interface.
Set a file or file in your playlist / playing (i.e. open at least one media file in vlc)

Install vlc-remote on your N900
Run vlc-remote
Configure a new connection (your Desktop's IP address / Port 8080) and use it

Wait a 10 - 30 seconds for it to segfault and close

http://www.chocolatechunkapps.com/ap...remotecontrol/
has a good guide for setting up the desktop VLC client for remote access.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mr id For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,024 | Thanked: 12,563 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Sofia,Bulgaria
#108
@mr id - thanks, it is most probably the problem with Qt 4.7.4, and as I have all setup for debugging it I think I will find the bug easy. Will try to do it tomorrow. Anyway you can try to find it too.

Again, thanks and sorry for the problems.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to freemangordon For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,024 | Thanked: 12,563 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Sofia,Bulgaria
#109
Originally Posted by mr id View Post
Are you Linux or Windows on your desktop/laptop?

Either way

Install VLC on your desktop.
Enable the Web Http Interface.
Set a file or file in your playlist / playing (i.e. open at least one media file in vlc)

Install vlc-remote on your N900
Run vlc-remote
Configure a new connection (your Desktop's IP address / Port 8080) and use it

Wait a 10 - 30 seconds for it to segfault and close

http://www.chocolatechunkapps.com/ap...remotecontrol/
has a good guide for setting up the desktop VLC client for remote access.
Bug found and will be fixed in the next CSSU update. More info here (if interested)

BTW great program, thanks to trolls for introducing the bug in Qt so I saw it.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to freemangordon For This Useful Post:
Posts: 237 | Thanked: 193 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Brighton, UK
#110
Originally Posted by freemangordon View Post
Bug found and will be fixed in the next CSSU update. More info here (if interested)

BTW great program, thanks to trolls for introducing the bug in Qt so I saw it.

Thanks and thanks.

It'll get me to finally try out the CSSU as well!

Cheers
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:49.