Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 13 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#41
Originally Posted by filologen View Post
For me it works, if I simply put the following in my .emacs:

Code:
(set-default-font "Droid Sans Mono-10")
(require 'maxframe)
(add-hook 'window-setup-hook 'maximize-frame t)
(maximize-frame)
I have also disabled menu-bar-mode and tool-bar-mode (I always do that on any system -- all they do is take up space)
Ah, ok -- I didn't realise that I had to disable these. So now I've got
Code:
(menu-bar-mode 0)
(tool-bar-mode -1)                                    
(set-default-font "Droid Sans Mono-12")
(add-to-list 'load-path "/usr/local/share/elisp")
(require 'maxframe)
(add-hook 'window-setup-hook 'maximize-frame t)
(maximize-frame)
in my ~/.emacs and I have a visible one-line minibuffer. Thanks.

Best regards, Jan
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to jtkim For This Useful Post:
zoner's Avatar
Posts: 74 | Thanked: 38 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#42
thanks to all who posted here. Org-mode & bbdb - this device is everything I'd hoped for!
Attached Images
 
 
Posts: 28 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#43
Please can someone help a newbie?

I've not used linux in around 10 years, and I've spent a lot of time on morphine since then thanks to health issues, so my mind has pretty much forgotten everything.
I can remember cd commands to get into directories, and I can remember ls... but that's about it.


I've been following your guide to install Emacs. I've got it installed, but now I'm trying to switch the keyboard layout and it just doesn't seem to do anything.
It says to press function key and tab for escape... but I'm justlooking at the N900 keyboard and there is no function key or tab...

Can anyone help me?

I'm sorry for being so useless. I got the phone yesterday and I'm trying to get japanese / chinese language input.

ALso.. if anyone knows, will Emacs do Greek?
My parents live in Greece, so it'd be nice to learn a bit of Greek as well!

Oh and Tibetan as well... does it do that? I'm so new to all of this.
I went into the shop expecting to buy a Windows phone, and had been researching that extensively.. and I came home with a Linux phone!
I love it, totally love it, but wow it's got a learning curve!

Nicola
 
Posts: 451 | Thanked: 334 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#44
Originally Posted by Djonma View Post
It says to press function key and tab for escape... but I'm justlooking at the N900 keyboard and there is no function key or tab...
Fn key is the middle one on the left side. For tab you need to remap the keyboard, all discussed in this thread already: http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p...1&postcount=14

Code:
ALso.. if anyone knows, will Emacs do Greek?
My parents live in Greece, so it'd be nice to learn a bit of Greek as well!

Oh and Tibetan as well... does it do that?
Yep to both.

Code:
I went into the shop expecting to buy a Windows phone, and had been researching that extensively.. and I came home with a Linux phone!
I love it, totally love it, but wow it's got a learning curve!
You chose wisely.

With Emacs you'll learn to fly, you can do things Windoze phone users didn't even dream of.

It's tough though, but don't give, once you get it, you'll have immense power at your fingertips.
 
Posts: 3,841 | Thanked: 1,079 times | Joined on Nov 2006
#45
Well, <tab> is also ctrl-I (press and hold ctrl, then the letter 'i'). I use that instead of <tab> for command line completion and the like. Should work in Emacs too.
__________________
N800/OS2007|N900/Maemo5
-- Metalayer-crawler delenda est.
-- Current state: Fed up with everything MeeGo.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to TA-t3 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 451 | Thanked: 334 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#46
The question is not TAB, which is not needed in Emacs, but ESC. And the guide on remapping says to hit Fn-Left to get Esc.

Otherwise Ctr-i gives you Tab in Emacs also.
 
Posts: 3,841 | Thanked: 1,079 times | Joined on Nov 2006
#47
I use <tab> all the time with Emacs, so I don't know why you say it's not needed. <tab> invokes the auto-indentation when writing code, for example. And other things. I use it all the time.

Of course <esc> (as Meta) is needed too, although not all the time. So something to map in Meta is also useful.
__________________
N800/OS2007|N900/Maemo5
-- Metalayer-crawler delenda est.
-- Current state: Fed up with everything MeeGo.
 
Posts: 451 | Thanked: 334 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#48
You're right, it's useful for autoindentation etc.

However Esc or Meta is necessary for Emacs, that's why you need to remap.
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Mar 2010
#49
as M-x replacement I use

(global-set-key (kbd "C-x m") 'execute-extended-command)

I've built GVim inside scratchbox. Note that GVim does have sticky modifiers when run with graphical UI

Update: I've noticed that Special characters view that appears when typing Fn+Ctrl (Sym) is also available in GVim graphical UI.

Last edited by yakov; 2010-03-04 at 09:48.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to yakov For This Useful Post:
Posts: 451 | Thanked: 334 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#50
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:54.