Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 587 | Thanked: 1,615 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#1
GPXSee is a Qt-based GPS log file viewer and analyzer that supports GPX, TCX, KML, FIT, IGC and NMEA files.
  • User-definable map sources.
  • Elevation, speed, heart rate, cadence, power and temperature graphs.
  • Support for multiple tracks in one view.
  • Support for POI files.
  • Export to PDF.
  • Full-screen mode.


To load user defined map source tiles you need to create a maps.txt in "/home/user/.gpxsee"
or versions >=5.6 a mapname.xml in "/home/user/.gpxsee/maps.
When you downloading many tiles take care of your free memory maybe make a symlink ln -s /home/user/MyDocs/maps/tiles home/user/.gpxsee/tiles same technic apply accordingly for offline maps.

Therefore you need to create the folder ".gpxsee" make sure everyone has write and read access (chmod 777).

maps.txt example for openstreetmaps until maemo gpxsee version 4.16:
Code:
Map1     http://tile.openstreetmap.org/$z/$x/$y.png
Version >= 5.6 the map file is in xml format.
For additional map sources you can have a look here https://github.com/tumic0/GPXSee-maps

GPXSee is in extras-devel repository.
Or you can find it on openrepos.

For further shortcuts open keyboard controls from the application menu.
Menu entries beginning with "->" will go to another menu.
Menu entries ending with "..." will open a dialog.

With a mouse right click (long tap) you can change the units (metric/imperial), the axis (distance/time) and you can choose the map source.

If you have more gpx files in the opening folder, you can switch between them with ctrl+left and ctrl+right.

Zooming works when the map is active with the volume buttons. You could also use a mouse double click.
Since version 5.13 you could use "o"-key and "l"-key for zooming and in the last zoom step whit shift+o and shift+l you will have digital zooming.


Support for the last released version:
GPX, TCX, FIT, KML, IGC, NMEA, OziExplorer (PLT, RTE, WPT) and Garmin CSV
  • GPS data
  • Heart rate
  • Cadence
  • Power
  • Temperature
  • Gear ratio/shifts (Shimano Di2, SRAM eTap)





Have a look in the coding competition thread for happy voting.
Attached Files
File Type: txt maps.txt (49 Bytes, 108 views)

Last edited by Halftux; 2018-10-02 at 17:14. Reason: general update
 

The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,376 | Thanked: 1,600 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Göteborg, Sweden
#2
Using this map:
Hike&Bike http://a.tiles.wmflabs.org/hikebike/$z/$x/$y.png

the map does not display until one moves the slippy map around then the off-screen part is seen as "painted" and you can then do enough movements to get the map displayed.

OpenTopo https://a.tile.opentopomap.org/$z/$x/$y.png

does not display at all, even though the URL works in browser. See for eg. https://a.tile.opentopomap.org/14/8695/5583.png

Looks good.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to handaxe For This Useful Post:
Posts: 587 | Thanked: 1,615 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#3
Originally Posted by handaxe View Post
Using this map:
Hike&Bike http://a.tiles.wmflabs.org/hikebike/$z/$x/$y.png

the map does not display until one moves the slippy map around then the off-screen part is seen as "painted" and you can then do enough movements to get the map displayed.
Thank you for trying. So you see your track on a white background and when you are moving the map, tiles get loaded in principle with a shift to your track?
It could be that there is already a commit on git about some correction for the tiles calculation. Will see if I can reproduce this behavior until now never observed this.


Originally Posted by handaxe View Post
OpenTopo https://a.tile.opentopomap.org/$z/$x/$y.png

does not display at all, even though the URL works in browser. See for eg. https://a.tile.opentopomap.org/14/8695/5583.png

Looks good.
Yes I had the same experience, it seems that https is not supported I will have a look into it.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 80 times | Joined on Dec 2016 @ 127.0.0.1
#4
That's exactly what I miss on my jolla. Could someone port this ?!
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to schorsch For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,376 | Thanked: 1,600 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Göteborg, Sweden
#5
Originally Posted by Halftux View Post
So you see your track on a white background and when you are moving the map, tiles get loaded in principle with a shift to your track?
As best I can see, there is no shift to the track. Unless I misunderstand you.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to handaxe For This Useful Post:
Posts: 587 | Thanked: 1,615 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#6
Originally Posted by handaxe View Post
As best I can see, there is no shift to the track. Unless I misunderstand you.
I guess problems related to tiles were already downstream fixed. So I uploaded a new version and it has free scrolling of the map now.

And yes there is a ssl handshake problem. It seems that I need to implement a ssl-socket connection. Never did this before so now it is time for reading and learning.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 587 | Thanked: 1,615 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#7
Originally Posted by schorsch View Post
That's exactly what I miss on my jolla. Could someone port this ?!
I would like to port the application to SFOS but I don't know qml.
And this application is not good for beginners to start convert from qwidget to qml. Anyway it would take ages because I need to learn.

On SFOS I have running qtwidget application but there is no good support like rotating an application and as far as I know there is no gl support. I can have a look if it is worth to port and to stick with widgets but I guess it would be a bad performance, it is not maemo....
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 587 | Thanked: 1,615 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#8
Originally Posted by handaxe View Post

OpenTopo https://a.tile.opentopomap.org/$z/$x/$y.png

.
It works now, a little bit slow but it works.
Was much easier than I thought .. sooo qt. Hence a new version on his way.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 637 | Thanked: 1,491 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#9
Seven years later,

users are still
(successfully !)
adding new software to the incredible n900.

The tag for this specification is

Peerless.


Now if I could just work out why I cannot get maps.txt to work...
Attached Images
 
__________________
Three n900s: One for stable working platform,
One for development testing Chopping Onions
One for saltwater immersion power testing resurrected ! parts scavenging

My Mods for Wonko's Advanced Clock Plugin:
ISO8601 clock mod and Momental_IST clock mod

Printing your Email with the N900
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to theonelaw For This Useful Post:
Posts: 587 | Thanked: 1,615 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#10
Originally Posted by theonelaw View Post
Now if I could just work out why I cannot get maps.txt to work...
I have a check list for you.

- check folder and file permission
- between Map1 and http check if there is really a tabulator.
- file should be unix utf8 encoding
- check if internet is working
- try to toggle the map on and off with ctrl+m

Last edited by Halftux; 2017-01-26 at 08:23.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
gpxsee, gpxview, track, viewer

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:32.