Posts: 1,187 | Thanked: 816 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Australia
Hello TMO!

I have an idea - I'd like to bring it to reality. I have made mention in the Neo900 thread that I want to put an ATMEGA into the N/Neo900 so we can make anything out of our phones!
Just another cool thing we can do with an N900 that most (all?) others cannot! haha...

Essentially N900'Duino!
Should be as easy as, remove rear case, place ATMEGA case on.

This will also work with standard N900, no need for Neo (will be better with the neo board - IO connections).

What I need: An STL or 3D design file of the N900 rear case.
I'm not a graphic designer and will take me far too long to make an N900 3D design file. I have tried autocad (123) to make an STL from photos, did not work.

I plan on printing the file once I have the connection points ready.

What it will (theoretically) do: Have an arduino compatible unit in the case, with an external header (embedded into the case) which we can add SHIELDS on top of!

The Following User Says Thank You to kingoddball For This Useful Post:
As promised in Backcover/Body Replacement thread, I'll release all project files for produced components under some Free license (might need to evaluate best one to use, Creative Commons comes out from top of my head). For a backcover, it is actually 100% ready - just checking for elements that may prove problematic to anodize and, eventually, correcting them.

If you don't care about such details as anodizing-friendly shaped, I may send you current, pre-polished version of files. *Although*, I don't have STL (or other 3D) files for backcover, using 2D CAD drawings from various planes, and converting them to g-codes for CNC milling/3-D printing (inc. enormous amount of manual work, i.e. manual g-codes correcting/writing). Of course, g-codes are also things that I'll be releasing, and may share a non-polished (yet) version with you.
---