Reply
Thread Tools
PinCushionQueen's Avatar
Posts: 538 | Thanked: 168 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Seattle
#11
Originally Posted by GeneralAntilles View Post
/etc/systemui/systemui.xml

Uncomment the appropriate lines.
Sorry to be so dense, but which lines should be uncommented?

Thanks
__________________
When you wish upon a star, your dreams really can come true... Unless it's an asteroid hurtling towards earth that will destroy all life.
 
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#12
The

-->

and the

<--

Actually come think of it, they need to be deleted.

Last edited by qwerty12; 2008-05-21 at 13:24.
 
GeneralAntilles's Avatar
Posts: 5,478 | Thanked: 5,222 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ St. Petersburg, FL
#13
OK, quick guide:

Code:
vi /etc/systemui/systemui.xml
You'll see this:

Code:
<powerkeymenu path="/">
 <title>powerup_application_title</title>
 <po>osso-powerup-shutdown</po>
 <menuitem priority="100" name="powerup_memainmenu_locktouchscreen">
  <return>1</return>
  <po>osso-powerup-shutdown</po>
 </menuitem>
 <menuitem priority="90" name="powerup_memainmenu_normalmode" visible="flight">
  <keyfile>/var/lib/mce/mode</keyfile>
  <return>2</return>
  <po>osso-powerup-shutdown</po>
 </menuitem>
 <menuitem priority="90" name="powerup_memainmenu_flightmode" visible="normal">
  <keyfile>/var/lib/mce/mode</keyfile>
  <return>3</return>
  <po>osso-powerup-shutdown</po>
 </menuitem>
 <menuitem priority="80" name="powerup_memainmenu_lockdevice" disabled="yes">
  <keyfile>/var/run/mce/call</keyfile>
  <return>4</return>
  <po>osso-powerup-shutdown</po>
  <disabled_reason name="powerup_ib_device_lock_not_available">
   <po>osso-powerup-shutdown</po>
  </disabled_reason>
 </menuitem>
<!--
 <menuitem priority="20" name="Reboot">
  <return>6</return>
  <po>osso-powerup-shutdown</po>
 </menuitem>
 <menuitem priority="10" name="Soft poweroff">
  <return>7</return>
  <po>osso-powerup-shutdown</po>
 </menuitem>
 <menuitem priority="5" name="Top in XTerm">
  <callback service="com.nokia.xterm" path="/com/nokia/xterm" interface="com.nokia.xterm" method="run_command" bus="session" autostart="true">
   <argument type="string">/usr/bin/top</argument>
  </callback>
 </menuitem>
-->
 <menuitem priority="0" name="powerup_memainmenu_poweroff">
  <return>5</return>
  <po>osso-powerup-shutdown</po>
 </menuitem>
</powerkeymenu>
You want to change this

Code:
<!--
 <menuitem priority="20" name="Reboot">
  <return>6</return>
  <po>osso-powerup-shutdown</po>
 </menuitem>
to this

Code:
 <menuitem priority="20" name="Reboot">
  <return>6</return>
  <po>osso-powerup-shutdown</po>
 </menuitem>
<!--
(i.e. moved the '<!--' down below the '</menuitem>' for the Reboot section)

Press <esc> (back key) :wq <return>.

Restart.

Voilą!

You could also add "Soft poweroff" and "Top in Xterm" (which is actually an interesting thing that somebody could use for something cool besides top), but soft poweroff is completely non-functional in OS2008 thanks to some stupid regression that was fixed in November but may never ship because this awesome feature isn't "supported" (Please vote for bug #2400 if this is important for you!) and "Top in Xterm" will likely be useless for the vast majority of people.

Last edited by GeneralAntilles; 2008-05-21 at 13:33.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to GeneralAntilles For This Useful Post:
Posts: 674 | Thanked: 191 times | Joined on Mar 2008 @ Buenos Aires, Argentina
#14
Actually, the --> and the <-- should be removed to uncomment the enclosed code.

EDIT: GeneralAntilles was faster (and clearer) than me.
 
Posts: 2,152 | Thanked: 1,490 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Czech Republic
#15
Originally Posted by grog View Post
I get a chance to hit the menu key to select the boot target (a frustratingly short chance, I might add, but that's for another topic)
No need to do this if you don't like it. You can set default choice and also have the menu always shown with timeout.

chroot /mnt/initfs cal-tool -R ask
or
chroot /mnt/initfs cal-tool -R ask:whateverisyourdefaultchoice
example:
chroot /mnt/initfs cal-tool -R ask:mmc2

This is described both in included README and in almost every dual-booting guide.

Originally Posted by grog View Post
if I shutdown (which I will try to do after missing the aforementioned option), then I do not get the bootemu option at all.
you should unless you have charger attached, with charger no proper shutdown is done
__________________
Newbies click here before posting. Thanks.

If you really need to PM me with troubleshooting question please consider posting it to the forum instead. It is OK to PM me a link to such post then. Thank you.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fanoush For This Useful Post:
PinCushionQueen's Avatar
Posts: 538 | Thanked: 168 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Seattle
#16
Thanks for the great instructions General, you're a sweetie
__________________
When you wish upon a star, your dreams really can come true... Unless it's an asteroid hurtling towards earth that will destroy all life.
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#17
Originally Posted by GeneralAntilles View Post
You could also add "Soft poweroff" and "Top in Xterm" (which is actually an interesting thing that somebody could use for something cool besides top), but soft poweroff is completely non-functional in OS2008 thanks to some stupid regression that was fixed in November but may never ship because this awesome feature isn't "supported" (Please vote for bug #2400 if this is important for you!) and "Top in Xterm" will likely be useless for the vast majority of people.
Well, I'm not sure exactly how soft poweroff failed; it was a while ago when I switched to powerlaunch, but I haven't got powerlaunch installed yet in Diablo. The soft-poweroff seems to work, both by double-tapping power (which is cool) and by selecting from the menu (although sometimes the menu won't come up; I think that's related to prereleaseness of systemui, but I really haven't looked into it). I had never known about systemui.xml back when I used it; all I edited before was mce.ini, which also seems expanded. (Maybe I'm remembering from OS2007...)

How exactly is soft-poweroff "completely non-functional"?

Last edited by Benson; 2008-05-21 at 14:15.
 
GeneralAntilles's Avatar
Posts: 5,478 | Thanked: 5,222 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ St. Petersburg, FL
#18
Originally Posted by PinCushionQueen View Post
General, you're a sweetie
I dunno about sweetie, but sweaty, maybe . . . summer's here in force (pushing the low-90s) and my AC is already lagging behind. :\

Originally Posted by Benson View Post
Well, I'm not sure exactly how soft poweroff failed; it was a while ago when I switched to powerlaunch, but I haven't got powerlaunch installed yet in Diablo.
Tapping the touchscreen turns it back on and the device continues operating as if it were never put into soft poweroff-mode.

Originally Posted by Benson View Post
The soft-poweroff seems to work, both by double-tapping power (which is cool) and by selecting from the menu (although sometimes the menu won't come up; I think that's related to prereleaseness of systemui, but I really haven't looked into it).
It does seem less consistent in Diablo than it was with Chinook (it seems to work sometimes now), but it usually doesn't actually turn off the touchscreen.

Originally Posted by Benson View Post
I had never known about systemui.xml back when I used it; all I edited before was mce.ini (which also seems expanded; maybe I'm remembering from OS2007...).
Yeah, systemui.xml controls the powerkey menu. mce.ini has definitely been expanded since OS2007. They introduced a whole range of options for controlling radio-mode which would be quite useful for a lot of people . . . if it worked. :\

The mce in Diablo right now is 1.7.19, according to David, the fix is in 1.7.6.

Last edited by GeneralAntilles; 2008-05-21 at 13:57.
 
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#19
The fact that the touchscreen and buttons are still activated iirc.

Last edited by qwerty12; 2008-05-21 at 13:55. Reason: Too late
 
Mara's Avatar
Posts: 1,310 | Thanked: 820 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Irving, TX
#20
Originally Posted by GThreepwood View Post
I never knew that I wanted this feature but it's pretty handy
...so you are saying that Microsoft did something right in their OS:es...
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:58.