Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 161 | Thanked: 85 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#1
do you guys know any way to change the desktop order? I mean which is the laziest way to exchange desktop 2 and 4?
 
Posts: 161 | Thanked: 85 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#2
no one has any suggestion? should i really move icons and widgets one by one??
 
dchky's Avatar
Posts: 549 | Thanked: 299 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Australian in the Philippines
#3
I don't know of any built-in way to do it, I'd like to think that there is, but I doubt it.

Take a look at the following directory:
/var/lib/gconf/apps/osso/hildon-desktop/applets

It would be relatively easy to hack together a bit of a script to iterate through each directory and change all the view values from X to Y - but also there might be a magic gconf incantation to do this as well.

I'll have a think about this and see if I can figure something out for you - this is a feature I want as well, so itch, needs scratching.

Check back this time tomorrow : )

If you run this as root you can see all the current view locations for each item:
gconftool -R /apps/osso/hildon-desktop/applets

Last edited by dchky; 2010-07-19 at 06:10.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to dchky For This Useful Post:
chemist's Avatar
Administrator | Posts: 1,036 | Thanked: 2,019 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Germany
#4
Export the entries
Code:
gconftool --dump /apps/osso/hildon-desktop/applets > applets_dump
Now you got a new file in your folder called applets_dump

Open that file
search and replace the "int" numbers for view and remember to not overwrite
I did replace
"<int>4<" with "<int>5<"
"<int>2<" with "<int>4<"
"<int>5<" with "<int>2<" (here it ends for swapping 2<->4)
"<int>3<" with "<int>5<"
"<int>1<" with "<int>3<"
"<int>5<" with "<int>1<"

That is a two step turn 1->3; 2->4; 3->1; 4->2
do this with whatever editor you want, I used vim

using vim
Code:
vim applets_dump
press ":" (colon)
and enter
Code:
%s/<int>4</<int>5</g
for the first change
the line should look like this
Code:
:%s/<int>4</<int>5</g
after hitting the second time ":" (colon) you can recover the last command by "arrow-up" key and replace the 4 with 2 and 5 with 4.... and so on.

when you are done open up the command prompt again but enter an "x" instead of the "%s/....", looks like this
Code:
:x
now back on your shell you need to load the file back to gconf
Code:
gconftool --load applets_dump /apps/osso/hildon-desktop/applets
and restart home
Code:
dsmetool -k /usr/bin/hildon-home
dsmetool -t /usr/bin/hildon-home

this will move shortcuts and widgets only

Last edited by chemist; 2010-07-21 at 09:50.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chemist For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
desktop, gconf, swap desktops

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:58.