Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 147 | Thanked: 32 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#11
Do you think that this game could be run on nokia N900 ???

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEUf6Cg1vwI
 
Posts: 90 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on Aug 2007
#12
GTA2
http://www.rockstargames.com/classics/?id=3

I used to love this game.
__________________
machinegrid.com
 
Jack6428's Avatar
Posts: 635 | Thanked: 282 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Black Mesa Research Facility
#13
Originally Posted by tangs View Post
Do you think that this game could be run on nokia N900 ???

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEUf6Cg1vwI
sure, the n900 has similar/better specs then the iphone, so yea...it could
 
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,609 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#14
Originally Posted by tangs View Post
Do you think that this game could be run on nokia N900 ???

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEUf6Cg1vwI
That is a commercial iPhone game, so, at the moment, there is a near-zero chance of the authors porting it to Maemo (it's not that they couldn't, it's just that there is no incentive for them to do so at the moment).
 
zerojay's Avatar
Posts: 2,669 | Thanked: 2,552 times | Joined on Apr 2007 @ Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
#15
Originally Posted by bluehash View Post
GTA2
http://www.rockstargames.com/classics/?id=3

I used to love this game.
No.

Just because something becomes freeware doesn't mean it'll work on the N900. Unless Rockstar ports the game over themselves, it will not happen.

Source code needs to be open for it to happen.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to zerojay For This Useful Post:
Jack6428's Avatar
Posts: 635 | Thanked: 282 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Black Mesa Research Facility
#16
Originally Posted by zerojay View Post
No.

Just because something becomes freeware doesn't mean it'll work on the N900. Unless Rockstar ports the game over themselves, it will not happen.

Source code needs to be open for it to happen.
So, can i start my "Bring Homeworld to Maemo 5" topic ?
 
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,609 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#17
Originally Posted by Jack6428 View Post
So, can i start my "Bring Homeworld to Maemo 5" topic ?
It's likely possible, but it's not THAT easy. Your two main problems are likely to be OpenGL ES wrapping (as originally it's OpenGL 1.x) and usability (those ships were hard to spot even on desktop screens, on the N900 their size will (literally) be measured in micrometers.
 
Jack6428's Avatar
Posts: 635 | Thanked: 282 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Black Mesa Research Facility
#18
Originally Posted by attila77 View Post
It's likely possible, but it's not THAT easy. Your two main problems are likely to be OpenGL ES wrapping (as originally it's OpenGL 1.x) and usability (those ships were hard to spot even on desktop screens, on the N900 their size will (literally) be measured in micrometers.
well, i originally wanted to port the game to PSP, i found even a few guys who would do it...good guys, but i think that porting it to Maemo 5 will be a lot more easier... i am aware of the diffuculties but i don't want to give up porting my favorite game to have it on the go..plus alot of people like it too xD
 
ysss's Avatar
Posts: 4,384 | Thanked: 5,524 times | Joined on Jul 2007 @ ˙ǝɹǝɥʍou
#19
WoW on N900?
 
Jack6428's Avatar
Posts: 635 | Thanked: 282 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Black Mesa Research Facility
#20
Originally Posted by ysss View Post
WoW on N900?
no way lol...its not even on Linux..and check the minimum specs..
but it would be fun... Homeworld is probably the only commercial game that has a big chance of being ported
 
Reply

Tags
desktop, fremantle, game, linux, mac os x, maemo, maemo 5, port, request, speculation, windows, wow for n900

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:10.