Well no, not really, Linux is for everyone. :-)

But I'm having a really hard time finding much in the way of genuinely newbie-friendly Linux support sites. By "newbie" I mean people who don't have much experience with computers, and who just want to use them for things like browsing, e-mail, typing etc.

Love him or hate him, the technology columnist Bob Cringely summed up the problem quite well a few years ago: "Hands up everyone who uses Linux who hasn't compiled software?"

Linux has a very unfair reputation for being a "geeks-only" operating system, but the state of the Linux scene seems to just reinforce this.

For example on the official Ubuntu forums' "absolute beginners" section some still seem to regard command lines as something people should use.

I've got nothing against command lines in general, if you can use them that's great, and I'm sure it brings lots of flexibility. But it's ludicrous to expect ordinary users to cope with something like that. It makes it easier for Linux to be unfairly dismissed as a geek's OS that isn't suited to ordinary people's needs.

Does anyone know of Linux and/or Ubuntu sites that are actually aimed at ordinary non-techie people who don't want to learn anything complicated?

Last edited by krisse; 2008-06-21 at 20:40.

Posts: 5,478 | Thanked: 5,222 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ St. Petersburg, FL
Personally, I disagree with your premiss that commandlines are something users should never have to use. 20 years ago pretty much everything was commandline and most people seemed to get along just fine.

Originally Posted by GeneralAntilles View Post
Personally, I disagree with your premiss that commandlines are something users should never have to use. 20 years ago pretty much everything was commandline and most people seemed to get along just fine.