This is going to start out as one of those posts where I fill everyone in on all the details (that nobody cares about) of what I have done with my 770... Sorry!

What I've Done
I'm a pretty light user of my tablet, but I finally got around to installing 2008HE. I am just beginning to cut my teeth with Linux, so I know next to nothing, but I managed to follow the instructions to install Fanoush's high speed SDHC kernel which should hopefully also improve performance with my 2GB MMC. Next I killed metalayer-crawler (following instructions from post #7 here) because many have reported that this program is a huge resource hog and of little use in most cases. After pulling my hair out for a while I found out that it's really important to enter the "sudo gainroot" part (otherwise it you won't be allowed to rename the file). Yes, I'm that much of a noob.

My Thoughts
In my opinion 2008HE has a greatly improved UI over 2007HE and previous. Many people (including the developers) had cautioned about the performance, but I found that in many cases it performs faster than 2007HE had for me. The ability to use flash (even if it doesn't work too well in many cases) is a big plus. The ability to easily browse my network & NAS devices is what sealed the deal for me. I will (at least attempt to) use 2008HE as my primary 770 OS from now on.

On the downside, the stereo sound issue is slightly annoying, but of little concern to me, personally, because if I want good sound I will just use some headphones anyway. My biggest problem is simply that the Mozilla browser seems to crash at random on a regular basis. I don't know if this is a problem with the browser itself or the OS. Perhaps it is happening due to limited resources?

What Next?
I intend to try running 2008HE from my MMC becasue some have stated that this should improve performance. Can anyone tell me what kind of performace increases I should expect to see from this? Or is this performance highly card specific?