Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
rcull's Avatar
Posts: 299 | Thanked: 168 times | Joined on Jun 2006 @ Wales UK
#11
coredump

The only way with the current version is to delete the line in
/home/user/.advoid/personal with a text editor and then 'Update system' from the app.

I have a new version in the making which will fix this but it will be a little while yet.

Rick
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,252 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#12
si there a way to tell if one is using the downloaded host file or the default one?
__________________
Be warned, posts are often line of thoughts at highway speeds...
 
rcull's Avatar
Posts: 299 | Thanked: 168 times | Joined on Jun 2006 @ Wales UK
#13
tso
'Show Data Files' displays the 'Current Hostfile' in the third column.
the downloaded file is huge in compareson with the default.

I know this takes a long time to display ( the new version loads the data quickly and progressively - there is a 'More' button below each column )

Rick
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,252 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#14
ok, when i hit update, the nokia entry goes away.

but nothing shows up in its place...

bah, why do i keep forgetting the stanadard unix erroer checking way, run it in xterm...

anyways, it seems i am getting a sudo prompt. Could it be related to me having sshd installed?

Last edited by tso; 2009-09-08 at 20:25.
 
rcull's Avatar
Posts: 299 | Thanked: 168 times | Joined on Jun 2006 @ Wales UK
#15
tso
The Post Install script should run

Code:
echo "user ALL = NOPASSWD: /bin/cp /home/user/.advoid/tmphosts /etc/hosts" >> /etc/sudoers
to allow the copy.

if you run

Code:
tail /etc/sudoers
this should show the sudo line as the last line. (as long as nothing else has added to it since)

Rick
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,252 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#16
ah, ok. seems i missed a memo somewhere.

seems the line is there, but i stil get a password request in xterm, and i got this when trying up update without supplying a password:

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/advoid", line 197, in Upd_Host_File
    orig=open(self.HOME+"/.advoid/orighosts","r")
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/home/user/.advoid/orighosts'

Last edited by tso; 2009-09-08 at 23:42.
 
rcull's Avatar
Posts: 299 | Thanked: 168 times | Joined on Jun 2006 @ Wales UK
#17
Ok
A couple of problems.

1. The sudoers line should refer to tmphost not tmphosts

2. There should be a second line
echo "user ALL = NOPASSWD: /bin/cp /home/user/.advoid/orighosts /etc/hosts" >> /etc/sudoers

These will both be fixed in the comming new version.

If /home/user/.advoid/orighosts is not present it can be written with any editor and the original hostfile for the N8*0 is just the one line:-

127.0.0.1 localhost

Rick
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,252 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#18
0.8.0-1 fails to install...
 
rcull's Avatar
Posts: 299 | Thanked: 168 times | Joined on Jun 2006 @ Wales UK
#19
tso You were quick off the mark It wasn't there the last time I looked!

It looks like there was a bug in the post-install script.
0.8.0-2 now in the Q'

Rick
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,252 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#20
heh, i have nothing better to do...

it installed, but it seems i still have issues with sudo. probably something local...

it also fails when trying to download a new list:

Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/advoid", line 341, in download
    if self.DLFile.open:
AttributeError: 'file' object has no attribute 'open'
ah, i see what the sudo issue is now, there is a line missing for the backing up of the hosts file in sudoers.
__________________
Be warned, posts are often line of thoughts at highway speeds...

Last edited by tso; 2009-09-17 at 02:06.
 
Reply

Tags
adblocking, browser, hostfile

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:56.