Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 124 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on Jan 2007 @ Italy
#51
got it from pool, no way to install with app manager but worked with dpkg from terminal. tomorrow i'll give a try and i hope it will work. thanks for help
 
Posts: 1,067 | Thanked: 313 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ USA
#52
Originally Posted by fcrochik View Post
IMPORTANT: Don't try this unless you know why you want to upgrade the Qt packages shipped with your n900 and MAKE SURE to read ALL the previous posts on this thread for the unintended side effects. Installing these packages DOES NOT mean that all the packages that depend on Qt packages will work. In fact, I would assume otherwise.


I decided to share this because I think is a little safer than adding the SDK catalog (not easier).

There is another way to get the 4.6.2 Qt packages - you can download them from http://repository.maemo.org/pool/fre...ree/q/qt4-x11/ and install them manually.

The packages are:
libqt4-core_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-dbus_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-gui_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-maemo5_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-multimedia_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-network_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-opengl_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-phonon_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-script_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-sql-sqlite_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-sql_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-svg_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-translations_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-webkit_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-xml_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb
libqt4-xmlpatterns_4.6.2~git20100310-0maemo1+0m5_armel.deb


Because you may want to install all of them I created a small script.

A little guide:
1. Save the two attached files to a NEW folder on your n900
2. open the terminal as the root user (if you don't know how, look around but it probably means that you should not try this... )
3. go to the directory where you saved the files.
4. if you don't have wget installed, install it:
Code:
apt-get install wget
5. run the script:
Code:
sh qt4-install.txt
6. you may want to remove "mp-fremantle-generic-pr" to avoid broken dependencies (again read first post on this thread)

The script(qt4-install.txt) is very simple and reads the list of files to download and install from the second file(qt4-packages.txt):

Code:
#!/bin/sh
while read line; do
    echo 'downloading: '$line
           wget http://repository.maemo.org/pool/fremantle/free/q/qt4-x11/$line 
    dpkg -i $line
done < qt4-packages.txt
Last but not least: I BELIEVE developers should have (and had) their applications linked with the qt4-maemo (experimental) packages until PR 1.2 is out. It is just easier for users to install them and does not require hacks. The current policy to block qt packages from moving to testing sends a different message. A message that the right way of doing is using the "stock" packages that don't exist on the device. If you do so then you can't run the application on the device until PR 1.2 is out or you have to try some hack like this.

that was way easy. thanks!
 
Posts: 1,067 | Thanked: 313 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ USA
#53
works well so far. was able to reinstall my healthcheck and update the cpufrequi.

question....there was a folder for the maemo5 folder for my current version now in the update. is this because it is not recognizing my curreng qt files and wants me to install the older ones?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ceroberts75 For This Useful Post:
fcrochik's Avatar
Posts: 722 | Thanked: 1,223 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ USA
#54
Originally Posted by ceroberts75 View Post
works well so far. was able to reinstall my healthcheck and update the cpufrequi.

question....there was a folder for the maemo5 folder for my current version now in the update. is this because it is not recognizing my curreng qt files and wants me to install the older ones?
Yes and it will not work if you try to update. If you want to get rid of it and stop receiving error messages when you install new packages - just remove mp-fremantle-generic-pr. You will find instructions on the first post.
__________________

My maemo work:
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For Harmattan:
GeePS - native UI around google maps - GApp - access to optimized mobile "google apps".
Shutdown - shutdown and reboot with one click - QuickCall - one click call, skypeout and google voice integration using dial tones.
WakeOnLan - wake computers on your local network.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For Maemo/N900:
GApp - access to optimized mobile "google apps". - MobWebMail: browser optimized to access multiple gmail accounts
MyContacts: 75 Contacts on your desktop, ring tones per group and more - GeePS: native front-end for google maps
Macuco2 : web browser to access web sites optimized for the iphone - WakeOnLan: wake up computers on your local network
dbBrowser: Simple application to browse sqlite databases
 
Venemo's Avatar
Posts: 1,296 | Thanked: 1,773 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Budapest, Hungary
#55
Hey folks,

I'm just pointing out the obvious here:
Now that PR 1.2 is released, everything in this thread is obsolete.

You can go crazy with Nokia Qt SDK without all the hacky stuff.
 
Posts: 124 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on Jan 2007 @ Italy
#56
that's ironic! i make it works this morning, and few minutes later i read about pr 1.2 release :O

btw, that's good enough, i've to wait till tomorrow to get update, so usefull one -day-hack =P
 
Posts: 1,067 | Thanked: 313 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ USA
#57
Originally Posted by saxen View Post
that's ironic! i make it works this morning, and few minutes later i read about pr 1.2 release :O

btw, that's good enough, i've to wait till tomorrow to get update, so usefull one -day-hack =P


yeah...pretty hilarious...i just did it yesterday...just finished flashing to prr1.2 and just finished restoring and now dl'g and installing the applications now....(95 of them) hope all 689mb goes fast!
 
Posts: 124 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on Jan 2007 @ Italy
#58
now that pr 1.2 is out we have to move faster with qt development and hope to see more cool and stylish apps
 
Posts: 190 | Thanked: 129 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Bavaria, Germany
#59
Originally Posted by saxen View Post
now that pr 1.2 is out we have to move faster with qt development and hope to see more cool and stylish apps
I'm praying for better debugging support since it currently doesn't work with scratchbox nor with madde
 
Posts: 34 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#60
Can someone give me a link for how to update my N900 to PR 1.2?

I did today the steps described in the Venemo post. It works but when i run my qt application it looks different with the new qt4.6.2 then with the old qt 4.5.3.
 
Reply

Tags
libqt4, qt-sdk, remedy


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:44.